1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.


Discussion in 'Rules Questions (YGO)' started by Ledah, Jun 13, 2008.

  1. Ledah

    Ledah New Member

    Trophy Points:
    Just wondering...

    How do I know that a card targets?


    Just wondering because Dimensional Prison* doesn't have any rulings, and Sakuretsu armor does target.

    And last question... would a continuous effect like ordeal of a traveler targets?

    Dimensional Prison:
    Activate only when your opponent declares an attack. Remove from play the attacking monster.

    Activate only when your opponent's monster declares an attack. Destroy the attacking monster.

    You can only activate this card's effect when your opponent declares an attack. Your opponent selects 1 random card in your hand and calls the type of the card (Monster, Spell, or Trap). If your opponent calls it wrong, the attacking monster is returned to its owner's hand.
  2. Maruno

    Maruno Council of Heroes Staff Member

    Trophy Points:
    Dimensional Prison does target. See here for a very quick confirmation of this ruling.

    At the moment there's no specific way to tell whether a card targets or not. Mostly it's down to "does it say 'select' in its text?" or "does it affect one or more monsters specifically, and during resolution?". Some are defined to target (or not target) just because Konami says so (like Negate Attack, the only Counter Trap Card that targets).

    Ordeal of a Traveller does not target, to the best of my knowledge. It's because the hand is a single entity, which can contain any number of cards, while cards on the field are each entities themselves. You can't target part of an entity. The Deck is another example of an entity, which is why you can't target cards in the Deck. As I recall, though. I may be making things up here.

    Ordeal of a Traveller also does not target the attacking monster. What "the attacking monster" is is defined already, by game mechanics, and the act of targeting is so that a particular card can be defined as the object of an effect. But since "the attacking monster" is already defined, it doesn't need to be targeted, because it's already been defined as an object. This reasoning also applies to Dimensional Prison/Sakuretsu Armor/similar cards.
  3. Lord Sesshoumaru

    Lord Sesshoumaru New Member

    Trophy Points:
    Targeting in YGO Terminology is to select a card(s) at the time of activation. If you select a card at the time of resolution of the effect, then that doesn't count as targeting!

    Thats y Smashing Ground, Fissure etc.. don't target, since you select the monster(if the atk/def are same for two or more) during its resolution!.

    In case of Soul Exchange, Pot of Avarice etc.. or Harpie's Hunting Ground, you select the card(s) at the time of activation of the effect.

    Sakuretsu Armor as well as Dimension Prison Target as you have to select the Monster at the time of activation. In case or Ordeal, the effect of Ordeal itself takes care of the attacking Monster and hence doesn't target

    ~ Lord Sesshoumaru
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2008
  4. Ledah

    Ledah New Member

    Trophy Points:

    Makes sense


Share This Page