1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Chain problem

Discussion in 'Rules Questions (YGO)' started by Dasher, Apr 24, 2008.

  1. Dasher

    Dasher New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    I encountered a situation in Hobby League yesterday:
    NTP had Sangan face-down on the field. TP had face-up Forced Requisition and face-up Card of Safe Return.

    TP played Dark World Lightning on Sangan, destroyed it, discarded Goldd and activated Forced Requisition. My question is, how will these efects form a chain?
  2. skey23

    skey23 Council of Heroes

    Trophy Points:
    0
    You have a SEGOC situation, but not a 'standard' one.

    One thing that has recently been clarified by UDE is that there are different types of SEGOC chains. The chain you've presented here doesn't follow the standard SEGOC chaining rules because you have effects being triggered at different points in time. As a result, the SEGOC chain will be built based off those points in time.

    So..

    Link 1 will be "Sangan" since it was triggered first when it was destroyed.
    Link 2 will be "Goldd" since it was triggered when it was discarded after "Sangan" was destroyed.
    The SEGOC chain is now finished being built so both players can add other appropriate effects to the chain.
    Link 3 will be "Forced Requisition". The timing is still correct for this card because the last thing to have resolved in the Game State was still you discarding a card.

    So, you resolve the chain.
    "Forced Requisition" resolves and its effect becomes active. From this point on, anytime you discard a card, so will your opponent.
    "Goldd" is Special Summoned to the field.
    NTP searches for "Sangan's" effect.
  3. Dasher

    Dasher New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Great :) I thought similary and ruled it exactly this way :) Thanks a bunch
  4. Maruno

    Maruno Council of Heroes Staff Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    So there's the SEGOC chain where all the effects trigger at the same time and then try to resolve at the same time (e.g. Dark Hole on a few Sangan), and there's the SEGOC chain where effects trigger at different times, but still try to resolve at the same time (e.g. the example above).

    If several effects activate at different times, but they all try to resolve at the same time, the effect(s) which triggered earlier will get lower Chain Link numbers. First in, last out.

    Sound about right?
  5. skey23

    skey23 Council of Heroes

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, that sounds about right.
  6. SoilentG

    SoilentG CoG iTrader

    Trophy Points:
    0
    What about Card of Safe Return? Doesn't it activate between Link 2 and Link 1 of Simon's chain?
  7. Entropy

    Entropy Deus Ex Machina

    Trophy Points:
    0
    It misses the timing, since the last thing to happen was Sangan.

Share This Page