1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Strike Ninja, Snatch Steal, Change of Heart

Discussion in 'Rules Questions (YGO)' started by frostmonarch, Feb 22, 2005.

  1. frostmonarch

    frostmonarch New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    If I use Snatch Steal and successfully take my opponent's Strike Ninja, and then I use the Strike Ninja's effect, thus destroying Snatch Steal, would the Strike Ninja come back to my side of the field at the end of the turn and remain there or would it be returned to my opponent.

    I have the same question if I use Change of Heart on my opponent's Strike Ninja.


    Thanks
    Frostmonarch
  2. John Danker

    John Danker Administrator

    Trophy Points:
    0
    A serch in the rulings archives yielded this post....

    Ok suppose this is the scenario:
    Player A has [Strike Ninja]
    On Player B's turn he plays [snatch steal] on Strike Ninja (Player A
    lets it happen for any number of reasons, not enough darks, doesn't
    want to remove them, etc)
    On Player A's turn he plays [raigeki].
    In response Player B uses Strike Ninja's ability to remove it from
    play until the end of the turn, removing 2 dark monsters from his
    graveyard. I assume this is a cost.
    In chain, Player A activates [mystical space typhoon] targetting the
    snatch steal.


    If I were to go through this myself my impression would be:

    Strike Ninja returns to player's A side of the field as a result of no longer being under the effect of snatch steal.
    Player B paid for the cost of Strike Ninja's ability so it is removed from play still and will return to player A's side of the field at the end of the turn.
    Then raigeki resolves destroying any remaining monster's on player B's side of the field.

    Is this a correct resolution?

    Also a slightly different scenario, Player B has snatch steal on Player A's Strike Ninja again. If player B used the effect of Strike Ninja, would snatch steal go to the grave as a result of no target and Strike Ninja returns to Player B again at the end of the turn? Or to player A? Thanks for the help.





    Answer:

    Your resolution is 100% correct.

    As for the remaining scenario, "Strike Ninja" would return to Player B's side of the field and then return to its previous controller, Player A. (This is similar to the ruling for Interdimensional Matter Transporter used on a monster equipped with Snatch Steal)

    ---------------------------------
    Curtis Schultz
    Official UDE Netrepâ„¢
    CurtisSchultz_netrep@hotmail.com
  3. John Danker

    John Danker Administrator

    Trophy Points:
    0
    As Curtis referred to Interdimensional Transporter lets take a look at what it says about Snatch Steal & Change of Heart. The same would be applicable with Strike Ninja.

    From the FAQ on Interdimensional Transporter...

    If you control your opponent's monster because of "Change of Heart" or "Snatch Steal", and remove the monster with "Interdimensional Matter Transporter", the monster returns to your side of the field, then immediately returns to your opponent's side of the field.
  4. frostmonarch

    frostmonarch New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks! That explains a lot.

    Can you take a look at my magical scientist question in the previous thread? I am getting mixed answers about it from my peers here and the thread online.
    Thanks
  5. DimensionalWarrior

    DimensionalWarrior New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    question

    If you activate strike ninja's effect when it's control shifted, to whose RFP zone goes? (This is in case you want to use return from the D.D.) :D
  6. Raigekick

    Raigekick New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's who ever activated his Multi-Trigger Effect. So, if your opponent took control of your Strike Ninja and he activates his effect, then its his monsters that will be RFP.
  7. Dlanaan

    Dlanaan New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    It should go to the owner's Removed from Play area. The RFP is extremely similar to the Graveyard. I do not see why removing a card from play (even temporarily) would make this any different.
  8. Raigekick

    Raigekick New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh, sorry, I thought the question was which monsters on who's Graveyard will have to be RFP as a cost to activate Strike Ninja's effect.
  9. masterwoo0

    masterwoo0 NINJA4LIFE

    Trophy Points:
    36
    Mostly because its considered "your" monster when its removed, so you would remove from your side of the field, to your rfp.

    The effect would be reset once it returns as it is no longer bound by any effect that was used prior to it being removed from play.

    Because the effect still tells you to return the monster to the field during the End Phase of the turn, it would hit your field first, then realize that its effects have been reset and that it is no longer under the control of the Controller of Snatch Steal, and return to the original owners side.
  10. Dlanaan

    Dlanaan New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    By that logic, though, a monster that is on your side of the field that is owned by your opponent should go to your graveyard when it is destroyed or sent to the Graveyard. It doesn't. I am inclined to think that monsters that are removed from play always go to the owner's RFP area, irregardless of control of the monster.

    Generally speaking, you can only control a monster on the field unless an effect specifically states otherwise (Exchange, Parasite Paracide, etc.), but even then the game is pretty clear that it is not your monster (You can't search for an opponent's Parasite Paracide with Witch of the Black Forest for example).

    Additionally, this would set an odd precedent if you consider Banisher of the Light. If you control a monster that you do not own while Banisher is on the field and it would be sent to the Graveyard, by the logic given, it would go to your RFP, which does not make any sense.
  11. densetsu_x

    densetsu_x .

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well the game logic also says that when it returns, it returns to your side of the field before being passed back to your opponent. That would imply that you still control it. I think the difference is that that with the effect of "Strike Ninja" or a card effect like "Dimensionhole" or "Interdimensional Matter Transporter", it's only temporarily removed from play and that you still "control" it by the effect of "Snatch Steal" or "Change of Heart" until it comes back to the field. This is different than when something is sent to the graveyard or when something is removed by "Banisher of the Light" since in those cases the card is either destroyed/supposed to be sent to the graveyard in which case it goes back to the owner at that time.

Share This Page