mystical paralysis

Discussion in 'Rules Questions (VS)' started by da_rock, May 31, 2005.

  1. da_rock

    da_rock New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can I activate mystical paralysis durning my opponents combat phase to exhaust his attacking character?
  2. helpoemer316

    helpoemer316 Will game for food

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, when your opponent declares an attack you may use Mystical Paralysis to make the proposed attack illegal.
  3. da_rock

    da_rock New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    ohh ok becasue i was told by my friend that i couldnt activate this PT because once a charcter declares an attack it automatically gets exhausted. which i know is BULL!!!!!!!!!!! but thanks
  4. Dlanaan

    Dlanaan New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Keep in mind that it depends on when you play Mystical Paralysis. If you do it when the character is proposed as an attacker, then you are correct. The proposed attacker is exhausted, and when the game checks the legality of the attack, it will see one of the proposed attackers is exhausted, so the whole attack will not be legal.

    If, however, the attack is made 'legal' (meaning nothing has been done to prevent it), the proposed attacker will exhaust and become an attacker. At this point, nothing you do to the character will make the attack illegal. Exhausting the character at this point would be pointless, because it is already exhausted for one.
  5. luffy

    luffy New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    It can even be used when your opponent decides to use an activated ability. You can chain to it and stop the acitvated ability. An experience from me is my friend played Lady Shiva on turn 7 and he activate her ability to stun my Submariner-Ally of Doom, I use Mystical Paralysis to exhaust my Dr Doom-Diabolic Genius and he was very furious... Keke.
  6. Digital Jedi

    Digital Jedi Administrator Staff Member

    Trophy Points:
    63
    I'm afraid that is not a legal play. Once a chatacter has used it's "activated" effect it is already exhausted as a part of its cost. You can't chain Mystical Paralysis to exhaust a character that already has the exhausted characteristic.
  7. luffy

    luffy New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    In other words, that means that if Mystical Paralysis is used first, then the activated character cannot chain to it.
  8. chaosruler

    chaosruler New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, it can, because the exhaustion for Mystical Paralysis is not a cost, so he can activate the character's activated effect.

    -chaosruler
  9. Fiendish Envoy

    Fiendish Envoy Member

    Trophy Points:
    16
    Mystical Paralysis's effect says "...Exhaust target character..." as part of its effect (not cost). Since it does not say "Exhaust target ready character", you can use it on an exhausted character.

    Now, to go into this further, if your Dr. Doom was exhausted, you would not be able to use Mystic Paralysis since exhausting Dr. Doom is part of the cost, and you would need to have a ready Dr. Doom.
  10. Digital Jedi

    Digital Jedi Administrator Staff Member

    Trophy Points:
    63
    Right, an activated effect can be chained to Mystical Paralysis.
    But Mystical Paralysis cannot chain to an activated effect.

    Its the differnce between exhausting a character for the cost an effect and exhausting a character for the resolution of an effect. One can't chain to the other. One can.
  11. Fiendish Envoy

    Fiendish Envoy Member

    Trophy Points:
    16
    Care to re-phrase that?
  12. Digital Jedi

    Digital Jedi Administrator Staff Member

    Trophy Points:
    63
    Why exactlly, would I rephrase that?
  13. Fiendish Envoy

    Fiendish Envoy Member

    Trophy Points:
    16
    I don't understand what you're trying to say.
  14. Digital Jedi

    Digital Jedi Administrator Staff Member

    Trophy Points:
    63
    You do know what an "activated" effect is, right? (not being sarcastic)
  15. Fiendish Envoy

    Fiendish Envoy Member

    Trophy Points:
    16
    Explain further on that.
  16. Digital Jedi

    Digital Jedi Administrator Staff Member

    Trophy Points:
    63
    Exhausting a character for the cost of an activated effect (League of Assasins' Lady Shiva for example) is different than exhaustng a character for the resolution of an effect (Mystical Paralysis).

    I can chain Lady Shiva to Mystical Paralysis because "activate" is a cost and will happen immediatly, exhausting Lady Shiva as the cost before MP resolves.

    However if I were the other player, I cannot chain Mystical Paralysis to Lady Shiva's activated effect, and for the exact same reasons. She will be exhausted immediatly as a cost for her "activated" effect and MP can only target a ready character
  17. somewan

    somewan Custom User Title

    Trophy Points:
    0
    If an effect says "exhaust target character", you can target an exhausted character when you play the effect. However, at resolution, if the character is already exhausted, then it would not be considered exhausted as a result of your effect.
  18. Digital Jedi

    Digital Jedi Administrator Staff Member

    Trophy Points:
    63
    The Glossary definition of exhaust is :"Exhaust" is an event that gives an object the exhausted characteristic and takes away the ready characteristic.

    How exactly can you take away an object's ready characteristic when it doesn't have the ready characteristic?
  19. Fiendish Envoy

    Fiendish Envoy Member

    Trophy Points:
    16
    You can't. As somewan said, if a character is already exhausted by the resolution of an effect that exhausts, that effect would not exhaust the character.
  20. chaosruler

    chaosruler New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    He was saying that you could target it, unless the effect prohibits it, not that you would still exhaust it. You can TARGET, but you WILL NOT exhaust them again. I think you misread there a little, Jedi.

    -chaosruler

Share This Page