1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Spear Cretin's effect when attacked

Discussion in 'Rules Questions (YGO)' started by YataGirl, Jul 13, 2005.

  1. YataGirl

    YataGirl New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does Spear Cretin get its effect when it is attacked face down and sent to the Graveyard?

    I have a number of respected players say that it dies and goes to the grave before it gets its flip effect. If I read the article about effect monsters correctly, flip effects are trigger effects and trigger effects last on the field, even after the monster goes to the grave. Please help this dumb blonds confussion. Thanks ~ Yata Girl ~
  2. i am cao pi

    i am cao pi you gotta duel on

    Trophy Points:
    0
    wow!!!!!!! a girl goes here?sweet uh oh sorry got distracted, basically [ycard="SRL-EN087"]Spear Cretin[/ycard] doesn't need to be on the field because it doesn't target itself for it's effect you just can't target the [ycard="SRL-EN087"]Spear Cretin[/ycard].some monsters need to be on the field like [ycard="FET-EN034"]Brain Jacker[/ycard] because they need to be on the field to work.
  3. YataGirl

    YataGirl New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you so kindly for the quick response. I guess even dumb blonds can get lucky and get one right occationaly....giggles. And yes, there are a few of us of the softer sex, who are geaks too......giggles.....naw, just kidding on the geak thingy. Hugs and kisses to all......... ~ Yata Girl ~
  4. nkarunatilaka

    nkarunatilaka The Syndicate...

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah 'i am cao pi; is correct. Spear Creatin's effect may be a flip, but its effect activates when it is sent to the graveyard; so yeah just thought i might through that in. ;) lol
    -n
  5. miiaah

    miiaah New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nah ! There's no gals on the internet ! ;)
    Seriously, nicknames prevent from guessing which one is a girl. But they're here. I am ! And that kind of machism can be taken as an offense.

    Back to the topic. Flip effects activate during the damage step. [ycard="SRL-EN087"]Spear Cretin[/ycard] is considered "destroyed in battle" but is not sent to the graveyard yet. At the end of damage step, when it is sent to the graveyard, you get its effect.
  6. Fuzzman

    Fuzzman Unleash the Beast

    Trophy Points:
    0
    "FLIP: After this card is flipped, when it is sent to the Graveyard, both you and your opponent select 1 monster from your respective Graveyards and Special Summon it on the field in face-up Attack Position or face-down Defense Position (no Tribute is required for monsters of Level 5 or more). "

    See how people made the mistake though. this text can be confusing. Interesting starting line.
  7. SPK

    SPK idle mc...

    Trophy Points:
    0
    ..it still hasn't been properly clarified yet with ur posts though, does [ycard="SRL-EN087"]Spear Cretin[/ycard] still get its effect when attacked while f/d?

    If it does...well....*arms 2 more copies of it into my deck-out deck :)*
  8. skey23

    skey23 Council of Heroes

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, it's effect will activate if it is attacked while face-down. Even though the card is considered destroyed as a result of battle, it still hasn't been sent to the Graveyard when it's flip effect is activated during the damage step.

    Hope this helps.
  9. EDVix2004

    EDVix2004 New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, so the whole deal about battle makes total sense. My friends and I have played like that all along. Where my question comes in is back in the wording.

    "Flip: After this card is flipped face up...."

    Does this mean, that unlike most flip effects, that Spear Cretin's effect would even trigger in the graveyard if it was flipped as per a card that stops flip effects from happening like Ceasefire? Or since Ceasefire stops flip effects, would the whole effect not trigger, and thus, not happen in the graveyard?
  10. EmeraldDragon

    EmeraldDragon Bringer of Doom

    Trophy Points:
    36
    his effect activates when he is flipped and if done so in battle is kinda left hanging until the resolve effects portion of the damage step. It activates while its still on the field. Is that whats confusing you?

    So long story short since its effect activates on the field as per every flip effect then removing it just after ceasefire resolves (if thats what ya wanna try to do cos its what I seem to be getting from ya) will do nothing to help ya.

Share This Page