Amphibious Bugroth MK-3 VS Spirit Barrier

I

InsectMayhem

Guest
I would like to know what happens when Amphibious Bugroth MK-3 chooses to attack directly when spirit barrier is active on the field.  Does it make the damage from Amphibious Bugroth MK-3 turn to 0 or does it go threw? 

Another question, although it seems like it would be one from a new player, would be does a direct attack qualify as battle damage?

The reason I wish an answer is the fact that most water decks use Amphibious Bugroth MK-3 and I had to face one in which my barrier became active.  We did not know what to do at that point so we both agreed the attack become zero since it is not effect damage coming from Amphibious Bugroth MK-3 when he chooses to attack directly.  If the rule books said that battle damage can only occur when two monsters engage each other, then it would become clear since Amphibious Bugroth MK-3 is attacking directly and not going threw another monster, that its attack is not claimed as battle damage.
 
Yes, it would protect you from the damage as long as you have a monster on your side of the field (part of the effect of "Spirit Barrier"). Damage from a direct attack is battle damage.
 
Back
Top