Levia-Dragon question

Discussion in 'Rules Questions (YGO)' started by Tiso, Dec 6, 2005.

  1. Tiso

    Tiso Calculative Duelist

    Hello, I know these may seem out of the blue simple, but

    (1) Does Umi have to be face-up on my side of the field in order for me to get rid of it with Levia-Dragon - Daedalus?

    (2) Does Ocean Dragon Lord - Neo-Daedalus need Levia-Dragon Daedalus face-up or can I Special Summon it with Levia-Dragon - Daedalus face-down too?
  2. skey23

    skey23 Council of Heroes

    2nd ruling for "Levia Dragon":
    For "Neo Daedalus", I would venture to say you could tribute a face-down "Levia Dragon". I'll keep checking just in case.
  3. anthonyj

    anthonyj New Member

    I'd agree with Simon. You should be able to tribute a face-down [ycard="IOC-083"]Levia-Dragon - Daedalus[/ycard] to summon [ycard="SD4-EN001"]Ocean Dragon Lord - Neo-Daedalus[/ycard] as the effect requiring the tribute is coming from the Ocean Dragon Lord in hand and not from the Levia-Dragon.
  4. skey23

    skey23 Council of Heroes

    I have only found two monsters that don't specifically state the tributed monster must be face-up.

    They are "Neo Daedalus" and "[ycard="TLM-EN020"]Master Monk[/ycard]".
    And of course, neither specify face-up or face-down in their rulings.

    Granted, that was on a very quick skim of the special summon monsters.
  5. Tiso

    Tiso Calculative Duelist

    So the only conclusion I can draw from this is:

    A.) It is implied that it has to be face-up. Just like it is implied you have to shuffle your Deck, have your opponent view your Deck, etc when it comes to certain cards.

    B.) I can Tribute the face-down monster.
  6. skey23

    skey23 Council of Heroes

    Right now I'm leaning more towards B.
  7. Tiso

    Tiso Calculative Duelist

    Another question. If I use Ocean Dragon Lords effect, and my opponent chains with [ycard="DB2-EN232"]Book of Moon[/ycard], does it destroy itself too while face-down? Also, the send to the Graveyard effect works or doesnt for Dark World?
  8. daivahataka

    daivahataka Gold Member

    Yes, if it is face down when it's effect resolves it is just a card, not a specific monster so it destroys itself too.
  9. NLFW

    NLFW New Member

    and the dark world monsters cannot be special summoned as the cards in hand and on the field are "sent" to the graveyard, not "discarded"...
  10. anthonyj

    anthonyj New Member

    And just to clarify Ocean Dragon Lord would be "Sent" to the Graveyard along with the other cards, not "Destroyed". Levia Dragon "Destroys" Ocean Dragon Lord "Sends".
  11. FallenAngel

    FallenAngel Formally known as .:TDK:.

    Another question that came to mind about levia.


    If I have [ycard="EEN-EN015"]Water Dragon[/ycard] and Levia faceup on the field and I nuke the field via Levia's effect, do I get the parts that made [ycard="EEN-EN015"]Water Dragon[/ycard] when he is destroyed?

    -FA
  12. Jason_C

    Jason_C Banned

    Yes, because Levia destroys it. And what a remarkably good combo. Did you get my PM?

    -pssvr
  13. Tkwiget

    Tkwiget Da Twiggy Man!

    Just some food for thought for that whole tribute Levia for Ocean Lord thing..

    You can activate [ycard="DR1-EN038"]Metamorphosis[/ycard] on your face down monsters correct? Does [ycard="DR1-EN038"]Metamorphosis[/ycard] state that the monster must be face up? No.

    =)
  14. Jason_C

    Jason_C Banned

    THis is because the monster is tributed at activation. Neo Dad's effect never activates, so the rules are different.

    -pssvr
  15. Tkwiget

    Tkwiget Da Twiggy Man!

    This card cannot be Normal Summoned or Set. This card cannot be Special Summoned except by Tributing 1 "[ycard="SD4-EN010"]Levia-Dragon - Daedalus[/ycard]" on your side of the field. Send "Umi" on your side of the field to the Graveyard to send all cards in both players' hands and on the field to the Graveyard, except this card.



    [Re: [ycard="IOC-047"]Big Burn[/ycard]] You can only activate "[ycard="IOC-047"]Big Burn[/ycard]" when an EFFECT that removes monsters in the Graveyard is activated. So you can't activate "[ycard="IOC-047"]Big Burn[/ycard]" when a player removes monsters in the Graveyard as a COST to Special Summon "[ycard="IOC-025"]Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning[/ycard]", "[ycard="DR2-EN056"]Chaos Emperor Dragon - Envoy of the End[/ycard]", or to activate the effect of "[ycard="IOC-007"]Strike Ninja[/ycard]" or "[ycard="DR2-EN014"]Freed the Brave Wanderer[/ycard]". Nor can you use "[ycard="IOC-047"]Big Burn[/ycard]" when monsters are removed for a condition.


    Interesting, wouldn't you agree?

    =)

Share This Page