1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Malfunction question

Discussion in 'Rules Questions (YGO)' started by skey23, Apr 12, 2006.

  1. skey23

    skey23 Council of Heroes

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is the Trap Card negated by "Malfunction" considered to have been set? Meaning, the opponent would not be able to activate that Trap Card again the turn it is negated by "Malfunction" correct?


    Thanks.
  2. djp952

    djp952 New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    My opinion is that since the activation was negated and then returned to it's original position, it's as if it was never activated at all and is still "set". There is some precedent for this with cards like [ycard="DB1-EN130"]Armed Ninja[/ycard], [ycard="SKE-028"]De-Spell[/ycard], etc, where as far as I know if a Trap or Quick-Play Spell Card was "returned to it's original position" it can still be activated later that turn.

    Just an opinion.
  3. skey23

    skey23 Council of Heroes

    Trophy Points:
    0
    My issue with those cards is they don't activate the card. All they do is let you look at them. Since they were never activated, they can still be activated later that same turn.
  4. djp952

    djp952 New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Good point :D

    This appears to be one of only 4 cards that "negate the activation" of a Spell/Trap and don't specifically state "and destroy it". The others are [ycard="SOI-EN059"]Goblin Out of the Frying Pan[/ycard], [ycard="DB1-EN097"]Big Shield Gardna[/ycard], and [ycard="TLM-EN024"]Mid Shield Gardna[/ycard]. Not much help there for parallel rulings, though.

    I'm still of the mindset that if you negate the activation of a Trap Card, it's as if you never activated it in the first place. The fact that it is not destroyed almost makes it seem like the effect is designed as a "rewind" mechanism.

    If that turns out not to be the case, would it be important to note that [ycard="SOI-EN060"]Malfunction[/ycard] does not include "and effect" in it? Hmmm... that could be interesting ...

    (OK, I'll go to bed now .. I'm just typing for the sake of typing here)
  5. skey23

    skey23 Council of Heroes

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, if, for some strange reason, it does allow for the Trap Card to be used again that same turn, the ONLY thing I can see "[ycard="SOI-EN060"]Malfunction[/ycard]" being good for would be to make certain Trap Cards miss their timing ("[ycard="YSD-EN037"]Sakuretsu Armor[/ycard]", "[ycard="DB2-EN081"]Mirror Force[/ycard]", etc...). That would be just stooopid IMHO...lol.
  6. Digital Jedi

    Digital Jedi Administrator Staff Member

    Trophy Points:
    63
    You mean, like [ycard="PSV-EN051"]Michizure[/ycard]?
  7. magnumcyclonex

    magnumcyclonex Virus!

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Think about it this way:

    During Player A's turn, Player B activates [ycard="SD4-EN028"]Gravity Bind[/ycard]. Player A activates [ycard="SOI-EN060"]Malfunction[/ycard] in a chain to negate and reset [ycard="SD4-EN028"]Gravity Bind[/ycard]. The resetting is akin to placing the trap card on the field. In the case of [ycard="SD4-EN028"]Gravity Bind[/ycard], it is flipped face down and is considered to have been set in that turn (Player A's turn). Player B cannot activate [ycard="SD4-EN028"]Gravity Bind[/ycard] until the next turn, i.e. Player B's turn.

    Edit: The [ycard="SOI-EN059"]Goblin Out of the Frying Pan[/ycard] may seem like a useless card, but it's actually quite an annoying and damaging card. Anyone want to take a stab at what I'm hinting at?
  8. skey23

    skey23 Council of Heroes

    Trophy Points:
    0
    But how sure of this are you?...lol
  9. magnumcyclonex

    magnumcyclonex Virus!

    Trophy Points:
    0
    If [ycard="SOI-EN060"]Malfunction[/ycard] really doesn't do anything to the basic mechanic of having to wait 1 turn before a trap can be activated, then it is a really weak counter trap (other than making some traps miss their proper activation windows). I would doubt Konami would make it so, but this should be asked in the Judges' list to make sure.
  10. skey23

    skey23 Council of Heroes

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, "[ycard="SOI-EN059"]Goblin Out of the Frying Pan[/ycard]" is pretty much useless...lol. And it came from the same set!...lol.
  11. slither

    slither Alex (1981 - 2008)<br />Slithery When Wet

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Would there be any sense if you could activate the trap card later that turn? IMO the card can't be activated that same turn, if not then, I would say that Malfuction would be the upmost useless card in all of the game.
  12. Tkwiget

    Tkwiget Da Twiggy Man!

    Trophy Points:
    0
    First off, [ycard="TLM-EN024"]Mid Shield Gardna[/ycard] and [ycard="DB1-EN097"]Big Shield Gardna[/ycard] don't need to "negate and destroy" a Spell card that targets them while face down. The nature of targetting effects that get negated simply will go to the Graveyard after they're done. There isn't any need to have the word "destroy" in their card text.

    [ycard="SOI-EN059"]Goblin Out of the Frying Pan[/ycard] is to counter Quick-Play cards. That's pretty much it.

    [ycard="SOI-EN060"]Malfunction[/ycard] resets Trap Cards that it negates. There isn't any reason why it shouldn't. Like others have said, having the Trap card that was negated be able to activate later in the turn wouldn't make any sense. Negation doesn't immediately undo the activation of a card, such as a trap, completely and consider it to never have activated in the first place. That isn't what negation is.

    [ycard="SOI-EN060"]Malfunction[/ycard] resets the Trap card and that Trap card can't activate during that turn, unless a card effect allows it.
  13. masterwoo0

    masterwoo0 NINJA4LIFE

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Both [ycard="TLM-EN024"]Mid Shield Gardna[/ycard] and [ycard="DB1-EN097"]Big Shield Gardna[/ycard] are Ignition Effects when it comes to negating Spells that target them face-down, so yes, you do NOT have to activate them if you have a better option on the field, or you just simply want them destroyed by your opponents effect.

    You need the word "Destroy" because not all effects are "activate and send to Graveyard at resolution". As an example, [ycard="SOD-EN043"]Ectoplasmer[/ycard] (not that it can target face-down)
  14. BenjaminMS

    BenjaminMS The Kozaky show

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just say: continuous effects w00o... Makes it easier.
  15. Tkwiget

    Tkwiget Da Twiggy Man!

    Trophy Points:
    0
    [ycard="SOD-EN043"]Ectoplasmer[/ycard] doesn't destroy anything. It "Tributes" a monster. A little different.
  16. masterwoo0

    masterwoo0 NINJA4LIFE

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, not all effects are Continuous, like [ycard="LOB-EN101"]Swords of Revealing Light[/ycard]. You can negate the effect, but not destroy it, so it will stay on the field if not destroyed.
  17. masterwoo0

    masterwoo0 NINJA4LIFE

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Think, "example", not scenario...
  18. Tkwiget

    Tkwiget Da Twiggy Man!

    Trophy Points:
    0
    The example wasn't very good to illustrate what you're getting at. [ycard="SOD-EN043"]Ectoplasmer[/ycard] never has destroyed anything ever. It Tributes monsters. It isn't a scenario when the card itself disagrees with what you're mentioning it for.

    [ycard="LOB-EN101"]Swords of Revealing Light[/ycard] was a better "example."

    Because with cards like [ycard="PSV-EN104"]Imperial Order[/ycard] and [ycard="DR1-EN075"]Spell Canceller[/ycard], it works for what you're trying to explain.
  19. masterwoo0

    masterwoo0 NINJA4LIFE

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Im talking about cards that target and effects that negate a card that targets what happens to be a Continuous Spell Card, versus a Normal Spell Card.

    This isnt about a Spell Card that destroys. Its about showing why you have an effect that negates and destroys, instead of just negate.

    This is what I'm referring too

  20. Tkwiget

    Tkwiget Da Twiggy Man!

    Trophy Points:
    0
    You weren't very clear on that. If you were, I didn't see it.

    I don't think I get what your saying anyway. @_@

Share This Page