1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Light and darkness dragon

Discussion in 'Rules Questions (YGO)' started by exiledforcefreak, Nov 4, 2007.

  1. Maruno

    Maruno Council of Heroes Staff Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Indeed. I won't bother thinking up an example, but the alternating putting effects on the Chain only happens for optional effects (activating cards yourself, etc.). Mandatory effects will force themselves in whenever they must, as always has been the case.
  2. Fiction

    Fiction New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tree Born Frog > LaDD

    When I read this card I believed the same thing that it's effect can only go on the chain once while I've read some Japanese rulings that say it can go on the chain multiple times. I really want to see what Upperdeck rules in the matter.

    But in the end Tree Born will be the ultimate downfall to LaDD.
  3. drzero7

    drzero7 New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    So, let me get this straight.

    LaDD can only activate once in a chain, and it's the start of the chain. (And thus Book of Moon, Enemy Controller, Matter Transporter is good)

    Continuous s/t, etc. that are already activated cannot be negated by LaDD.

    Continuous s/t, etc. that's activated after LaDD already on the field will be negated and destroyed by LaDD.

    Continuous Monster effects will not be negated or destroyed. (say Jinzo, Spirit Reaper and Marshmellions "invincible" effect will not be negated. But Spirit Reaper's discard effect or Marshmellon's burn effect will be negated)
  4. skey23

    skey23 Council of Heroes

    Trophy Points:
    0
    The only thing you have incorrect is saying that cards are destroyed when negated.

    The negation effect of "LaDD" does not destroy anything. It only negates.
  5. dark_clownz

    dark_clownz Block Head

    Trophy Points:
    0
    so they would sit on the field needlessly until they can be removed from some other form of removal card ie mst,dust tornado,heavy storm.am i correct?
  6. Digital Jedi

    Digital Jedi Administrator Staff Member

    Trophy Points:
    63
    No, they just sit on the field until the chain ends, then they go to the Graveyard. Just like when a Spell Card is negated when Imperial Order is chained to it. Just like when a Trap Card is activated and Royal Decree is chained to it.

    When a Spell or Trap Card is activated under regular circumstances, the card remains in on the field until the chain is fully resolved (or until something else removes it mid-chain). The only thing different from a regular chain in any of those scenarios I mentioned above is that the effect of the card is negated. The card still waits in the Spell/Trap Zone for the chain to fully resolve before going to the Graveyard.
  7. exiledforcefreak

    exiledforcefreak RIP Jacob KT 2/16/06

    Trophy Points:
    0
    LaDD has EVERYONE confused to a greater or lesser extent. Even level 3 judges.
  8. skey23

    skey23 Council of Heroes

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Um...no it doesn't....;)
  9. SoilentG

    SoilentG CoG iTrader

    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've got a Spell Card it can't negate: Spiritualism correct?
  10. krishna

    krishna CoG iTrader

    Trophy Points:
    0
    YAY! That is a fun concept.

    I've been wondering if LaDD would end up in high use. I read about Treeborn frog Vs LaDD a while back and I've been holding onto that piece of info for myself for a while. I love it. Although I dislike the frog. ^_^
  11. skey23

    skey23 Council of Heroes

    Trophy Points:
    0
    That is correct yes, but it will attempt to negate it anyway.
  12. Maruno

    Maruno Council of Heroes Staff Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    So does that mean:

    Light and Darkness Dragon's effect will chain itself to Spiritualism (as Chain Link 2). Upon resolution, Light and Darkness Dragon cannot negate Spiritualism, and so the effect does nothing (no negation, no ATK/DEF loss either). Chain Link 1, Spiritualism resolves just fine.

    ?
  13. Dillie-O

    Dillie-O Council of Heroes

    Trophy Points:
    36
    You've got it. Kind of funny how that works. 8^D

    Interestingly enough, LaDD appears to me to be a very powerful, but fragile card. If you have the right continuous spell/trap card out that can trigger several times, you can easily lower the power down to size and be done with things. I wonder though if LaDD will begin a rise in EEV as well. If the timing is right and you don't want to deal with LaDD anymore, you can tribute it away at the first activation since it is considered a DARK monster while face up.
  14. exiledforcefreak

    exiledforcefreak RIP Jacob KT 2/16/06

    Trophy Points:
    0
    when we are talking about treeborn frog, treeborn frog starts a chain, LaDD negates it. Then the owner of treeborn decides to use treeborn again and start an entirely different chain, to which LaDD will negate it again.

    Untill finally LaDD won't have the atk/def to negate treeborn and it will be special summoned successfully.

    There is a HUGE difference between negating multiple effects on the SAME chain and negating the first effect on SEPERATE chains.

Share This Page