1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Gravekeeper's servant

Discussion in 'Rules Questions (YGO)' started by speonkcake, Feb 1, 2005.

  1. speonkcake

    speonkcake New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    If a monster can attack twice, and my opponent decides to do so while Gravekeeper's Sevrant is on the field, do they have to discard a card for both attacks, even though it is the same monster?
  2. DaGuyWitBluGlasses

    DaGuyWitBluGlasses New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes. Each attack requires a separate discard from the deck.
  3. furryjenny

    furryjenny New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Unless your opponent sends 1 card from the top of his/her Deck to the Graveyard, he/she cannot declare an attack.

    Gravekeeper's Servant triggers for each declared attack. So yes.
  4. spotsknight

    spotsknight New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Even better, if you cause a replay (because you activate Scapegoat after your opponent declares an attack), then your opponent has to discard again if they still wish to attack.

    Spot's Knight
  5. DaGuyWitBluGlasses

    DaGuyWitBluGlasses New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't think that's true, there's steps for declaring an attack the attacking palyer can choose how far to back up so if the attacking player only wished to choose another target (step 3) that will not require another discard.
  6. spotsknight

    spotsknight New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Considering my favorite deck was Deck the Halls (a depletion deck) with 3 of these wonderful cards in it, I think I know how it is played. ;)

    Here is a direct quote from the basic game play of the FAQ
    And
    As you can see, it is not up to the player how far back a replay "rewinds" the battle step". It is built into the replay mechanic. Also since you are selecting an ATTACKING monster to declare an attack, you must again pay any costs for that monster to attack (same as if it could attack twice).
    Spot's Knight
  7. novastar

    novastar New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Im with you Spots... The discard for Gravekeeper's Servant is done as a cost action, and must be paid each and every time you declare an attack.

    Replay would rewind back to before the Attack Declaration, and if the opponent wishes to attack again, another attack would have to be declared and the cost (discard) would have to be paid again.
  8. Raigekick

    Raigekick New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    I agree on this one also.

    I respectfully disagree on this. If a replay occur, the attacking monster just halts and decide if he wants to continue to attack or not. He already declared the attack and doen not need to redeclare it again. For example:

    Player A has Blue-Eyes White Dragon and Gemini Elf both in ATK possition.
    Player B has no monster but has a set Call of the Haunted.

    Player A declares a Direct attack with Gemini Elf.
    Player B responds with Call of the Haunted to bring back Summoned Skull
    Chain Resolves.
    Now, Player A must decide whether to continue the attack of Gemini Elf or pass. He can't pass, then let BEWD attack and then attack with GE again. Once GE pass, she can't attack anymore. This is why you don't need to pay the cost to attack again if a replay occurs.
  9. spotsknight

    spotsknight New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Actually that is exactly what player A can do. If you read about replays in the basic game play on the FAQ (parts of which I quoted above), you will see that it "rewinds" the battle step to the point where the player selects the attacking monster. Meaning you can select BEWD to attack and GE has not attacked at all yet.

    Spot's Knight
  10. novastar

    novastar New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Look at the quote from the FAQ:

    "Select an attacking monster" means that when you replay, you are now free to declare another attack with any of the avaliable monsters that you can attack with.

    In your example Gemini Elf does not have to be the one attacking again, the Turn Player absolutely could declare an attack with BEWD or GE, since you are free to "Select an attacking monster" (meaning any legal one) or choose not to attack and proceed to the End Step.

    EDIT: Darn! Spots beat me to it...;)
  11. Raigekick

    Raigekick New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    I stand corrected. Both of you guys are right. I've been playing Replay incorrectly. This is because the Replay in "Konami Yugioh Online" is messed up, and I was using that as a base of ruling. I should have known better than to use a video game for actual ruling. Though you might think Konami, of all people, would have straighten the rules of their own video game :confused:
  12. spotsknight

    spotsknight New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Here he comes
    Here comes Speed Typer
    He's a demon on Keys
    He's a demon
    And he's gonna be Typin' after someone.... Go Speed Typer! Go Speed Typer! Gooooo!
  13. novastar

    novastar New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    LMAO... thats the best i've heard in a while...

Share This Page