1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Interesting Question. Sasuke/Swordsman Lv4 vs My Body as a Shield

Discussion in 'Rules Questions (YGO)' started by mortals, Oct 6, 2004.

  1. mortals

    mortals New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    I saw this ruling on YugiohRealms (cheap pop) today and thought it an interesting one. I would rule that you would be able to use it against Mystic Swordsman Lv4 to prevent the destruction of your f/d monster. Anyone else have any opinions. I would appreciate any feedback. =)
  2. n00b

    n00b Gold Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't think it would work, because Sasuke Samurai/Mystic Swordsman LV4's effect activates during the Damage Step before damage calculation, at which point you shouldn't be able to activate My Body as a Shield. :|
  3. Cha

    Cha New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, Sasuke's/Mystic Swordsman LV4s effect takes place before the Damage Step.
  4. masterwoo0

    masterwoo0 NINJA4LIFE

    Trophy Points:
    36
    looks like the lastest ruling (Advanced Rulings Research Journal) says that Sasuke Samurai's effect takes place in the Damage Step before Damage Calculation takes place. So since "My Body as a Shield" cannot be activated in the Damage Step, and since their effects are the same, then I dont think you can use its effect on Sasuke or Mystic Swordsman.
  5. Raijinili

    Raijinili New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sasuke's effect has always been triggered at the start of the damage step. It's not the "latest" ruling.

    According to the JERP, Let Us Be Your Shield can't be activated in the damage step.
  6. Maester Bacman

    Maester Bacman New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    It should be pretty clear, anyways:

    - My Body as a Shield cannot be used in the Damage Step. (Official)
    - Sasuke Samurai and Mystic Swordsman [LV2, LV4] apply their destruction effects only when the attack is not negated and the resolution of that attack begins [Damage Step - Flip Target Monster Section]. (If a Magic Cylinder negates their attack, they will not apply their effect.)
    - Therefore, My Body as a Shield cannot be used against Sasuke Samurai and Mystic Swordsman [LV2, LV4].
  7. masterwoo0

    masterwoo0 NINJA4LIFE

    Trophy Points:
    36
    When I say "Latest" I mean the most recent. As you know, there are and will continue to be changes to older rulings as new situations present themselves. I would hope that you could see that when I quote the latest I mean that if you refer to rulings from an earlier time frame, then it is better to know that it is consistent with the newer ones also.

    I only said that as Cha stated that Sasuke's effect takes place "before" the Damage Step.

Share This Page