1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dark Spirit of Silent

Discussion in 'Rules Questions (YGO)' started by miiaah, Mar 22, 2005.

  1. miiaah

    miiaah New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Player A has a Gemini Elf and a Sheep Token on the field.
    Player B has two face-down monsters.
    Player A's Gemini Elf attacks the first monster. Player B activates Dark Spirit of Silent and choose the Sheep Token as a target.
    Does Player A choose the target of the new attack or does he have to attack the first monster he previously chose ?

    Now instead of Gemini Elf, there's a Raging Flame Sprite. And instead of the two face-down monsters, there are two Solar Flare Dragon.
    Raging Flame Sprite attacks directly.
    Can Player B activate Dark Spirit of Silent ? What will happen if he can ?
  2. StRiKe_NiNjA

    StRiKe_NiNjA Dimension Shift Ninja

    Trophy Points:
    0
    [ycard="LON-EN079"]Dark Spirit of the Silent[/ycard]
    This card can only be activated during your opponent's Battle Step. Negate the attack of 1 monster and select another 1 of your opponent's face-up monsters and have it attack. If the new targeted attacking monster is in face-up Defense Position, change it to Attack Position.

    In the first situation, PlayerA does not choose a new attack target, the effect of [ycard="LON-EN079"]Dark Spirit of the Silent[/ycard] forces a new monster to attack the same attack target that was previosly declared.

    To further explain [ycard="LON-EN079"]Dark Spirit of the Silent[/ycard], it doesn't work like [ycard="IOC-SE2"]Magic Cylinder[/ycard] or [ycard="AST-054"]Draining Shield[/ycard] would, for when they [ycard="TSC-003"]Negate Attack[/ycard]s, it takes a player back to the Start Step of the battle phase. For [ycard="LON-EN079"]Dark Spirit of the Silent[/ycard], the moment the attack is negated, another monster is there to replace that attack so your opponent cannot choose a new attack target.

    For the [ycard="RDS-EN020"]Raging Flame Sprite[/ycard] situation... Yes, you may activate [ycard="LON-EN079"]Dark Spirit of the Silent[/ycard] to negate the direct attack of [ycard="RDS-EN020"]Raging Flame Sprite[/ycard] and choose a [ycard="SDJ-041"]Scapegoat[/ycard] token... however that [ycard="SDJ-041"]Scapegoat[/ycard] token will still attack the original target which was the player for a direct attack. Here's a ruling that relates:

    If "[ycard="SYE-022"]Zombyra the Dark[/ycard]" is selected with "[ycard="LON-EN079"]Dark Spirit of the Silent[/ycard]" and you have no monsters, "[ycard="SYE-022"]Zombyra the Dark[/ycard]" may attack directly.

Share This Page