Airknight Parshath vs. Fiber Jar.

Discussion in 'Rules Questions (YGO)' started by Deathjester, Oct 5, 2004.

  1. Deathjester

    Deathjester New Member

    The ARRJ says that if Airknight attacks Fiber Jar and inflicts damage, the controller of Airknight draws a card and then Fiber Jar's effect is activated. I thought the case had always been that a chain occurs in which Fiber Jar's effect activates first. Then after that's resolved, the controller of Airknight draws a card.
  2. Akira

    Akira New Member

    In this case there is no SEGOC because Airknight resolves at the end of Damage Calculation while Fiber Jar's Flip Effect goes on chain and resolves during the "Resolve Effects" portion of Damage Step.

    Lorenzo Gigli
    - Judge level 1 -
  3. helpoemer316

    helpoemer316 Will game for food

    The ARRJ and Akira are both correct with this ruling. Here's who it looks basically broken down.

    Airknight Parshath attacks.

    Fiber is flipped and the effect is ACTIVATED.

    Enter Damage Step.

    Damage Calculation is first, Fiber Jar is considered destroyed during the damage calculation and the owner of Fiber takes damage due to Airknight's effect. Airknight's effect then activates after dealing the damage, allowing the player to draw a card from their deck.

    Then Fiber Jar resolves in the resolve effects part of the damage step, sending all cards back to the deck (excluding rfg cards) and the deck is then shuffled and both players draw five cards.

    If the old ruling was still in effect on the card, then there could be no damage calculation and you couldn't draw. It makes no sense to have damage calculation when there are no long monsters on the field if Fiber were to resolve first. Remember, for damage calculation to be met, both monsters still be on the field. So the old ruling didn't even make sense in the first place with the entire breakdown of the damage step and the Airknight VS. Fiber (or Cyber as well) rulings.
  4. Maester Bacman

    Maester Bacman New Member

    Curtis Schultz has talked about this in the judge group as: "Airknight Parsath and Fiber Jar - a Story"

    I hope this will be the definitive ruling from Konami. Although I prefer the old ruling  [cough, really like Airknight, cough], this one seems more accurate, and clarifies a lot of situations involving Battle Damage.
  5. helpoemer316

    helpoemer316 Will game for food

    Yeah I know what post your talking about, I actually printed that out to prove to people at my local store that it had changed so they would actually play it correctly.

    The old ruling never really made any sense to the game mechanics of Yu-Gi-Oh! and the new one makes much more sense. It doesn't change much, just makes Fiber Vs. Airknight situations favor the Fiber owner rather then the Airknight owner.
  6. Deathjester

    Deathjester New Member

    Which brings up an interesting question. In casual dueling, your opponent probably wouldn't mind if you skipped drawing a card because of the end result. But in tourneys, you would still have to draw for the sake of having to legally carry out Airknight's effect, right?
  7. soulwarrior

    soulwarrior New Member

    I thought this is a case of simultaneous effects!?

    Both effects are carried out in the 'resolve effects' part

    -> Turn player (attacking Airknight) becomes Chain Link 1
    -> Non-Turn player (Fiber Jar controller) becomes Chain Link 2

    -> resolve in reverse order... and so on...

    but if I read it correct... you have some new ruling, stating that you FIRST draw and then comes the Fiber Jar???

    soul [​IMG]
  8. Cha

    Cha New Member

    Flip Effects are resolved in the resolve part after the Damage Calculations.
    Effects like Airknight's take place during the damage, during the Damage Calculations.
  9. Akira

    Akira New Member

    Airknight's effect is not optional but mandatory so the player MUST draw the card when succefully inflicts damage to the opponent. Forgetting to draw is considered a mistake so the player could take a penalty (most probably a light penalty since not to draw rarely can advantage a player).

    Lorenzo Gigli
    - Judge level 1 -
  10. helpoemer316

    helpoemer316 Will game for food

    Yeah, Airknight you have to draw and in casual play I'd let it slide, heck, in my local tourney I'd let it slide because it doesn't change the eventual outcome, but at major tourneys such as UDE premier events and 1K tourneys, I definitely would enforce it with the penalty it would garner (first offense is warning).

    Airknight's effect activates as soon as it deals damage and resolves at the same time, flip effects are what resolve in the effect part of the damage step.
  11. soulwarrior

    soulwarrior New Member

    Good to know but when did that ruling change??? ?(

    I mean... Airknight's effect is <just> a Trigger Effect.

    And as far as I knew, a Trigger Effect IS resolved in the 'resolve effects' step of the Damage Step.

    But if you tell me I missed a rulings change, then it's clear! ;)

    soul [​IMG]
  12. Raijinili

    Raijinili New Member

    It's "triggered during damage calculation" versus "triggered before damage calculation during the damage step".

Share This Page