1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hamon, Rare Value vs. Macro/D.Fissure

Discussion in 'Rules Questions (YGO)' started by Dasher, Apr 25, 2008.

  1. Dasher

    Dasher New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a question ralated to Crystal Beasts. Can you summon Hamon when Macro Cosmos is on the field? What about D.Fissure, will it remove Crystal Beast, when it is send to Graveyard from S/T zone?

    And what about Rare Value and Macro Cosmos?

    Sorry for all those question marks :)
  2. Entropy

    Entropy Deus Ex Machina

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Short Answers:
    Hamon + Macro = No
    Hamon + D.Fis = Yes
    Rare Value + Macro = No, technically
    Rare Value + D.Fis = Yes

    Long Answers:
    "Macro Cosmos", "Dimensional Fissure", and "Banisher of the Light/Radiance" only prevent cards from being activated if it's a cost to send the card to the Graveyard.

    "Hamon, Lord of Striking Thunder"'s summon effect requires you to send the cards to the Graveyard as a cost. "Macro Cosmos" will stop it (since the Crystal Beasts would be removed from play).

    "Dimensional Fissure" doesn't remove from play the crystalised, "Crystal Beast"s, since they are sent to the Graveyard as Magic cards. The "Crystal Beast"s would be sent to the Graveyard as normal, so "Dimensional Fissure" wouldn't stop "Hamon".

    "Rare Value" doesn't send the card to the Graveyard as a cost, so "Macro Cosmos" wouldn't stop it from being activated. However, a Japanese ruling is that since the "Crystal Beast" would be removed from play, so you wouldn't draw two cards.

    Again, "Dimensional Fissure" would have no effect, since the "Crystal Beast" is sent to the Graveyard.

    Also, that last sentence didn't end in a question mark. D:<
  3. skey23

    skey23 Council of Heroes

    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's not a Japanese ruling....
  4. Entropy

    Entropy Deus Ex Machina

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, technically, the TCG ruling also exists in the OCG, so it's both a TCG and an OCG ruling. Just because I didn't mention its TCG-ness doesn't mean it's not a TCG ruling.

    <.<

    >.>
  5. Maruno

    Maruno Council of Heroes Staff Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    But we're playing the TCG. It doesn't make sense to refer to the OCG, even if the two games happen to be similar at whatever you're comparing. There are still some differences between the two games, and until they're identical, you should not even be thinking about the OCG to make judgements in the TCG (regardless of how similar they may already be).

Share This Page