1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mind Crush Question

Discussion in 'Rules Questions (YGO)' started by John Galt, May 9, 2005.

  1. John Galt

    John Galt New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Unless an opponent discards 3 copies of a card that from his hand for mind crush's effect, may I always check his hand for the resolution of the effect?

    Other exceptions are ofcourse Restriced cards, Limited cards, card copies that are already in the graveyard and/or removed from play.
  2. masterwoo0

    masterwoo0 NINJA4LIFE

    Trophy Points:
    36
    This is a "one use" effect. The turn you use it on is the only time it may affect your opponent.
  3. abaddon

    abaddon New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    when you active the card you look at your opents hand alrdy hand you can active it even if you know they don't have that card, (like callin a needle worm when there playing a water deck), also the only time you see there hand is when you active that card not anyother time durig that turn
  4. John Galt

    John Galt New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Looks like my question was misunderstood.

    Ok, lets say that my opponent had a Sangan on the field that was destroyed, send to the graveyard and my opponent retrieves a magician of faith from his deck.

    I activate Mind Crush and my opponent discards magician of faith. Now the possibility is there that my opponent has an additional magician of faith in his hand. So, am I allowed to look at his hand to verify that all magicians of faith in his hand have been discarded?

    Follow up to this question:

    I am about to make a big play but I want to know that my opponent wont counter it from his hand next turn and I want a free look at his hand, even it means discarding a card from my hand. I activate Mind Crush and call some random card. Can I look at his hand to verify?
  5. skey23

    skey23 Council of Heroes

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, you are allowed to check your opponent's hand to verify they did indeed discard all copies of the declared card.

    As underhanded and UNSPORTSMAN as this is, it is not 'illegal' to do. It is HIGHLY frowned upon though.
  6. masterwoo0

    masterwoo0 NINJA4LIFE

    Trophy Points:
    36
    Its not Unsportsmanlike to use all means available to gain advantage over your opponent, outside of outright cheating. It comes with a cost just like Confiscation (if you guess wrong).

    It's not illegal, and its no different than what people "used to illegally do " when they would call a card that wasnt on the field for Tribe's effect to put a card in the Graveyard.
  7. John Galt

    John Galt New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thx for the answers, guys.

    Actually, masterw00, u do have to have an eligible type on the field for TIV's effect.

    Thx for the backup, though, haha.
  8. densetsu_x

    densetsu_x .

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes. You cannot arbitrarily activate the effect and call a type that is not face up on the field during TIVs activation.
  9. squid

    squid removed from play

    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think that's what masterwoo0 was saying when he wrote that. Yes, it is illegal, but there were players who used to do that (and occasionally still try to do), before the ruling was confirmed.
  10. masterwoo0

    masterwoo0 NINJA4LIFE

    Trophy Points:
    36
    I know you have to have an eligible type. That's why I said people "used to" try discarding for Tribes effect by calling a non-monster type on the field.
  11. John Galt

    John Galt New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh ok. My mistake. =/
  12. Kenjiblade

    Kenjiblade New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Incidentally, "Mind Crush" only allows you to check the opponent's hand for verification if they discard no cards.

    Example: You activate "Mind Crush" and declare "Smashing Ground", and the opponent discards 1 "Smashing Ground" from their hand. You do not get to see the opponent's hand in this case. If you really have suspicions, you can get a judge to verify for you.

    However, if you declare "Smashing Ground" and the opponent doesn't discard anything, in this case you can check their hand to verify this.

    Here's a quote from the Specific Card Questions and Answers FAQ at UDE's site to confirm this:

  13. Manta

    Manta New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    However, since they have to discard all of the named card, surely you must check their hand to see if they truly have done so. The quote says when you may check your opponent's hand, but it doesn't say when you can't.
  14. skey23

    skey23 Council of Heroes

    Trophy Points:
    0
    The 'Gods' have spoken, so shall it be...

    You can ONLY check your opponent's hand when they DON'T discard anything.

    So John Galt's little 'ruse' play just got 'official' support....wow.
  15. Digital Jedi

    Digital Jedi Administrator Staff Member

    Trophy Points:
    63
    That's just confusing.

    What would make it so that I couldn't check my opponent's hand if he discards one. Obviously you could get a judge to verify for you. But that strikes me as a waste of the judeges time. That would be like me getting a judge to check what card was selected with [ycard="SYE-018"]Sangan[/ycard]'s effect. I guess what I'm saying is, if in one instance I can check what would possibly make it any more or less unfair in the other instance?

Share This Page