1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Another Card of Safe Return question.

Discussion in 'Rules Questions (YGO)' started by skey23, Mar 27, 2006.

  1. skey23

    skey23 Council of Heroes

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, here's the scenario...

    I play "[ycard="LON-EN029"]Card of Safe Return[/ycard]".
    I play "[ycard="SDP-040"]Graceful Charity[/ycard]".
    I draw my 3 and discard 2 "[ycard="EEN-EN020"]Beiige, Vanguard of Dark World[/ycard]".

    How many cards do I draw for "[ycard="LON-EN029"]Card of Safe Return[/ycard]"? 1 or 2?
    I say I draw only 1 because I miss the timing for one of the Special Summons.

    Thanks!
  2. Blackscorp

    Blackscorp Poison?... Loaded!!

    Trophy Points:
    0
  3. Sakura Sakamoto

    Sakura Sakamoto Active Member

    Trophy Points:
    38
    how can you miss the timing of a continues spell
    card i mean it's always on the field.
    please can some explain this.
  4. Tkwiget

    Tkwiget Da Twiggy Man!

    Trophy Points:
    0
    You sure about this sir?

    [ycard="EEN-EN020"]Beiige, Vanguard of Dark World[/ycard]. You discard two with the effect of [ycard="SDP-040"]Graceful Charity[/ycard]. Each copy of Beiige will activate and resolve in seperate Chain Blocks. After each copy of the monster is Special Summoned, both players have a chance to respond to the summoning. I do believe that [ycard="LON-EN029"]Card of Safe Return[/ycard] would allow the player to draw for each Special Summoning.

    I'm probably wrong. =/
  5. skey23

    skey23 Council of Heroes

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Even though it's a Continuous Spell Card, it has a Triggered Effect. Which means it will ONLY activate when a certain thing happens. On top of that, it contains the word 'can', which makes it an Optional Triggered Effect. So that means that you can only get it's effect when the last thing to occur is the specific thing it's looking for.

    So, with "[ycard="LON-EN029"]Card of Safe Return[/ycard]", it's looking for a monster(s) to be Special Summoned from the Graveyard to your side of the field, then, you CAN draw 1 card.

    But if the monster being Special Summoned from the Graveyard is not the last event to occur, then you cannot use the effect of "[ycard="LON-EN029"]Card of Safe Return[/ycard]" because you've missed the timing.


    Does that make sense?....lol.
  6. paulb91085

    paulb91085 New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    With [ycard="LON-EN029"]Card of Safe Return[/ycard] when you active [ycard="SDP-040"]Graceful Charity[/ycard] it resolves by dicarding two cards and both of their effects active at the same time so [ycard="LON-EN029"]Card of Safe Return[/ycard] thinks thats only 1 monster was sp summoned
  7. anthonyj

    anthonyj New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    [ycard="IOC-032"]Heart of the Underdog[/ycard] ruling Missing the Timing: Suppose you have 3 copies of "[ycard="IOC-032"]Heart of the Underdog[/ycard]" on the field, and draw a Normal Monster Card during your Draw Phase. All 3 copies of "[ycard="IOC-032"]Heart of the Underdog[/ycard]" immediately activate their effects, and because they activate simultaneously, they form a chain with Chain Links 1, 2, and 3. If you draw a Normal Monster card for Chain Link 3 or Chain Link 2, your copies of "[ycard="IOC-032"]Heart of the Underdog[/ycard]" do not activate again. This is because they are "when... you can" optional Trigger Effects, and you "miss the timing" because you drew the Normal Monster Card during a chain and not as Chain Link 1. However, if you draw a Normal Monster Card for Chain Link 1, all 3 copies of "[ycard="IOC-032"]Heart of the Underdog[/ycard]" will activate their effects again.
  8. Tkwiget

    Tkwiget Da Twiggy Man!

    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'd just like to make a statement that my previous post was merely from another point of view based off of the [ycard="LOD-EN092"]Bottomless Trap Hole[/ycard] v.s. [ycard="SD2-EN003"]Vampire Lord[/ycard] game mechanics.

    EDIT: Keep in mind that both monsters aren't being special summoned at the exact same time. They activate and resolve in two completely different Chain Blocks.
  9. anthonyj

    anthonyj New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    No [ycard="LON-EN029"]Card of Safe Return[/ycard] just can't kick in unless the last thing to happen was a monster being Special Summoned from the graveyard. So the previous monster won't trigger [ycard="LON-EN029"]Card of Safe Return[/ycard] because something else is still happening.
  10. skey23

    skey23 Council of Heroes

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry, paul, but that's not correct. "[ycard="LON-EN029"]Card of Safe Return[/ycard]" knows there were 2 monsters Special Summoned because they aren't Special Summoned at the same time, but since they are Special Summoned back-to-back, it misses the timing for the 1st one, but doesn't for the 2nd one.
  11. paulb91085

    paulb91085 New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well meant to look at it in the same why you explained it but didn't know how to explain it.
  12. slither

    slither Alex (1981 - 2008)<br />Slithery When Wet

    Trophy Points:
    0
    I did think exactly like you in this Tk, in a very similar thread about Dark World's vs BTH, but apparently they create a single chain.
  13. Tkwiget

    Tkwiget Da Twiggy Man!

    Trophy Points:
    0
    I over looked the Standby Phase. =/
  14. EmeraldDragon

    EmeraldDragon Bringer of Doom

    Trophy Points:
    36
    Such things can and do happen. Dont feel too bad tk.
  15. Tkwiget

    Tkwiget Da Twiggy Man!

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well when you take a break from judging for a few weeks, you tend to get a little rusty in picking up key words out of the card text. Another thing is reading too quickly and only getting a generalized meaning from running through card text.

    The only cards I hate reading to pull exact wording from are those with extremely small font size. I probably should take a magnifying lens to events so I can read small print from cards like [ycard="SDP-001"]Relinquished[/ycard], [ycard="DB2-EN004"]Dark Necrofear[/ycard], [ycard="PSV-EN084"]Thousand-Eyes Restrict[/ycard], and Union Monsters. I hate pulling exact wording from small print on cards like them. Just because I have excellant eye sight doesn't mean I have to struggle in reading the card. It wastes too much of my time and 1 or 2 minutes wasted in struggling to read a card means I don't get home 1 or 2 minutes earlier.
  16. exiledforcefreak

    exiledforcefreak RIP Jacob KT 2/16/06

    Trophy Points:
    0
    the reason you only get to draw 1 card is because the effect of [ycard="LON-EN029"]Card of Safe Return[/ycard] is an optional one. as such, it can miss the timing for effects. The two beiges are special summoned on a chain (they are put into a chain after the current chain of [ycard="SDP-040"]Graceful Charity[/ycard] resolves), since a chain is already resolving, and [ycard="LON-EN029"]Card of Safe Return[/ycard] is optional, [ycard="LON-EN029"]Card of Safe Return[/ycard] does not trigger for each special summoned monster and start a new chain after the current chain resolves. Instead, [ycard="LON-EN029"]Card of Safe Return[/ycard] starts a new chain in response to the last special summon to occur assuming the last special summon was the last thing on the chain to resolve (if, for example, the last link on the chain to resolve was an effect that special summoned a monster from your opponent's graveyard, you would miss the timing for [ycard="LON-EN029"]Card of Safe Return[/ycard] even though a beige was special summoned during the resolution of chain link 2)

    I hope that clears things up.

    :bkss_jedi

Share This Page