Drop Off

Discussion in 'Rules Questions (YGO)' started by beautifulsazuka, Oct 7, 2004.

  1. beautifulsazuka

    beautifulsazuka New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Player A draws a card and immediately activates "Scapegoat."

    Can Player B chain with "Drop Off" or is the timing now incorrect?
  2. mortals

    mortals New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey Dan,

    Thinking about it for a moment, I think (not my strong point) that your opponent has a chance to respond to your draw after you get your card. This would not allow for you to activate scapegoat first.

    Anyway, in this situation, it wouldn't matter if your opponent uses Drop off on your scapegoat as you can just chain it to the activation of Drop Off. =)
  3. beautifulsazuka

    beautifulsazuka New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, I'm saying that your opponent is activating "Scapegoat" without giving you a chance to use "Drop Off." They can do this, seeing as it is their turn and they therefore have priority.
  4. mortals

    mortals New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    I know that the turn player has priority BUT whenever the turn player does something that the opponent can respond to, isn't it proper to transfer priority to the other player, in this situation the drawing of the card Scapegoat!!! The evil goats of doom!!!. =)

    Anyway, despite the joke, you get the gist of what I'm trying to say. =)
  5. beautifulsazuka

    beautifulsazuka New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, I get what you are saying. But actually, I'm saying that the opponent is activating a face-down "Scapegoat." I remember one of the netreps saying that you should ask the turn player if they would like to do anything during the Draw Phase before you activate your "Drop Off." Say your opponent says yes, and activates their face-down "Scapegoat." Could you then chain with "Drop Off?"
  6. blade146

    blade146 New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Your opponent has to give you time to respond to their draw. They can't just draw and activate scapegoat. What should happen is they draw you activate drop off then they can either chain scapegoat or wait until drop off resolves then activate it.
  7. beautifulsazuka

    beautifulsazuka New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Message number 10736 on the Judge List says:

    From: "Christopher Liles" <darkvampireofnifilhiemintheshadowsoflight@m...>
    Date: Fri Aug 27, 2004 4:49 am
    Subject: Drop Off--Activation Timing and Draw Phase


    ADVERTISEMENT


    Ok As per the Card Text Can Only be Activated during your Opponent's
    Draw Phase.

    Now My Question is Draw Phase-Is it when Your Opponent place his/her
    hand on the deck to draw a card thus starting thier turn or When the
    Card has Reached thier hand and they have seen the card (The Card is
    now officially a part of thier hand, but not gone into Standby
    phase)?

    I have had many Arguements concerning Drop Off and Activation. I Say
    Drop Off cannot be Activated until the card is Drawn and placed into
    the hand but before Opponent Declares Standby Phase.

    I Even had one kid argue that he can activate it the second he
    declares his turn is over as I am reaching to draw for my Draw
    Phase. Everytime he does this I call him on Illegal Activation and
    make him send the card to the graveyard without effect in hope's he
    would better learn to timestamp phases.

    Christopher Liles
    Lv 1 Judge Albuquerque Area
    Gamegopher




    Answer:

    You activate "Drop Off" during your opponent's Draw Phase. Naturally they will
    have to draw the card first.

    Do remember the turn player has priority to activate a card effect during their
    Draw Phase, so it might be a good idea to ask them if they will before going
    after them with "Drop Off." [If for no other reason than to be curtious]


    Normally, illegally activated cards are returned to their previous state. I
    suppose what you are doing would fine if a player is habitual with the illegal
    activation and needs some "tough love." (sort of an escalation in the penalty)
  8. helpoemer316

    helpoemer316 Will game for food

    Trophy Points:
    0
    The point of that post is that no matter if Drop Off is activated before the draw or what, if the drawn card is a quickplay spell it can be played during the draw phase in chain to the activation of Drop Off.

    ie: Player A: Activates Drop Off during Player B's turn.
    Player B: Draws MST, Player B chooses to use turn priority to activate MST's effect in the draw phase targetting Player A's f/d spell/trap card.
  9. beautifulsazuka

    beautifulsazuka New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    But it says that the turn player can activate a card before you "go after them" with "Drop Off."
  10. helpoemer316

    helpoemer316 Will game for food

    Trophy Points:
    0
    It does, but in my example, the card the opposing player drew was what he activated, he can chain Drop Off with the card being Drop Offed if it is a quickplay spell.

    With this in mind, it would be pointless to ask your opponent "I'll be activating Drop Off would you like to activate anything?" Because Drop Off has to be played in the draw phase while the card is being drawn, the opposing player won't know if they want to activate the card until Drop Off has to activate if it wants to or not.

    In the original question, Scapegoat was being used, and what happens is that Drop Off is activated and the player drawing Scapegoat can chain with that Scapegoat in response to Drop Off during the draw phase and activate it's effect since it is a quickplay spell. That was my point in posting what I said.
  11. beautifulsazuka

    beautifulsazuka New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well actually, the player in my example isn't really drawing "Scapegoat." It is set on the field.

    Player A draws, let's say, "Skull Servant."
    Player A, just for the heck of it, uses his priority to activate his face-down "Scapegoat."
    Player B wonders if he can chain to "Scapegoat" with "Drop Off."
  12. helpoemer316

    helpoemer316 Will game for food

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, I misunderstood what you meant, you need to say that it was set on the field, for all I know the player could have been activating Scapegoat from the graveyard, I naturally assumed since I've had similar situations arise and asked to me before that Scapegoat was being activated from the hand as the card drawn during the draw phase.
  13. mortals

    mortals New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Actually, I think Drop Off may be similiar tothat of Magical Cylinders that it needs to be activated Directly after the trigger and not in a chain. Just an idea.
  14. helpoemer316

    helpoemer316 Will game for food

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well what makes the game mechanics of it interesting is that the first action in the Draw Phase is always going to be the drawing of the card. You can not do anything else until you draw the card. That signifies the beginning of the draw phase. Drop Off can not be activated until after the card is drawn because if it were activated anytime before, it wouldn't fulfill that set for one turn, since the next turn doesn't start until the draw phase has been entered.

    So technically, Drop Off is activated after the card is drawn, so in a chain with the newly drawn card, you can activate it (only if it's a quickplay spell) during that same phase.
  15. Dlanaan

    Dlanaan New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Drop Off responds to a Draw in the same way that Trap Hole responds to a Summon. As long as you do it at the earliest possible point it is fine. In the example given, Player B draws. Player B activates Scapegoat. Player A may activate Drop Off in a chain with Player B.
  16. masterwoo0

    masterwoo0 NINJA4LIFE

    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's different... But it still has the same effect because both opponents can activate Quick-Play and Trap Cards in the Draw Phase, so it was still activated during the required Phase.

Share This Page