Solar Flare Dragon Lockout Attacks

Discussion in 'Rules Questions (YGO)' started by Four_of_Five, Jun 29, 2005.

  1. Four_of_Five

    Four_of_Five New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just needed to ask the "official" ruling on this combo:

    If say, I have a [ycard="AST-032"]Solar Flare Dragon[/ycard] and another Pyro monster on my side of the field. Then I place a [ycard="SDP-039"]Ring of Magnetism[/ycard] on the SFD*, will it "lockout" any attacks on ALL my other monsters on the field??


    (*then, just for good measure ,say I have a couple of trap/ spell cards on the field that protect both the SFD and ROM from getting "messed" up while on the field)

    btw, im using a burner/pyro deck so I just wait out till my opponent gets....you know..burned...:p

    Will this combo work or is there some way out of it???

    TIA for any replies!
  2. chaosruler

    chaosruler New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    they may attack the solar flare. For proof, I used the [ycard="SD2-EN009"]Soul-Absorbing Bone Tower[/ycard] ruling under [ycard="SDP-039"]Ring of Magnetism[/ycard], same type of effect, so applicable:
    1. [Re: [ycard="SD2-EN009"]Soul-Absorbing Bone Tower[/ycard]] If you have another Zombie-Type monster and "[ycard="SD2-EN009"]Soul-Absorbing Bone Tower[/ycard]", your opponent cannot attack the "[ycard="SD2-EN009"]Soul-Absorbing Bone Tower[/ycard]", but if you equip the "[ycard="SD2-EN009"]Soul-Absorbing Bone Tower[/ycard]" with "[ycard="SDP-039"]Ring of Magnetism[/ycard]" your opponent can declare an attack but must attack the "[ycard="SD2-EN009"]Soul-Absorbing Bone Tower[/ycard]" equipped with the "[ycard="SDP-039"]Ring of Magnetism[/ycard]".
    -chaosruler
  3. Digital Jedi

    Digital Jedi Administrator Staff Member

    Trophy Points:
    63
    It would differ however if you controlled another-Soul absorbing bone tower. Another zombie only prevent you from attacking the Tower. Two Towers, however would create a lock. From the FAQ:

    [ycard="CT1-EN003"]Command Knight[/ycard]
    If you control 2 face-up "[ycard="CT1-EN003"]Command Knight[/ycard]s", and no other monsters, and 1 of them is equipped with "[ycard="SDP-039"]Ring of Magnetism[/ycard]", your opponent cannot attack because the 2 "[ycard="CT1-EN003"]Command Knight[/ycard]s" are preventing an attack from being declared. "[ycard="SDP-039"]Ring of Magnetism[/ycard]"'s effect forcefully leads the attack to the equipped monster only when the opponent declares an attack, which is impossible for your opponent to do.

    [ycard="LOD-EN018"]Marauding Captain[/ycard]
    If you control 2 "Maurading Captains" and one of them is equipped with "[ycard="SDP-039"]Ring of Magnetism[/ycard]", your opponent cannot attack either one.


  4. chaosruler

    chaosruler New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    But in those situations, the monsters on the field both have that type of effect. This is a single [ycard="AST-032"]Solar Flare Dragon[/ycard] and a Pyro-monster. The Pyro-monster (unless he forgot to tell us it's another [ycard="AST-032"]Solar Flare Dragon[/ycard]) has no ability preventing the opponent from attacking the [ycard="AST-032"]Solar Flare Dragon[/ycard].

    -chaosruler
  5. Digital Jedi

    Digital Jedi Administrator Staff Member

    Trophy Points:
    63
    Yeah, I just wanted to clarify. ;)
  6. chaosruler

    chaosruler New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, fine then. I misread your original post and it seemed (originally) that you were using those rulings as evidence to the contrary of what I said. Sorry for the misread. ^_^

    -chaosruler
  7. Four_of_Five

    Four_of_Five New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Man, what a way to "rain" on my Pyr:( s...

    Hmmmmm......would it make a difference if one of my other Pyro monster is also [ycard="AST-032"]Solar Flare Dragon[/ycard]?:confused: like the way the [ycard="LOD-EN018"]Marauding Captain[/ycard] is treated?

    Oh well, I guess I just need to Equip [ycard="AST-032"]Solar Flare Dragon[/ycard] and make it's attack/defense absurdly high enough not to get destroyed:D
  8. chaosruler

    chaosruler New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Actually, I'm not sure. I'll have to do some research and get back to you.

    Gosh, I hate being sick.

    -chaosruler
  9. Four_of_Five

    Four_of_Five New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nah! Its my fault (im the newbie here;) . Actually, I was just gonna say that the other Pyro monster is also a [ycard="AST-032"]Solar Flare Dragon[/ycard] (but at the last second, i omitted it).

    So, for the record, final clarification: Two [ycard="AST-032"]Solar Flare Dragon[/ycard]s both on my side of the field with one of them equip with a [ycard="SDP-039"]Ring of Magnetism[/ycard]..would in effect cause a "lockout" on attacks?? (again assuming that im well protected against messing up their present set-up)
  10. chaosruler

    chaosruler New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, I believe it would. If someone else can back me up, it'd be great. >.<

    -chaosruler
  11. Digital Jedi

    Digital Jedi Administrator Staff Member

    Trophy Points:
    63
    Well, I feel like I use the phrase "In addition..." too much. But maybe I should stick with it to avoid miscommunication. :D
  12. Four_of_Five

    Four_of_Five New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Quick! Someone back this guy up!!!:D

    Especially on the "lockout" part!;) The nice thing about having the attack lockout is I don't even need to do anything with the SFDs afterwards..just wait it out their "burn" (well, I have 3 of them, so I guess just make sure they don't get blown/tributed away...)

    btw, once the "lockout" is in place and then I summon another non-Pyro monster...will the "lockout" still be in play?? (which is why the [ycard="SDP-039"]Ring of Magnetism[/ycard] was their in the first place):p
  13. chaosruler

    chaosruler New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    They could attack the non-Pyro monster, but not the SFDs

    -chaosruler
  14. Digital Jedi

    Digital Jedi Administrator Staff Member

    Trophy Points:
    63
    Based on the rulings I posted earlier two [ycard="AST-032"]Solar Flare Dragon[/ycard]s and one equipped with [ycard="SDP-039"]Ring of Magnetism[/ycard] would creat a lock where no monsters on your side of the field could be attacked.
  15. chaosruler

    chaosruler New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not true. You couldn't attack any [ycard="AST-032"]Solar Flare Dragon[/ycard]s. If there was a non-Pyro, or a Pyro (not SFD) with only 1 SFD on the field, you could attack the SFD, as long as it is equipped with [ycard="SDP-039"]Ring of Magnetism[/ycard], or you could attack the non-Pyro type monster.

    -chaosruler
  16. Digital Jedi

    Digital Jedi Administrator Staff Member

    Trophy Points:
    63
    Uh, what? I said if there were two [ycard="AST-032"]Solar Flare Dragon[/ycard]s and one was equipped with [ycard="SDP-039"]Ring of Magnetism[/ycard] there would be a lock where no monsters could be attacked. This is because Ring is forcing your opponent to attack the SFD but the effect of both SFDs make that impossible. Yes one SFD and a Pyro-Type is quite different.
  17. Four_of_Five

    Four_of_Five New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Whoa:confused: now I got confused again...so to recap:

    1) 2 [ycard="AST-032"]Solar Flare Dragon[/ycard]s with one equip with [ycard="SDP-039"]Ring of Magnetism[/ycard] = to an attack lockout right??/ no confusion here

    2) Same scenario as above, but this time I summon (whatever position) another non-SFD-non-Pyro monster to the field.....this monster can be attacked??? huh??

    How come? I thought the [ycard="SDP-039"]Ring of Magnetism[/ycard] should force opponent to "attack" only my ROM equipped SFD??? but since 2 SFDs = lockout....uhmm...nevermind:rolleyes: I just wont summon another monster...hahaha :D
  18. Digital Jedi

    Digital Jedi Administrator Staff Member

    Trophy Points:
    63
    If you have two monsters that would ordinarlly create an attack lock ([ycard="AST-032"]Solar Flare Dragon[/ycard], [ycard="LOD-EN018"]Marauding Captain[/ycard], [ycard="SD2-EN009"]Soul-Absorbing Bone Tower[/ycard], [ycard="CT1-EN003"]Command Knight[/ycard]) on the field and you equip one with a [ycard="SDP-039"]Ring of Magnetism[/ycard] no monsters on the field can be attacked.

    [ycard="CT1-EN003"]Command Knight[/ycard]
    If you control 2 face-up "[ycard="CT1-EN003"]Command Knight[/ycard]s", and no other monsters, and 1 of them is equipped with "[ycard="SDP-039"]Ring of Magnetism[/ycard]", your opponent cannot attack because the 2 "[ycard="CT1-EN003"]Command Knight[/ycard]s" are preventing an attack from being declared. "[ycard="SDP-039"]Ring of Magnetism[/ycard]"'s effect forcefully leads the attack to the equipped monster only when the opponent declares an attack, which is impossible for your opponent to do.

    [ycard="LOD-EN018"]Marauding Captain[/ycard]
    If you control 2 "Maurading Captains" and one of them is equipped with "[ycard="SDP-039"]Ring of Magnetism[/ycard]", your opponent cannot attack either one.

    But if you only control one these type monsters and another (pyro, warrior, what-have-you) and equip the otherwise un-attackable monster with ring of magnitism your opponnent must attack the equpped monster:

    [ycard="LOD-EN018"]Marauding Captain[/ycard]
    If you control "[ycard="LOD-EN018"]Marauding Captain[/ycard]" and a Warrior-Type monster equipped with "[ycard="SDP-039"]Ring of Magnetism[/ycard]", the opponent must attack the monster equipped with "[ycard="SDP-039"]Ring of Magnetism[/ycard]" if they choose to attack.

    [ycard="CT1-EN003"]Command Knight[/ycard]
    If you control a "[ycard="CT1-EN003"]Command Knight[/ycard]" equipped with "[ycard="SDP-039"]Ring of Magnetism[/ycard]", and another monster, your opponent can and must select "[ycard="CT1-EN003"]Command Knight[/ycard]" as an attack target if he chooses to attack.

    [ycard="SD2-EN009"]Soul-Absorbing Bone Tower[/ycard]
    If you have another Zombie-Type monster and "[ycard="SD2-EN009"]Soul-Absorbing Bone Tower[/ycard]", your opponent cannot attack the "[ycard="SD2-EN009"]Soul-Absorbing Bone Tower[/ycard]", but if you equip the "[ycard="SD2-EN009"]Soul-Absorbing Bone Tower[/ycard]" with "[ycard="SDP-039"]Ring of Magnetism[/ycard]" your opponent can declare an attack but must attack the "[ycard="SD2-EN009"]Soul-Absorbing Bone Tower[/ycard]" equipped with the "[ycard="SDP-039"]Ring of Magnetism[/ycard]".
  19. DaGuyWitBluGlasses

    DaGuyWitBluGlasses New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    MOVED: From Card Reviews and Tips to Rules and Regulations questions.

    Card Reviews and tips is where to post tips etc. on how to use a specific card.

    Questions about a card(s) ability during a duel goes to Rules and Regulations
  20. Four_of_Five

    Four_of_Five New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes! Thank You!

    Quoted from: Digital Jedi

    ....and if I may add...on My Side of the field!
    I hope this one stands this time around;)

    ....now if I could just get the Ring to stick around (along with my Wave Motion)....and get the SFDs to stay put....at least until a Spell card (ie [ycard="PSV-EN104"]Imperial Order[/ycard]) blows it away...

    Thanks!

Share This Page