Doriado vs. the elemental reptiles (WARNING: logic vs. rulings thread!)

Deathjester

New Member
Each elemental reptile from STON has the effect of destroying all-face down monsters and monsters that don't share its attribute when it's destroyed in battle.

The rulings for Silent Abyss, Firestorm Prominence, etc. all say the same thing -

"¢ This card's effect will destroy "Elemental Mistress Doriado".

Now, Umbral Soul's effect destroys all face-down and non-DARK monsters, so it makes sense that it can destroy Doriado.

As for the others, though, the rulings are basically saying "Doriado is not considered to have this attribute for the purpose of said elemental reptile's effect."

I guess the question is what's being overlooked, if anything, that makes that ruling make sense?
 
When Elemental Mistress Doriado is on the field she is considered to be LIGHT, EARTH, FIRE, WIND, and WATER. Note that she has all 5 Attributes at the same time. This works against her in this case because while she is considered to be say a WATER Type, she is also considered to be a Non-WATER Type (since she has the other Attributes as well). That is why she dies to all of the Elemental Reptiles since her effect makes her the Non-Type as well.
 
I suppose if you play other TCGs then it doesn't make a lot of sense, being that "non-[something]" doesn't exclude it from ever being that something if an effects or card is changing that state. But since this is Yu-Gi logic, it makes sense that the exclusion is also and inclusion.
 
Digital Jedi said:
I suppose if you play other TCGs then it doesn't make a lot of sense, being that "non-[something]" doesn't exclude it from ever being that something if an effects or card is changing that state. But since this is Yu-Gi logic, it makes sense that the exclusion is also and inclusion.

Finally. Something worthy of putting in my signature! Thanks DJ!
 
Back
Top