Thousand eyes restrict

Discussion in 'Rules Questions (YGO)' started by Big Oldprankster, Feb 8, 2005.

  1. Big Oldprankster

    Big Oldprankster New Member

    Quick question:

    Player a DD Warrior Lady facedup atk equipped with an axe
    Player b brings out Thousand Eyes Restrict

    Question: When Thousand Eyes sucks up DD does it get the atk of the axe also? Then axe goes to graveyard.

    Thousand Eyes atk=2500
  2. blade146

    blade146 New Member

    No, The Axe of Despair was equiped to DDWL. When DDWL was "sucked up" the Axe of Despair no longer had a legal target. It then gets destroyed and sent to the graveyard. TER then takes on DDWL orginial Atk.
  3. Raigekick

    Raigekick New Member

    Follow up question: How about monsters like "Great Maju Garzett", "Gren Maju De Eiza", "Maju Garzett", and monster brought back by "Rope of Life"? Does TER takes their current STAT (without the addition of Equip cards) or their original stat?
  4. blade146

    blade146 New Member

    I can't find a official ruling on this so I'm not 100% sure. I'm not sure if TER takes on any modifiers in Atk and Def the monster has.
    Below is the exact text of TER.

    As long as this card remains face-up on the field, other monsters cannot change their Battle Positions or attack. Select 1 monster on your opponent's side of the field and equip it to this card (this effect can only be used once per turn and you can only equip 1 monster at a time to this card).The ATK and DEF of this card become the same amounts as the monster equipped to this card. If this card is destroyed as a result of battle, the equipped monster is destroyed instead.

    I would think it would take the original Atk & Def of the monster while it was in the M/T zone. Because the monster itself has no effect anymore. Rope of Life is where I running into a problem. I'm going to research it a little more and post any rulings I find.
  5. Dlanaan

    Dlanaan New Member

    Thousand-Eyes Restrict will only take on the printed ATK/DEF values. Any modifiers that were on the monster when it was 'absorbed' are lost. '?' is considered 0.
  6. dadejay

    dadejay New Member

    sorry..... i would understand well...

    my opponent got a 1900 monster.

    with magical scentist i call thousand eye, now what's happen???

    is this???---> i take my opponent monster and i put it in my trap/magic zone, also i take 1900 right???

    after my monster must return in the fusion deck... but my opponent's monster??

    it goes to the graveyard???

    and if there is a face down monster??? my eye take 0 and my opponent's monster go to the graveyard?
  7. n00b

    n00b Gold Member

    If you use Magical Scientist to bring out Thousand-Eyes Restrict and equip an opponent's monster to it, TER will take the monster's ATK and DEF if face-up, and 0 ATK and DEF if the monster is facedown. At the end of the turn, when Thousand-Eyes Restrict returns to your Fusion Deck, your opponent's monster is sent to their Graveyard.

    Also note that while Thousand-Eyes Restrict is out by Magical Scientist's effect, none of your other monsters can attack (because of Thousand Eyes Restrict's effect), and Thousand-Eyes Restrict cannot atttack directly (because of Magical Scientist's effect).
  8. dadejay

    dadejay New Member

    thanks 1000
  9. Big Oldprankster

    Big Oldprankster New Member

    I did a little digging and found this. According to this, Thousand Eyes gains original atk only. Axe would become an incorrect target and go to the graveyard. I believe it was from the old Yahoo list:

    Equip Spell Cards can only be attached to Monster Cards.

    If "Relinquished" or "Thousand-Eyes Restrict" absorbs a monster that is equipped with an Equip Spell Card(s), that monster will become an illegal target for whatever Equip Spell Card(s) it had attached. As such, those Equip Spell Cards will be sent to the Graveyard.

    Applying this to your scenario: "Axe of Despair" will be sent to the Graveyard, as "Summoned Skull" is now treated as an Equip Spell Card, and is therefore an illegal target for "Axe of Despair." "Relinquished" or "Thousand-Eyes Restrict" will take the printed ATK of "Summoned Skull," which is 2500.

    *************************
    Steve Okegawa
    Official UDE Netrepâ„¢
    steve_okegawa@netrep.net

    _________________________
    Original Message:


    Player B's field contains a Summoned SKull, equipped with Axe of Despair, therefore Summoned Skull is 3500atk.

    If Player A properly summons Relinquished or Thousand Eyes Restrict, and chooses Player B's Summoned Skull for the effect of Relinquished/Thousand Eyes Restrict, will the Axe of Despair remain in play, equipped to the Summoned Skull? Or will the effect only use Summoned Skull, sending Axe of Despair to the graveyard?


    Should I just go by this or do you guys think I should post to the new judge list?

Share This Page