1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Power Bond vs De-Fusion

Discussion in 'Rules Questions (YGO)' started by OKShadow, Feb 24, 2006.

  1. OKShadow

    OKShadow OKC's Dark Duelist

    Trophy Points:
    0
    This may be a silly question but it references a play in the new series.

    If De-Fusion is used for a Fusion summoned by Power Bond, does the damage effect of Power Bond still exist or does it disappear?

    Zane vs Camula episode showed Zane summoning Cyber End Dragon with Power Bond and when its attack gets "drained" by Camula's trap, he uses De-Fusion in response to "cancel" the attack and split back into 3 Cyber Dragons.

    (At that point he could have finished her off with the three individual Cyber Dragon attacks, but of course the storyline would be altered and the episode would be awful short. LOL)
  2. Tiso

    Tiso Calculative Duelist

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Never trust what the show does according to what the TCG does. In one of the rulings of [ycard="CRV-EN037"]Power Bond[/ycard] there is a ruling stating that you still take damage. Then are of course ways around this with Cyber Giraffe coming out in EOJ and there is Pikeru's Enchantment Circle.
  3. OKShadow

    OKShadow OKC's Dark Duelist

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Still it was something that was never brought up before and thought I should have it cleared in case other kids who watch the show try to state the damage gets cancelled. After all the show does follow the rules in general a LOT better than the original series did.
  4. slither

    slither Alex (1981 - 2008)<br />Slithery When Wet

    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can also try out [ycard="TLM-EN031"]Des Wombat[/ycard].
  5. HorusMaster

    HorusMaster New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Card text: During the End Phase of this turn, the player who activated this card takes damage equal to the original ATK of the Special Summoned monster.

    Ruling #4: Even if the Fusion Monster is removed from the field or flipped face-down, you cannot negate the effect of "[ycard="CRV-EN037"]Power Bond[/ycard]" and the player will still take damage equal to the original ATK.

    I guess the show and the rulings by UDE are different. It seems regardless of whether you use [ycard="LON-EN097"]De-Fusion[/ycard] or not, the effect of [ycard="CRV-EN037"]Power Bond[/ycard] is lingering and the player still takes damage. But as stated, if [ycard="TLM-EN031"]Des Wombat[/ycard] is on the field, the player takes no damage from the effect of [ycard="CRV-EN037"]Power Bond[/ycard].
  6. SilentSwordsmaster

    SilentSwordsmaster Spawn of Apocalypse

    Trophy Points:
    0
    but 9 times out of 10 you wouldve won the duel by using the 3 [ycard="CRV-EN015"]Cyber Dragon[/ycard]s

    but [ycard="CRV-EN037"]Power Bond[/ycard] with cyber end and a [ycard="PGD-095"]Barrel Behind the Door[/ycard] is highly amusing
  7. Tiso

    Tiso Calculative Duelist

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Amusing in the fact that it does not work with [ycard="PGD-095"]Barrel Behind the Door[/ycard] amusing?
  8. SilentSwordsmaster

    SilentSwordsmaster Spawn of Apocalypse

    Trophy Points:
    0
    IVE BEEN HUMBLED....again -_- pfft

    :eek:jama_yel wait it doesnt....no one told me this....ahhh my ego...goes to read rules.... :broken_je
  9. SilentSwordsmaster

    SilentSwordsmaster Spawn of Apocalypse

    Trophy Points:
    0
    oh now i see it..and all this time no one corrected me on that......i need to get out of georgia people do it down her all the time
  10. Tiso

    Tiso Calculative Duelist

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Because most people are unaware that there exists rulings on the web. Not their fault really unless they just flat out refuse to abide by them. Konami needs more of a conscience effort to inform the players, seeing how half are little kids while the other half are old teens to adults who stuck with the game since day 1.
  11. OKShadow

    OKShadow OKC's Dark Duelist

    Trophy Points:
    0
    [ycard="PGD-095"]Barrel Behind the Door[/ycard] doesn't work for [ycard="CRV-EN037"]Power Bond[/ycard] same reason it does not work for [ycard="DR1-EN095"]Wave-Motion Cannon[/ycard]. It's not a card activation for damage that Barrel needs, it's the "lingering" effect of them that causes the damage. That's my explanation that makes the most sense to me.
  12. slither

    slither Alex (1981 - 2008)<br />Slithery When Wet

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well Wave Motion Cannon has no lingering effect at all, BBtD can't be used on continous cards so it won't work with Wave Motion.

    It won't work with [ycard="CRV-EN037"]Power Bond[/ycard] because, BBtD being a Counter Trap has to be activated in direct response to the card, and since [ycard="CRV-EN037"]Power Bond[/ycard] does not inflict damage at that moment it simply cannot be activated.
  13. OKShadow

    OKShadow OKC's Dark Duelist

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Still the underlying basis is the same... the card is activated causing no damage at that moment, until some point later as specified on the card. BBtD only responds to damage caused upon activation of a card or specified monster ignition effect or triggered ability.
  14. SilentSwordsmaster

    SilentSwordsmaster Spawn of Apocalypse

    Trophy Points:
    0
    i swear i should start takeing over our tournies in GA

    but yeah the whole thing makes sense to me after i read the rulings over

Share This Page