1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

monsters equipped and opp control, does the equip card also taken?

Discussion in 'Rules Questions (YGO)' started by kifoghorn, Mar 26, 2007.

  1. kifoghorn

    kifoghorn Member

    Trophy Points:
    6
    when the opponent takes control of your monster that is equipped, does the equip card goes to or dies?

    example1

    You have relinquished out on the field with a monster equipped to it, its atk/def ie 1000/2000.

    The opponent uses mmm brian control, to take control of relinquished.

    When relinquished is on opponents side of field, does it have 1000/2000 atk/def or des the monster dies?

    example2

    You have sabersaurus 1900atk out equipped with malevolent nuzzler +700atk.

    Opponent takes control of it, does sabersaurus have 2600 atk or is the equipped card dead?
  2. densetsu_x

    densetsu_x .

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nope. The equip card stays where it is (on your side of the field) with whatever bonuses/penalties/effects attached with it when it's taken over.

    Now if Relinquished/Thousand-Eyes Restrict/Allure Queen LVx takes control of a monster, that monster becomes an equip and as such any equips that were on it are destroyed (because the monster is temporarily not considered a monster anymore).
  3. Digital Jedi

    Digital Jedi Administrator Staff Member

    Trophy Points:
    63
    Treat the Equipped Monster just like any other Equip Spell or Trap Card. As long as whatever transformed it into an equip is still in effect, then it's going to stay right where it is in the Spell/Trap Zones, and still equipped to the monster granting it whatever advantage it grants it. And just like normal equips, they don't change control when their target monster change control.
  4. kifoghorn

    kifoghorn Member

    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ok! I think I understand. The equip effect is still attached to the monster.

    So in example1; relinquished on opponents side of field, still has 1000/2000 atk/def

    and in example2; sabersaurus still has 2600 atk.
  5. Digital Jedi

    Digital Jedi Administrator Staff Member

    Trophy Points:
    63
    That's right. Your opponent gets the monsters, but not the Equips, even though he'll be getting the benefits of those equips. But the equips are still under your control. To date, we don't have a way taking control of cards in your opponent's Spell/Trap Zones.
  6. kifoghorn

    kifoghorn Member

    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ok! thanks for that. Was kinda hoping the equip cards would be destoryed or at least the effects stop. :-:

    Not good if the only monster on your side is relinquished with opps high monster and you about to win game by attacking life points... and opp pulls out a controller and takes him/her :redface


    What good is the equip card in your control? :huh
  7. Digital Jedi

    Digital Jedi Administrator Staff Member

    Trophy Points:
    63
    To a degree, you can strategize around that. Granted, it will sometimes work to your disadvantage. But depending on the equip and the circumstances, sometimes taking control of your equipped monster is the worst thing he could do.
  8. kifoghorn

    kifoghorn Member

    Trophy Points:
    6
    Yea, only situation I can think of is with megamorph :)
  9. Entropy

    Entropy Deus Ex Machina

    Trophy Points:
    0
    And Fairy Meteor Crush.

Share This Page