1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

blast on gaerfried(again)

Discussion in 'Rules Questions (YGO)' started by Lithium, Feb 9, 2006.

  1. Tkwiget

    Tkwiget Da Twiggy Man!

    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's the thing. [ycard="PSV-EN101"]Gearfried the Iron Knight[/ycard]'s effect can't activate in the first four portions of the Damage Step. So the next sub-step (which is 5) is where card effects that do not activate when a monster is sent to the Graveyard are activated and resolved now. This would include [ycard="PSV-EN101"]Gearfried the Iron Knight[/ycard]s' effect. Then after it activates and resolves, [ycard="SD5-EN036"]Blast with Chain[/ycard] then activates and resolves. Then you move to the last and final sub-step in the Damage Step. Which is where monsters that are considered to be destroyed are sent to their owner's respective Graveyards.
  2. novastar

    novastar New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    But i'm not sure about that...well maybe... the Resolve Effects in general could be the only place since it is definately the most open part of the Damage Step.
  3. Tkwiget

    Tkwiget Da Twiggy Man!

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Which is why I'm saying [ycard="PSV-EN101"]Gearfried the Iron Knight[/ycard] could activate in that area. I'm pretty strong on that believe.
  4. novastar

    novastar New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gearfried...yes...it's BwC i'm not so sure about....
  5. SS64

    SS64 New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    so what happens?does Blast 2nd effect resolve in the Dmg step?

    Lets say another monster is equipped with Premat. and you use Blast effect to knock it.

    Does replay happen?so Cyber can attck again.
  6. mrme

    mrme New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    so gerfried the in + blast with chain is actually a pretty good combo.
  7. mikoal

    mikoal Sinister Control

    Trophy Points:
    0
    im pretty sure i've asked this question before, and the answer i was given was that cyber dragon kills gearfried and then the destruction effect of BwC then kicks in.

    According to that, i would atk with gearfried to kill something weaker, lets say, a sangan, then during damage step activate BwC and destroy their face down monster, then as the resolution, the monster would be destryoed. They cant decree or anyhting.

    I always though gearfried was a continous effect? shouldnt the destruction effect of an equip card be continuous?
    it should kick in immediately right? then the destruction of monster would be in SS 5.

    maybe im wrong? please clarify
  8. mikoal

    mikoal Sinister Control

    Trophy Points:
    0
    does anyone know?
  9. ygo doc

    ygo doc New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    "Blast with Chain" can be activated during Damage Step and will equip to "Gearfried the Iron Knight". "Gearfried" does have a trigger effect that will destroy "Blast with Chain" but NOT until AFTER damage calculation is done. Reference the ruling of "Rush Recklessly" vs. "Spirit Reaper".

    So in the original scenario, "Cyber Dragon" will be destroyed by Damage Calculation as "Gearfried's" ATK will be 2300. "Gearfried's" effect will destroy "Blast with Chain" after Damage Calculation. "Blast with Chain" will now get its effect in the Resolve Effects substep of Damage Step.

    Now beware! If "Gearfried" is the only remaining card on the Field, BwC will have to destroy "Gearfried".

    doc
  10. skey23

    skey23 Council of Heroes

    Trophy Points:
    0
    According to 'the powers that be', "Gearfried the Iron Knight" is a Continuous Effect. It is NOT a Trigger Effect.
  11. Entropy

    Entropy Deus Ex Machina

    Trophy Points:
    0
    I find that odd. It has to be a trigger effect. How else would this ruling work?

    When "Butterfly Dagger - Elma" is destroyed by "Gearfried the Iron Knight"'s effect, you can chain to this effect with "Really Eternal Rest" and destroy "Gearfried the Iron Knight", and "Butterfly Dagger - Elma" will be destroyed because "Gearfried the Iron Knight" was destroyed, so "Butterfly Dagger - Elma" cannot return to the owner's hand.

    Chain Link 1: Activate Butterfly Dagger - Elma, targetting Gearfried the Iron Knight
    Both Pass
    Resolve Link 1:Equip Butterfly Dagger - Elma to Gearfried the Iron Knight
    -Gearfried's continuous effect activates, destroying Elma

    When could you activate Really Eternal Rest?
  12. ygo doc

    ygo doc New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Where did you get the ruling that "Gearfried's" effect is a continuous effect?

    Continuous effects cannot be chained. According to the ruling of "Butterfly Dagger - Elma" vs. "Gearfried", "Really Eternal Rest" can be chained to "Gearfried's" destruction effect. That means the effect goes on chain, which means it canNOT be continuous.

    doc

    P.S. Sorry, didn't read the last post. Entropy beat me to it.
  13. masterwoo0

    masterwoo0 NINJA4LIFE

    Trophy Points:
    0
    You're not activating anything to Gearfied's effect. It's the response to Blast with Chain being destroyed by Really Eternal Rest.
  14. SS64

    SS64 New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    so does this ruling still hold valid if it is a trigger?
    gettin kinda confused.
  15. ygo doc

    ygo doc New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    There is a lot of MISinformation in this thread, so sorry for the confusion.

    First, "Gearfried the Iron Knight's" effect is a trigger effect, much like "King Tiger Wanghu" or "Lava Golem". Reference this message thread to confirm GtIK's effect type: http://www.pojo.biz/board/showthread.php?t=278104.

    Second, even though I referenced "Spirit Reaper" which has a continuous effect and "Gearfried's" is a trigger effect, these monster effects will not interrupt the Calculate Damage portion of Damage step. Damage is calculated and applied and then their effects are applied in the Resolve Effects substep of Damage Step.

    doc
  16. masterwoo0

    masterwoo0 NINJA4LIFE

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gearfried's effect is NOT a Trigger Effect. Especially when this has already been addressed by Ian Estrin, who is the Judge Manager for UDE.

    I also didnt realize that Pojo was now an alternative for Judge Rulings.
  17. Digital Jedi

    Digital Jedi Administrator Staff Member

    Trophy Points:
    63
    Gearfried was listed as a Continuous Effect on the old Netrepâ„¢ Files as well. I never heard any information revoking that. It's pretty much been one of those things I've heard consistently since then by most judges since that time. They errated Gearfrieds text to make him sound like Trigger for a time, but never revoked the old ruling publicly. I'm inclined to believe that that it hasn't changed.
  18. SS64

    SS64 New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok lets say it is a Countious effect,
    does this make this a valid ruling?
  19. skey23

    skey23 Council of Heroes

    Trophy Points:
    0
    As both woo0 and myself have already stated. "Gearfried the Iron Knight" is currently being ruled as a Continuous Effect. It is not a Trigger Effect. I too brought up the "Butterfly Dagger - Elma" ruling, but was quickly 'overruled' so to speak.
  20. ygo doc

    ygo doc New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, I'd have to agree. Pojo's is certainly not a rulings site, nor is this site, and neither are the rulings from the old judge site or Netrep.

    "King Tiger Wanghu's" effect was also listed as continuous on the old NetRep site. I certainly hope NONE of you believe that the Tiger's effect is still continuous; it is not! The NetRep site and files were a great source of information during their time; however, they are now out of date. "Lava Golem's" effect is not continuous either. If you don't believe me, read the rulings on "Barrel Behind the Door".

    Ian Estrin is the Judge Manager for UDE; however, he is not the Head of Rules for Yu-Gi-Oh! I believe Kevin Tewart holds that responsibility. If you have a recent official PUBLISHED source for your information, please post it or the link. I and others have already pointed to current rulings that specifically state that you can chain to "Gearfried's" destruction effect. That can only happen if his effect goes on chain. Continuous effects never go on chain.

    doc

Share This Page