blast on gaerfried(again)

ygo doc

New Member
OK, I have asked both official and unofficial sources the question: What kind of effect does "Gearfried the Iron Knight" have?

I have not yet received an official reply from an official source. I have received replies from unofficial sources, and an unofficial reply from an official source. These folks have told me that "Gearfried the Iron Knight's" effect is continuous. However, they have also told me that the ruling with "Butterfly Dagger - Elma" vs. "Really Eternal Rest" has to be in error, unless the effect is a trigger effect. "Gearfried's" effect cannot be continuous and the ruling be correct at the same time.

Look for the "Butterfly Dagger - Elma" ruling to be removed from UDE's website. Final decision or answer on this question will depend on Konami's response. Does anyone know how the JERP lists "Gearfried the Iron Knight's" effect currently? In the past, I have found the information closer to the source to be more often correct.

doc
 

Entropy

Deus Ex Machina
JERP says trigger.

At least I think it does...I'm Babbelfishing it, and making it look like I speak the language. It's listed in the same spot as Zolga, which is a Trigger!
 

ygo doc

New Member
Digital Jedi said:
Let me point out, however, that I never suggested that we disregard rulings or render them different from what's published. What I was pointing out, was that there are a number of rulings which blatantly contradict each other. You can't enforce one while enforcing the other. You can't enforce one without violating the other. That is a no win situation that I personally think a TCG should take great pains to keep out of their documentation, but I digress...
You have valid arguments and thanks to CoG users here, I have contacted UDE and they have now removed the ruling under "Butterfly Dagger - Elma" that mentions "Gearfried the Iron Knight" and "Really Eternal Rest". You will no longer find that entry on UDE's website, but you will find it with RONIN until the next update.

I have been told that "Gearfried's" effect is continuous; however, UDE wants to confirm this information with Konami. The ruling was obviously incorrect if "Gearfried's" effect is continuous which is why the ruling was removed.

What's the final answer? trigger or continuous? stay tuned to find out! Just don't hold your breath. Responses from Konami have been known to take time.

doc
 

ygo doc

New Member
mikoal said:
any updates yet?
No, I haven't heard anything recently. It is true UDE "testers" were regarding Gearfried the Iron Knight's effect as continuous, but they also agreed that could not be true with the Butterfly Dagger - Elma ruling, which is why it was removed. I was told Konami would be consulted but I have not heard anything back yet, which is not unexpected at this point either. I'll check in with my sources to see if any definitive ruling has been rendered.

doc
 
Top