1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Vampire Genesis vs. Bottomless

Discussion in 'Rules Questions (YGO)' started by -Xe0-, Sep 27, 2005.

  1. -Xe0-

    -Xe0- New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,
    I found this question and wasn´t sure how the right answer would be:
    Player A summons his [ycard="SD2-EN001"]Vampire Genesis[/ycard]. He calls priority to use the effect, discards a monster and set as target a [ycard="SD2-EN008"]Ryu Kokki[/ycard] in his graveyard. Now Player B reponses to the summon with a Bottomless Traphole. So VG´s effect is chainlink 1 and Bottomless is chainlink 2.
    So the question was if both monsters (VG and Kokki) are removed from play according to some rules in the registry (like the ruling with Reborn ans [ycard="SDK-050"]Ultimate Offering[/ycard].) or just the VG? I´m not sure about this so i´m asking here for help!
    thx for reply
    greetz
    Xe0
  2. skey23

    skey23 Council of Heroes

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Resolve the effects in reverse order.

    "[ycard="DB2-EN201"]Bottomless Trap Hole[/ycard]" resolves, removing "[ycard="SD2-EN001"]Vampire Genesis[/ycard]" from play.
    Then "[ycard="SD2-EN001"]Vampire Genesis[/ycard]" effect resolves and Special Summons the selected Zombie monster.

    "[ycard="DB2-EN201"]Bottomless Trap Hole[/ycard]" can't remove the newly summoned monster because it has already resolved.

    Hope this helps.
  3. Digital Jedi

    Digital Jedi Administrator Staff Member

    Trophy Points:
    63
    I noticed just yesterday the ruling in the Card Registry:

    If the opponent activates "[ycard="SDK-036"]Monster Reborn[/ycard]" and then chains "[ycard="SD3-EN028"]Call of the Haunted[/ycard]" (so that 2 monsters are Summoned in the same chain), and then you activate "[ycard="DB2-EN201"]Bottomless Trap Hole[/ycard]" after that chain resolves only the monster Summoned by chain link 1 ("[ycard="SDK-036"]Monster Reborn[/ycard]") is removed from play.

    Wasn't it just a few weeks ago that a monster summoned within the same chain link as Bottomless would be destroyed? When did they change it? And why didn't they say something? Or did I miss it during my Disney trip?
  4. -Xe0-

    -Xe0- New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok i´m glad with this. I wasn´t sure cause of the different rulings in the registry.
    thx for this help ^^
    greetz
    Xe0
  5. DaGuyWitBluGlasses

    DaGuyWitBluGlasses New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    When [ycard="DB2-EN201"]Bottomless Trap Hole[/ycard] resolves it will destroy and remove from play monsters (with 1500+ ATK) that were summoned by the opponent in the same chain as [ycard="DB2-EN201"]Bottomless Trap Hole[/ycard].

    So if [ycard="SD3-EN028"]Call of the Haunted[/ycard] were chained to Bottomlees [ycard="SDJ-043"]Trap Hole[/ycard] the monster summoned would be subject to it.
  6. skey23

    skey23 Council of Heroes

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ahh..so in the 1st example, "[ycard="DB2-EN201"]Bottomless Trap Hole[/ycard]" was activated in response to the last monster being summoned, so it would only remove THAT monster.

    And in the second example, the monsters were Special Summoned in a chain with the activation of "[ycard="DB2-EN201"]Bottomless Trap Hole[/ycard]", and subject to being removed when "BTH" resolves.

    Ok, I think I've got it down now.
  7. Digital Jedi

    Digital Jedi Administrator Staff Member

    Trophy Points:
    63
    Yeesh, THAT's someting Kevin should have claified in his original post. I'll never understand why answers from the Judges List are never more then a couple of sentences. I realize they don;t want to make mistakes. but clarification is never a bad thing. Lack of information could be considered a "sin of omission" as it were.

Share This Page