dark ruler ha des question

Discussion in 'Rules Questions (YGO)' started by snide, Oct 26, 2004.

  1. snide

    snide New Member

    1. if dark ruler ha des is the only monster in player a's side of the field then attacks player b's face-down flip effect monster, does it still negate the effect? or does it have to be another fiend monster that attacks to negate the effect?

    2. does it also negate effect monsters that takes effect in the graveyard like witch of the black forest?

    thanks!!!
  2. GregODonnell

    GregODonnell New Member

    To your questions....


    1. if dark ruler ha des is the only monster in player a's side of the field then attacks player b's face-down flip effect monster, does it still negate the effect? or does it have to be another fiend monster that attacks to negate the effect?

    2. does it also negate effect monsters that takes effect in the graveyard like witch of the black forest

    Answer:

    1. Yes, as long as Dark Ruler is a Fiend monster when its attacks, it negates effects.

    2. Yes, same as above.

    As a reminder it, can not negate Reflect bounder's effect, or the effect of Spirit Reaper.. Other then that, your golden......Greg
  3. helpoemer316

    helpoemer316 Will game for food

    Reminder: Dark Ruler Ha Des only negates effect monsters whos effects activate after damage calculation, this is why it cannot negate Reflect Bounder, Spirit Reaper, etc.

    Reflect's effect activates before damage calculation and Spirit Reaper would become flipped before damage calculation and it's effect of not being able to be destroyed in battle would come into play, since Ha Des must destroy a monster to negate it's effect and Spirit Reaper cannot be destroyed in battle, it cannot negate Spirit Reaper.
  4. squid

    squid removed from play

    For example:
    There are a couple more monsters that slip under the Dark Ruler.

    Spirit Reaper- already mentioned. If it cant be destroyed it cant be negated.
    Kiseitai- this card really does stop the Ruler cold, and then equips to him.
    AmazonessSwordwoman- I remember being surprised by this, but apparently her effect will still activate. I assume it is for the same reasons Reflect Bounder works too.
    IFL- Happens in the Damage Step and can therefore prevent her own destruction.

    *Cats Ear Tribe- Im kind of guessing on this one, but it would seem that the effect takes place in the Damage Step, before the destruction, therefore its effect is not negated.

    Did I miss any?
  5. baritonalharmony

    baritonalharmony New Member

    What about Sinister Serpent? During your standby phase, if this creature is in your graveyard, special summon it to your side of the field. I think that's what it reads or something close to that.

    Bari
  6. novastar

    novastar New Member

    This is because they occur at different times. ASM's effect is a continuous effect that switches Battle Damage during Damage Calculation. Dark Ruler's effect is a continuous effect that won't apply until after Damage Calculation, right at the beginning of Step 3 (resolve effects).

    Yes, Cat's Ear Tribe will not be negated.

    Sinister will not trigger at all in the Standby Phase if destroyed by Dark Ruler.

Share This Page