Dogma Ruling

Jathro

New Member
Something doesn't seem right to me...
Destiny Hero - Dogma
Effect Monster (Warrior / DARK / 8 Stars / ATK 3400 / DEF 2400)
This card cannot be Normal Summoned or Set. This card cannot be Special Summoned except by Tributing 3 monsters, including at least 1 "Destiny Hero" monster. If this card is Special Summoned, halve your opponent's Life Points during your opponent's next Standby Phase.

"¢ "Destiny Hero - Dogma" needs to be on the field during your opponent's next Standby Phase for his effect to activate.
Why should Dogma need to be on the field during the Standby Phase he would be inflicting damage? From the wording on the text, it sounds to me that he inflicts damage so long as he was Special Summoned properly, regardless of whether he's around next turn or not. Am I the only that thinks this way?

Also, is his inflicting damage an effect that can be chained to? If so, is it the damage that's inflicted halved before or after the chain resolves?
 
So is the only instance of a triggered effect when the word "when" is used now? Although it should have been that way to begin with. It seems confusing if their using this templating now.
 
It isnt inflicting Damage. Your opponent loses life points similar to the effect of The Immortal of Thunder, so there isnt anything that can be chained to when that happens, as there is no Damage to reflect.
 
masterwoo0 said:
It isnt inflicting Damage. Your opponent loses life points similar to the effect of The Immortal of Thunder, so there isnt anything that can be chained to when that happens, as there is no Damage to reflect.
Understood and correct on the issue of whether the LP loss can be reflected. But I fail to see how, from that, one can say it cannot be chained to. According to the rulings for The Immortal of Thunder, it is a Trigger effect, and therefore would seem to be chainable.

It would appear to be a poorly-worded Trigger effect that triggers during the Standby Phase, with a condition applied.
 
masterwoo0 said:
It isnt inflicting Damage. Your opponent loses life points similar to the effect of The Immortal of Thunder, so there isnt anything that can be chained to when that happens, as there is no Damage to reflect.
[Re: Banisher of the Light] Effects that trigger when cards are sent to the Graveyard, such as "Sangan", "Witch of the Black Forest", "Mystic Tomato", "The Immortal of Thunder" and "Last Will", will not activate.

This ruling under The Immortal of Thunder says it's a Trigger Effect. We know that we can chain to Trigger Effects. Dogma's text isn't poorly worded when it will activate to half your opponent's Life Points. It's telling you when it's activating with the last six words in the card text.
 
Tkwiget said:
[Re: Banisher of the Light] Effects that trigger when cards are sent to the Graveyard, such as "Sangan", "Witch of the Black Forest", "Mystic Tomato", "The Immortal of Thunder" and "Last Will", will not activate.

This ruling under The Immortal of Thunder says it's a Trigger Effect. We know that we can chain to Trigger Effects. Dogma's text isn't poorly worded when it will activate to half your opponent's Life Points. It's telling you when it's activating with the last six words in the card text.
I think you guys misunderstand what my point is. Im saying you cannot chain anything to redirect the life point loss. You CAN still chain to his effect.
 
Why does he still need to be on the field during the turn he is halving Life Points? Should he not inflict the damage simply because he was Special Summoned properly?
 
Dogma isn't inflicting Effect Damage. It's like The Immortal of Thunder. The opponent loses half their life points. As for the reason he needs to be on the field face up during your next Standby Phase, well it would be needed to stay on the field because of the fact that it's Dogma's Trigger Effect that activates during your next Standby Phase. =/
 
Simply because 'Destiny Hero - Dogma''s effect doesn't activate when it's summoned, but during the next Standby Phase, one could chain 'Divine Wrath' when its effect activates during the Standby Phase in order to negate it.
 
Cropz said:
Simply because 'Destiny Hero - Dogma''s effect doesn't activate when it's summoned, but during the next Standby Phase, one could chain 'Divine Wrath' when its effect activates during the Standby Phase in order to negate it.
This is a better worded answer than mine. XD Thanks Cropz.
 
Back
Top