convulsion of nature+archfiends oath

Discussion in 'Rules Questions (YGO)' started by ghost23, Mar 23, 2005.

  1. ghost23

    ghost23 New Member

    hi there
    just wanted to check this out with you guys first k here goes:

    say convulsion of nature and archfiends oath are both active on field and the next card to be drawn is archfiend of gilfer, can i do the following:

    declare any card name even though gilfer is next(which obviously i know) so i can send gilfer to the GY to activate its effect(which should be the last thing to happen correct?)

    am i right in that i can do this?
  2. John Danker

    John Danker Administrator

    From the ruling in Ronin on Archfiend's Oath.....

    You can activate "Archfiend's Oath" while "Convulsion of Nature" is active
  3. masterwoo0

    masterwoo0 NINJA4LIFE

    Anytime you draw a card, the card is always "unknown" unless you have activated an effect that allows you to place a card in a specific order in your deck.

    [ycard="LOD-EN084"]Convulsion of Nature[/ycard] allows you to "peek" at the next card that will be drawn, but for all intents and purposes, it is still a unknown draw when you pick it up, so you could call "[ycard="TP3-001"]Needle Worm[/ycard]", and there would be nothing wrong with that, even though both you and your opponent actually know that it is not [ycard="TP3-001"]Needle Worm[/ycard] that will be picked up.


    Archfiend of Glifer
    Card Text
    When this card is sent to the Graveyard, you can activate its effect. You can then equip it to a monster on the field, and this card will be treated as an Equip Spell Card that decreases the ATK of the equipped monster by 500 points.


    I dont see why you couldnt send it to the Graveyard and get the effect...
  4. ghost23

    ghost23 New Member

    yeah i know that, what i was asking if it is legal to declare any card name beside gilfer even though i know he is next(k morally it is proberly wrong but hey :) )
  5. masterwoo0

    masterwoo0 NINJA4LIFE

    This has nothing to do with "morals". Its part of the game. Each card is an unknown draw regardless of whether it is face-up or face-down when it is picked up from the Deck. Otherwise, you wouldnt need to shuffle your deck whenever you search for a card from an effect.

    You could just get a card from you Deck using [ycard="LOD-EN016"]Freed the Matchless General[/ycard], spend a little time looking at your next few draws, then place you Deck face-down or face-up depending on what controls that action, and pick your opponent apart thanks to knowing what you have coming.
  6. Raigekick

    Raigekick New Member

    You have to shuffle your deck after you use "[ycard="LOD-EN016"]Freed the Matchless General[/ycard]"'s effect.
  7. masterwoo0

    masterwoo0 NINJA4LIFE

    You missed my point entirely.... :(
  8. masterwoo0

    masterwoo0 NINJA4LIFE

    Does this make it clearer??
  9. Raigekick

    Raigekick New Member

    Ah, OK. Sorry. I wish you had put "This is the reason why this is bad:" coz it can confuse people who are skimming posts, like what I did. But it is still my fault. :)

    EDIT: Yeah, that clearer. Thanks.
  10. masterwoo0

    masterwoo0 NINJA4LIFE

    It's quite alright. I dont so much mind being wrong when I am, its all a learning experience anyway, and I do tend to make post that "most often" require a second reading to understand, but all I ask is that I get at least that before the knives are thrown!! lol :)
  11. babyarm

    babyarm New Member

    Okay, question that I should know. Can you pay 500 for Archfiend's Oath when you have no more cards in your deck? The first line just says that you're paying the 500 to name a card, but since there's no way to resolve the rest of the effect, you'd think that you wouldn't be able to.
  12. Kyhotae

    Kyhotae Delusional Knight

    If you have no more cards in your deck and it's your turn to draw, you've got MUCH bigger worries that whether you can guess the next card...
  13. Maruno

    Maruno Council of Heroes Staff Member

    I've been told in the past that it's entirely possible to activate an effect that will cause you to lose from Deck Out, or to activate an effect casuing you to lose by Life Points Equal Zero. But that was in the past, so I don't know.
  14. babyarm

    babyarm New Member

    Unless you're playing Vincent Tundo's OTK from Nats, and you need to lower your lifepoints to pull off the combo.
  15. Kyhotae

    Kyhotae Delusional Knight

    I don't understand the reference, but if you can't draw, you lose...
  16. babyarm

    babyarm New Member

    The deck puts 30+ cards in the graveyard, establishes an 8000 LP difference between theirs and the opponent's LP, then sets Blasting the Ruins and Life Equalizer and activates them in the opponent's Draw phase, winning the game. If you aren't going to answer the question, just go away dude.
  17. novastar

    novastar New Member

    I would assume no, since it a manual effect, and as a general rule in YGO you can't manually activate an effect that has no chance of resolving.

    I don't have time unfortunately to look for a more concrete ruling, maybe someone else can help with that.
  18. slither

    slither Alex (1981 - 2008)<br />Slithery When Wet

    Backing up novastar here:

    No you cannot, if you have no cards left you can't either play a card or send it to the grave, therefore there is no effect to fullfill with Archfiend's Oath.
  19. babyarm

    babyarm New Member

    Awesome, thanks guys.
  20. Kyhotae

    Kyhotae Delusional Knight

    Pardon me for not understanding the reason for your question. I'd be happy to answer it if there was a reason for asking it. If you didn't want to explain it, then you shouldn't have asked it.

Share This Page