SOI-EN052 Damage Condenser

Discussion in 'YGO Card Reviews & Tips' started by drzero7, Feb 13, 2006.

  1. drzero7

    drzero7 New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay, let's look at the card that Dr. Crowler used against Vampy chick.

    (NOTE: Copied from dmcomet)

    SOI-JP052
    [ycard="SOI-EN052"]Damage Condenser[/ycard]
    Trap - Normal
    This card can only be activate when you receive battle damages, and discard a card from
    your hand. Special summon a monster from your deck to the field with attack strength
    lower than amount of battle damages received at that point in face-up attack mode.
    Super/Ultimate Rare



    Now, you might think this is crap. For one thing, you have to discard a card from your hand. That' ALWAYS a bad thing. And I agree, but let's look at it's ability.

    Basicaly, when you take battle damage, you can special summon a monster in ATK position equal or less then the LP you lost. This is a pretty good effect if you use it right. You get to special summon a card free. And unlike [ycard="SDY-039"]Last Will[/ycard], this is a trap so ALOT more flexable. (With [ycard="SDY-039"]Last Will[/ycard], your foe sees it coming, this you don't)

    But Doctor Sir, you have to take LP damage, and well, to pull out a good card you have to take ALOT of damage. Ah, stats aren't everything. Sometimes, the weenies bitesize tablets are the true poison. Say you take 300LP damage, guess what, now you got yourself a [ycard="DR1-EN024"]Spirit Reaper[/ycard]. Sure it's summoned on ATK position but if you summon it correctly, (i.e. after your foe's ATK ran out.) then it doesn't matter. In fact theres other stuff. Another card in SOI, [ycard="SOI-EN025"]Treeborn Frog[/ycard], is just 100ATK. (Meaning, when you take damage, you can almost 100% can summon this toad) Your foe have a face-down? Summon a MSlv2 if you taken 900LP or even a cheaper version of [ycard="PGD-015"]Sasuke Samurai[/ycard] at 500LP. (Now with this card, [ycard="PGD-015"]Sasuke Samurai[/ycard] have a PURPOSE and doesn't get outshine by MSlv2 all day.) Or heck, remember [ycard="DB2-EN171"]Injection Fairy Lily[/ycard], yep, [ycard="DB2-EN171"]Injection Fairy Lily[/ycard] are just 400ATK that as we all know, can turn into a 3400ATK rapist. Taking bigger hits like 1000LP can bring out [ycard="DB2-EN042"]Sangan[/ycard] or LP healier [ycard="SRL-EN086"]Nimble Momonga[/ycard]. Any higher and you can get searchers like Tomatos and Angels. Even bigger can get you DDWL/DDA.

    Let's take an example of how can this be used.

    Your foe have a Mobius out, you lost alot of s/t cause of Moby whale. Set a [ycard="DR1-EN024"]Spirit Reaper[/ycard] and then you set [ycard="SOI-EN052"]Damage Condenser[/ycard]. Mobius attack DEF Reaper. Your turn, now you summon Tomato, Suicide attack to Mobius, you take 1000LP damage, activate [ycard="SOI-EN052"]Damage Condenser[/ycard] and special summon [ycard="DB2-EN171"]Injection Fairy Lily[/ycard], then by Tomato, you summon [ycard="PGD-029"]Don Zaloog[/ycard]. Yay, at your turn, you can kill Mobius with [ycard="DB2-EN171"]Injection Fairy Lily[/ycard], and now [ycard="PGD-029"]Don Zaloog[/ycard] and [ycard="DR1-EN024"]Spirit Reaper[/ycard] can attack a clear field for 2 discard to your foe. (Just hope your foe doesn't have a Goldd nuke bomb)

    You don't like the discard cost as well as taking big LP damage. Well, if you had CotH, then you can special summon a big monster with the discard cost of [ycard="SOI-EN052"]Damage Condenser[/ycard]. Or better yet, discard [ycard="DR2-EN068"]Manticore of Darkness[/ycard], then take 1000LP damage from your foe, summon [ycard="SRL-EN086"]Nimble Momonga[/ycard], and at the end phrase, send [ycard="SRL-EN086"]Nimble Momonga[/ycard] to the graveyard to special summon [ycard="DR2-EN068"]Manticore of Darkness[/ycard] from your graveyard that you discarded by [ycard="SOI-EN052"]Damage Condenser[/ycard] at your end phase. I mean, it's a trap card, so if this activated at your foe's turn, great, now you can attack with [ycard="DR2-EN068"]Manticore of Darkness[/ycard]. (If your foe was swarming, great. Let them hit your [ycard="SRL-EN086"]Nimble Momonga[/ycard], it'll heal your LP so even if it's summoned in ATK position, it's worth it, and again, you can summon the rest 2x [ycard="SRL-EN086"]Nimble Momonga[/ycard] from your deck face-down, for Manticore Food.)

    The combo possibilites are very big and flexable. And thus why there are so many bad conditions for this card. (A discard, and you must take LP battle damage)

    Basically, it's a trap card that's a searcher. And unlike Tomato and Rats, it's not limited to any attributes. It's basically a [ycard="DB2-EN042"]Sangan[/ycard] effect but instead of going to your hand, it's special summoned in ATK position. So it got the speed of the 6 attributes of searchers and the flexability of [ycard="DB2-EN042"]Sangan[/ycard]. So it's a [ycard="DB2-EN042"]Sangan[/ycard] + [ycard="SKE-021"]Mystic Tomato[/ycard]-ish hybrid mutt child? Or another way to put it is that it's a [ycard="SDY-039"]Last Will[/ycard] that's a trap card, and that take LP as trigger rather then monster going to the grave as trigger.

    Anyway, use it well or it will kill you. But if one uses it wisely, one might unlock it's true potential.

    But this card is too dependant and a specific deck focused around it, and even then it needs a proper hand for combo.





    ---------


    In the end, I give it a

    5 out of 10

    Fun card and very flexable and versatile combos can come up with this, but just not, "Cookie cutter staple" enough. People prefer to control what they're doing and doing the same old top tier rinse and repeat method. This card is too random and wild unpredicatable not to your foe, but to yourself as well so it's really hard to use this card to it's full potential in a high level metagaming world. I would have giving a higher rating if it wasn't for the discard cost.
  2. Inuyasha_Riku

    Inuyasha_Riku the drumming duelist

    Trophy Points:
    0
    hmm...i think this would work wonders in a tomato control deck...almost like the one im running..once this comes out i may be replacing the [ycard="SDY-039"]Last Will[/ycard]s with these...
  3. drzero7

    drzero7 New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    I forgot to mention, one of the greatest power of this card is that the activation is LP damage, not monsters being killed off.

    So say your foe got GK' Spy wall on it. Ram a weak monster to it, take some LP damage, summon [ycard="DB2-EN171"]Injection Fairy Lily[/ycard] with [ycard="SOI-EN052"]Damage Condenser[/ycard] and take the wall down! (Although I won't recommend this cause you use ALOT of LP cost just to get rid of 1x GK Spy? And your foe doesn't even take LP damage cause it was on defense)

    Well, this is why I didn't mentioned that combo. I'm trying to think of a GOOD way for taking down DEF walls without using [ycard="DB2-EN171"]Injection Fairy Lily[/ycard]. Cause well, since the trigger is LP damage, you can do this against big walls, i.e. GK Spys
  4. drzero7

    drzero7 New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can kinda tell you should pack quite some good weenie monsters in your deck for this card. Like instead of [ycard="PGD-057"]Newdoria[/ycard], you should add [ycard="PGD-071"]Yomi Ship[/ycard]. And try to use 0ATK monsters that have good effects to try to maximise it's use. (I don't know, [ycard="DR2-EN017"]Chaos Necromancer[/ycard]? [ycard="SOD-EN009"]Dark Mimic LV1[/ycard]? )
  5. Jathro

    Jathro New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    [ycard="RDS-EN059"]Astral Barrier[/ycard] + Damage Condenser could allow you to summon something bigger. Though, that's probably not something you should keep doing unless you're running [ycard="SOD-EN051"]Spirit Barrier[/ycard] as well.
  6. drzero7

    drzero7 New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
  7. Teufelhunden

    Teufelhunden New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am thinking that you are reading the conditions to activate this card wrong here guys. First you have to take battle damage and then have had a card discarded by an effect. You cannot discard a card to satisfy the second condition as discarding is a cost. You can only activate this card if an effect causes you to discard after battle damage. Yes it can be confusing sometimes.
  8. Digital Jedi

    Digital Jedi Administrator Staff Member

    Trophy Points:
    63
    I enabeld the auto linking in the intial post. And it appears that's not exactly the case. The exact text reads:

    If the text wasn't clear enough, then the rulings verify it. Discarding is a cost for activation. The timing is when you take Battle Damage, but you must discard a card manually to activate.
  9. Jathro

    Jathro New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    So unfortunately, it is considered a cost to discard. Sorry Dark Worlders. And I had so hoped...
  10. chaosruler

    chaosruler New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    And don't forget LP Battle Damage =/= LP payments. No IFL abuse.
  11. Digital Jedi

    Digital Jedi Administrator Staff Member

    Trophy Points:
    63
    Hmmm...How else would have been able to abuse IFL other then using the effect of Damage COndesor to Special SUmmon her. Just curious.

Share This Page