1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Scapegoat and Thousand-Eyes Restrict

Discussion in 'Rules Questions (YGO)' started by Inuyasha_Riku, Jul 7, 2005.

  1. Inuyasha_Riku

    Inuyasha_Riku the drumming duelist

    Trophy Points:
    0
    question: is it legal for Thousand-Eyes Restrict to "suck up" a scapegoat? if so, what would happen?
  2. John Danker

    John Danker Administrator

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thosand Eyes Restrict may indeed equip itself with a sheep token. The token just then becomes an equip spell token. When TER is destroyed or the equip token is destroyed it dissappears the same as if it where a monster token.
  3. Digital Jedi

    Digital Jedi Administrator Staff Member

    Trophy Points:
    63
    A Monster Token is for all intents and purposes a Normal Monster Card for as long as it is on the field and therfore a perfectly legal target. All that will happen is it will become an Equip Spell Card if "sucked up" with [ycard="DB1-EN195"]Thousand-Eyes Restrict[/ycard] or [ycard="MC1-EN003"]Relinquished[/ycard]. Check the ruling for [ycard="DR1-EN203"]Token Thanksgiving[/ycard]:

    "[ycard="DR1-EN203"]Token Thanksgiving[/ycard]" will destroy a Monster Token equipped to "[ycard="MC1-EN003"]Relinquished[/ycard]".

    So officially it can happen. But it's still considered a token and an Equip Spell Card.
  4. Dan the Homunculus Man

    Dan the Homunculus Man New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Umm.. I don't believe the monster card equipped to TER becomes an equip SPELL card, rather it becomes an equip MONSTER card. I believe that is the new ruling for TER otherwise the equip would be cancelled out with Spell Cancellor on the field.
  5. Digital Jedi

    Digital Jedi Administrator Staff Member

    Trophy Points:
    63
    As has been stated before, the there is no such thing as an "Equip Monster Card." There are only two types of Equip Cards in the game. Equip Spell Cards and Equip Trap Cards. Monsters transformed to Equip Cards default to Spell. And Trap cards that become Equip Cards remain Traps, but now become Equip Traps Cards, now subject to the rules that an equip is subject to.

    [ycard="MFC-020"]Spell Canceller[/ycard] cannot negate the Equip Spell Card that [ycard="MC1-EN003"]Relinquished[/ycard] and [ycard="DB1-EN195"]Thousand-Eyes Restrict[/ycard] create becasue it has no effect. It is the effect of [ycard="MC1-EN003"]Relinquished[/ycard] and TER that determine thier own ATK and DEF based on the monster they "absorbed", not the Equip Card itself.

    The equipped card has no effect to negate. Its just an Equip Spell Card doing nothing. TER and [ycard="MC1-EN003"]Relinquished[/ycard] are doing all the work.

Share This Page