1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Weird call of the tournament

Discussion in 'Rules Questions (YGO)' started by John Danker, Mar 7, 2005.

  1. John Danker

    John Danker Administrator

    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just thought I'd start posting the weirdest rulings call I'm asked to make each tournament for fun.

    Des Moines Regional last Sat.

    Player 1 special summons Thousand Eyes Restrict and absorbs Player 2's face down monster, ends turn.

    Player 2 draws and sets a monsters, ends turn.

    Player 1 draws and in main phase 1 activates Nobleman of Extermination on the face down eqip. to his own Thousand Eyes Restrict.

    If you want me to tell you how I ruled it I'd be happy to but it's not the intention of this thread. What I want to do is present scenarios to you to rule, on the spot, without looking them up.

    It never fails, you always seem to run into at least one scenario you haven't seen before no matter how long you've been judging!
  2. BURN

    BURN New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    I thought once the monster was equiped to Thousand Eyes it was considered like an equip spell card. Since the card is equiped to Thousand Eyes it is just like an face up equip spell card. So he could not use Nobleman of Extermination on the card.
  3. John Danker

    John Danker Administrator

    Trophy Points:
    0
    <throwing fuel on the fire for fun> If it were face up would it not change the atk / def of Thousand Eyes Restrict?

    Is the card equip. to TER literally face down? Is it considered a Spell/Trap?
  4. masterwoo0

    masterwoo0 NINJA4LIFE

    Trophy Points:
    36
    I would rule that the card was targeted as a Spell Card and would be removed from play.
  5. BURN

    BURN New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would think that it would be considered like a face up equip card and be place in the S/T zone.
  6. BURN

    BURN New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nobleman of Extermination can be used on face down S/T cards. You can not equip a face down S/T card do any monster. So the card would be face down but be considered to be a face up equip card.
  7. masterwoo0

    masterwoo0 NINJA4LIFE

    Trophy Points:
    36
    In the case of Relinquished and Thousand-Eyes Restrict, they only absorb the card regardless of if it is face-up or face-down, and take the attack/defense stats of the card absorbed. Since a face-down monster has no stats, you count it as 0/0.

    The abosrbed monster is "considered" to be a Equip Spell Card, again, regardless of if it is face-up or down. This is pretty much the exception and not the rule.
  8. skey23

    skey23 Council of Heroes

    Trophy Points:
    0
    If I were to rule on this, I would say that it was an illegal activation of 'Nobleman of Extermination' since you can't have an equip card equipped to a monster AND be face down.

    The fact that TER is equipped with a monster that is treated as an equip spell card implies (by game mechanics) the monster (even if face-down) is still treated as a face-up equip spell card and is NOT a legal target for 'Nobleman of Extermination'.
  9. DimensionalWarrior

    DimensionalWarrior New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    The Monster equipped to TER becomes an Equip Spell Card. However, that spell does not have an effect and is considered to be Face Up. More or less like when TER takes a monster, the cards becomes something like this:
    ______
    | ATK | And it equips to TER. If the monster is face-down, it would say
    | 200 | Atk 0 Def 0.
    | DEF |
    |_100 |

    :D well, I would say that you can't activate either Nobleman on
    the card
  10. daivahataka

    daivahataka Gold Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'd also have to say that the fact that the card's equipped to TER would mean that as a spell card it has been flipped face up and revealed as an equip card, it just has no bonus to the monster it's equipped to. Since it's "face up" in this sense (even though the card itself is face down) Nobleman of Extermination can not be used on it. Nobleman of Extermination's activation and effect is based upon the principle of not knowing what the card selected is, it's a face down card because you don't know if it's a spell or trap, let alone the nature of spell/trap that it is, whereas here you know that it's a equip card.
  11. John Danker

    John Danker Administrator

    Trophy Points:
    0
    According to the AARJ 1.2 it could be destroyed by Nobleman of Extermination.

    Now the question is where did AARJ get the ruling?
  12. skey23

    skey23 Council of Heroes

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok John, we all seem to be in agreement here.

    So......what was YOUR ruling on this scenario??
  13. kingpinopie

    kingpinopie Himoura Shinta

    Trophy Points:
    38
    Well, since you cannot equip a Spell card to a monster if it is FACE DOWN, i would treat it as Faceup... (Treated)... since the monster if face down, the boost to ATK and DEF is ZERO (0).... but since an equip spell cannot be equipped while face down, it is an illegal target for Extermination.
  14. daivahataka

    daivahataka Gold Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    :eek: Kinda horrified with that, wonder where they came up with that decision.
  15. DimensionalWarrior

    DimensionalWarrior New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    Me too!
    BTW daivahataka, I HEART your dancing Gir! :D
  16. skey23

    skey23 Council of Heroes

    Trophy Points:
    0
    The ONLY thing I can think of would be that 'Relinquished' and 'TER' have some sort of 'exclusion' clause with their effect that allows the equipped monster to actually BE a face down Equip Spell Card.

    Anybody else?
  17. masterwoo0

    masterwoo0 NINJA4LIFE

    Trophy Points:
    36
    Maybe you guys are missing the point....

    It is only considered to be an Equip Spell Card. Only Relinquished and Thousand-Eyes Restrict can "absorb" a monster.

    The absorbed monster is considered to be an equip spell card REGARDLESS of whether it is face-up or down because of (we'll use Relinquished=REL) REL's effect. If the card that was absorbed is in fact face-down, then it is still counted towards REL's effect as 0/0 stat's and can be targeted by Nobleman of Extermination.

    It is not "equipped", it is absorbed, and is only treated as an Equip Card since it is placed in the Spell and Trap Zone.
  18. kingpinopie

    kingpinopie Himoura Shinta

    Trophy Points:
    38
    It IS absorbed, but the card says "Equip".... no absorb on there... and the powers that be are sticklers on going off of Exactly what the cards say in order to rule right?! But to "Equip" a card, it has to be face up right, .... so wouldnt it be considered a Faceup Equip Spell card of a face down monster? (was that confusing?), giving TER a 0/0 Atk /Def
  19. DimensionalWarrior

    DimensionalWarrior New Member

    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's pretty confusing, I'm trying to clear my mind:
    1) The equiped card HAS TO BE a Spell/Trap (Mystical Space Typhoon can destroy it.)
    2) TER text says "Equip this monster with...". I understand that Equips have to be face-up on the field. Otherwise they are just "Face-Down Cards"
    3) However, the Equipped card has NO effect. So it would not matter if it's face up or face down since it's TER's effect that determinates the Status of TER.
    4)OMG! I am starting to think that Nobleman of Extermination can be activated on the face-down card! If we consider that is TER's effect that keeps the equip, then it would be indeed face down!
    5) Remember, when Skill Drain is activated and TER is face-up it will lose it's effect and the equip is destroyed...

    Conclusion: You CAN activate Nobleman of Extermination on the face down card....

    Hope all that is correct :D
  20. kingpinopie

    kingpinopie Himoura Shinta

    Trophy Points:
    38
    Now THAT is an interesting way to look at it... *thinking*.... I can still talk myself into not thinking that though. If it is treated as an Equip Spell... then it IS an equip spell card,,, Harpie Lady #2 , #1, #3.. they are all Treated as Harpy Lady right.... so wouldnt it sort of be the same deal here?? (or am I trippin') if it says Treated as.... it makes it so right... so it Makes It So, that it IS an Equip Spell card, it takes up a S/T space on the field, you cannot "absorb it unless you have a space to put it in, and an equip spell cannot be equipped unless it is Face-Up ...... TER's effect may bring it there to be Equipped, but it should still be treated as a face up equip spell right??

Share This Page