1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[JCP-YGO] Dec. 5, 2008 - Basic Gameplay FAQ Update - Field Spell Cards

Discussion in 'UDE's Judge Program (YGO)' started by UDEbot, Dec 15, 2008.

  1. UDEbot

    UDEbot More Machine Than Man

    Trophy Points:
    0
    from UDE's Judge Certification Program (YGO)

    Judges,

    The Basic Gameplay FAQ on the Yu-Gi-Oh! TCG website has been updated to include a section explaining Field Spell Cards.

    You can read the entry here:
    http://entertainment.upperdeck.com/yugioh/en/gameplay/faqs/basicgameplay/default.aspx


    The entry added to the FAQ:

    Field Spell Cards 12/05/2008

    Field Spell Cards are a kind of Spell Card that can only be placed into the Field Spell Card Zone. There can only be 1 face-up Field Spell Card on the field at any time between both players. When you activate or Set a Field Spell Card, you place it into your Field Spell Card Zone. You cannot Set a Field Spell Card in your Spell and Trap Card Zone.

    If you have a Field Spell Card in your Field Spell Card Zone, you can still activate or Set a new Field Spell Card from your hand. When you do, the old Field Spell Card is immediately destroyed and placed into the Graveyard. If your opponent negates the activation of your new Field Spell Card or destroys it before it can resolve, the old Field Spell Card is still destroyed.

    Example 1:
    Player A has “Umi” face-up in his Field Spell Card Zone. If he activates “Zombie World” from his hand, “Umi” is immediately destroyed and placed into his Graveyard, and “Zombie World” is placed face-up in his Field Spell Card Zone.

    Example 2:
    Player A has “Rising Air Current” face-up in her Field Spell Card Zone. She activates “Sanctuary in the Sky”, destroying “Rising Air Current” and placing it into her Graveyard. Player B chains “Magic Jammer”. When “Magic Jammer” resolves, “Sanctuary in the Sky” is negated and destroyed. “Rising Air Current” remains in the Graveyard.

    If you have a Field Spell Card face-up in your Field Spell Card Zone and your opponent Sets a Field Spell Card, your Field Spell Card is not destroyed. If your opponent activates their Field Spell Card, your Field Spell Card is not immediately destroyed. If you negate the activation of your opponent’s Field Spell Card or destroy it before it resolves, your Field Spell Card will remain on the field.

    Example 1:
    Player A has “Necrovalley” face-up in his Field Spell Card Zone. Player B, activates “Wasteland”. Player A chains “Cursed Seal of the Forbidden Spell”. When the Chain resolves, “Cursed Seal of the Forbidden Spell” negates and destroys “Wasteland”. Player A’s “Necrovalley” remains face-up in her Field Spell Card Zone.

    Example 2:
    Player A has “Rising Air Current” face-up in his Field Spell Card Zone. Player B activates “Mystic Plasma Zone”. Player A chains “Mystical Space Typhoon” and targets “Mystic Plasma Zone”. When the Chain resolves, “Mystical Space Typhoon” destroys “Mystic Plasma Zone”. Player A’s “Rising Air Current” remains face-up in his Field Spell Card Zone.


    http://entertainment.upperdeck.com/community/forums/thread/1567025.aspx

Share This Page