1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Baboon Vs. Grandmaster of the Six Samurai

Discussion in 'Rules Questions (YGO)' started by exiledforcefreak, Nov 13, 2007.

  1. exiledforcefreak

    exiledforcefreak RIP Jacob KT 2/16/06

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can someone please explain to me why Grandmaster of the Six Samurai can return itself and Green Baboon can't? I still don't 100% understand.
  2. Digital Jedi

    Digital Jedi Administrator Staff Member

    Trophy Points:
    63
    From what I understand, the difference is the way the effects activate. Grandmaster is going to look for it's own destruction specifically, so it will have to be on the field in order for the effect to work. Baboon on the other hand is looking for Beast types to be destroyed while it's in your hand or Graveyard, not while it's on the field. I'm still not sure it's phrased to reflect that, though.
  3. skey23

    skey23 Council of Heroes

    Trophy Points:
    0
    BKSS....

    There is no other explanation...
  4. exiledforcefreak

    exiledforcefreak RIP Jacob KT 2/16/06

    Trophy Points:
    0
    so when I need to extrapolate... which card should I extrapolate from?
  5. Maruno

    Maruno Council of Heroes Staff Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    If it's BKSS, you just need to remember the ruling. It's BKSS because you can't extrapolate the ruling from elsewhere (most likely it goes against what similar rulings or logic/game mechanics might say).
  6. exiledforcefreak

    exiledforcefreak RIP Jacob KT 2/16/06

    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've been told from unreliable sources that grandmaster is different because it is an American made card... so if that's true, then baboon would be the standard. Can anyone confirm this?
  7. slither

    slither Alex (1981 - 2008)<br />Slithery When Wet

    Trophy Points:
    0
    That has absolutely nothing to do with it... as said by skey, it is just BKSS.
  8. exiledforcefreak

    exiledforcefreak RIP Jacob KT 2/16/06

    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm aware that one of them is an exception BKSS... but which one?
  9. masterwoo0

    masterwoo0 NINJA4LIFE

    Trophy Points:
    36
    When Baboon was in its heyday, it was 3 per Deck. No one had to worry about what it could do because most likely, you already had one in the Graveyard from Foolish Burial, and one in hand, so it didnt matter.

    Now that you can only have one per Deck, it matters, and the only sensible ruling that has been consistently used, is that he cannot use his effect on himself which prevents him from being abused by cards like Des Counterblow, which would be a seriously ungodly card if he were at 3 per Deck.

    But, I digress. There is no exception between Grandmaster or Green Baboon. Each card has been given a ruling, for better or worse, and that is what we have to go by. There are a lot of good explanations as to why Baboon works the way he does, but in the end, if they are good enough to explain why he can't use his effect, then it also kills the reasoning behind why Grandmaster works. So, its BKSS, or nothing.
  10. Digital Jedi

    Digital Jedi Administrator Staff Member

    Trophy Points:
    63
    So, in other words, it's Baboon. :D
  11. masterwoo0

    masterwoo0 NINJA4LIFE

    Trophy Points:
    36
    I think it's probably a "Chicken before the Egg" scenario, but if you call Baboon the "Chicken", and Grandmaster the "Egg", that would mean that Grandmaster should dictate that Baboon follows suit.

    I guess you almost have to call it a exception, or more likely, a addendum. :ninja:

Share This Page