mystic swordsman LV2 and LV4 ruling...

Discussion in 'Rules Questions (YGO)' started by the.wise.duelist, Oct 10, 2004.

  1. the.wise.duelist

    the.wise.duelist New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    If I attack with my mystic swordsman LV2 and it kills a monster, does its effect of sending it to the graveyard to get LV4 work since the other monster wasnt destroyed by battle but by LV2 effect?
    SOD-EN011
    Card Name Mystic Swordsman LV2
    Warrior, EARTH
    Level 2
    Attack 900
    Defense 0
    If this card attacks a face-down Defense Position monster, destroy the monster immediately with this card's effect without flipping it face-up or applying damage calculation. During the End Phase of a turn that this card destroyed a monster AS A RESULT OF BATTLE, send this card to the Graveyard to Special Summon 1 "Mystic Swordsman LV4" from your hand or Deck.
  2. xxxVIPERxxx

    xxxVIPERxxx New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Your answer is in bold:


    If this card attacks a face-down Defense Position monster, destroy the monster immediately with this card's effect without flipping it face-up or applying damage calculation. During the End Phase of a turn that this card destroyed a monster AS A RESULT OF BATTLE, send this card to the Graveyard to Special Summon 1 "Mystic Swordsman LV4" from your hand or Deck.



    So, there it is....It is automatically destroyed due to the effect...............
  3. xxxVIPERxxx

    xxxVIPERxxx New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
  4. the.wise.duelist

    the.wise.duelist New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    but what about this ruling I got from UDE's webiste...

    If "Mystic Swordsman LV2" attacks a face-down Defense Position monster, that monster is destroyed by "Mystic Swordsman LV2"'s effect, not as a result of battle. So you cannot use its second effect to Special Summon "Mystic Swordsman LV4" during the End Phase.

    heres another question on mysitc swordsman LV2...
    Is the second effect mandatory and that if it kills a monster it HAS to go to the graveyard to special summon LV4?
  5. xxxVIPERxxx

    xxxVIPERxxx New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    #1 -- Yup, that's what it says, but for you to even use the first effect, you had to enter Battle Phase and declare an attack, so by rights, you destroyed it with an effect during battle. But, hey, UDE says differently, so you follow their ruling until told differently.......by the way, why ask a question you already knew the answer too?



    I say, YES, it's mandatory, it says "During the End Phase of a turn that this card destroyed a monster AS A RESULT OF BATTLE, send this card to the Graveyard to Special Summon 1 "Mystic Swordsman LV4" from your hand or Deck."

    It doesn't say.... You may or You can.........
  6. Raijinili

    Raijinili New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    "As a result of Battle" = "due to damage calculation saying so"

    Effect != result of battle (!= is "not equal" in JavaScript)

    Mystic Swordsman skips damage calculation. The monster is destroyed through an effect.
  7. beautifulsazuka

    beautifulsazuka New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Actually, Viper it is optional. It is optional for all those types of monsters. And destroyed as a result of battle means that the monster was actually destroyed by the damage that was dealt to it.
  8. xxxVIPERxxx

    xxxVIPERxxx New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, understand the 1st half of the equation, but, Why , if UDE was supposed to be working on clearing up rulings, did they not add two little words....You May, instead of just....SEND.......in the last half??? Wouldn't that clear up any problems, and let a player know that it is optional?

    As I read it, the way it is written now....there is no choice. It says, to Send it if the condition has been met.......


    I'm out!!
  9. Dlanaan

    Dlanaan New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    It is optional and it is even shown to be optional in the text of the card (although it is rather subtle). The effects of the lower leveled level up monsters state (send this card to the Graveyard *to* Special Summon ...). That word 'to' there makes it optional because it makes the first part of the effect an activation cost.

    *HYPOTHETICAL TEXT HERE*
    If the text had said 'Send this card to the Graveyard *and* Special Summon, then it would be a mandatory effect.
    *END HYPOTHETICAL TEXT. THE TEXT IN THE LAST LINE IS NOT ON THE CARD*
  10. xxxVIPERxxx

    xxxVIPERxxx New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    KK, got it........Make that three words that they could have worked on.....ROFL!

    Thanx for the info......I will read more carefully from now on.........

    Now, just thought of another then. Your saying that if a Sazuki Samurai attacks my f/d Pyramid Turtle, I won't get to summon another Zombie, as it was an effect that killed me and not battle....SO the Graveyard effect will not trigger for PT??? It has to be f/u your saying to get the effect???




    I'm out!!
  11. Maester Bacman

    Maester Bacman New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Correct. Sasuke Samurai did not destroyed the face-down Pyramid Turtle applying Damage Calculation, but by its effect. Therefore, the section "as a result of battle" was not realized and another Zombie couldn't be Special Summoned.

    Notice that if Ninja Grandmaster Sasuke [Sasuke for face-up defense monsters] attacks the face-up defense position Pyramid Turtle, the same would happen and the owner of Pyramid Turtle could not Special Summon another Zombie.
  12. xxxVIPERxxx

    xxxVIPERxxx New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, I hadn't noticed, I've only seen one person running them. I will get one and look at it. Thanx for the heads up on it.

    I'm out!!
  13. DarkSpider

    DarkSpider New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    hi,
    the point with the word "to" is new to me. good to know.

    we explained the optional effect with the word "a", what is an other description for words like may or can.

    the End Phase of a turn
    that means any turn in that the conditions are fullfilled you send this card to the graveyard.

    if the text would be
    the End Phase of the turn
    than you must summon the next lv.

    is that correct too?

    greetings from Germany
    Spidy
  14. Raijinili

    Raijinili New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't know of any situation where the two are not ruled the same.

    Check out the text on Cannon Soldier: "Offer a monster as tribute to inflict..."
  15. the.wise.duelist

    the.wise.duelist New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok, so mystic swordsmans effect isnt mandatory and for my last question which was if mystic swordsman LV2 attacks a monster and that monster is destroyed by its effect, not battle, so there is no way to summon LV4 exept by setting it or mystic swordsman LV2 actually attacking and destroying a face-up monster...right?
  16. Maester Bacman

    Maester Bacman New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Correct. Returning it from the graveyard also works.
  17. OKShadow

    OKShadow OKC's Dark Duelist

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Right which means have an Axe handy or Fusion Sword. Those seem to be the biggest equip support for the warrior "clan" lol

Share This Page