I Can't Find A (Respectable) D.D. Assailant Ruling....


New Member
So, the other day I was playing some-one, and they said that D.D. Assailant's effect does not activate on the field, but in the grave. We then had to proceed to argue about it, since Skill Drain was face-up on the field at the time.

Now, I know it's supposed to activate on the field (the same way that D.D. Warrior and D.D. Warrior Lady do), but I noticed that the text on Assailant is different to it's counter-parts, and I can't find a ruling anywhere that says it's effect activates on the field, or even implies that it does.

Does anyone know where I can find such a ruling? And by ruling, I don't mean "I found this thread on TCGplayer.com that says so" or any other arbitrary type of ruling.
There are no official rulings on it, so the best we can do is interpret the text.

"Masked Dragon" has an effect that activates in the Graveyard. Its text includes the phrase "destroyed by battle and sent to the Graveyard". Note the second part of that phrase. It's something "D.D. Assailant doesn't have.

But this alone, we can assume one of two things: either that the effect can activate either in the Graveyard or RFP area, or that the effect activates before it would be sent to the Graveyard (Substep 6).

That doesn't help much. There are arguments either way. All we can say here is that, from the feel of the effect, it should happen before it gets send to the Graveyard.

Alternatively, one can compare it to other similar effects. We have a theme of three cards, all Effect Monster "D.D." cards, and both other ones activate during Substep 6. Here we assume that the wording isn't perfect (which is certainly isn't - the card texts are way too broad to use terms like "Battle substep 6", something that would be useful).

I would tend to follow the theme here. "D.D. Warrior Lady" does it like this, so "D.D. Assailant" almost certainly follows suit. While it isn't an actual ruling, it's the strongest argument around.
The difference seems pretty clear due to the card text.

D.D. Warrior (Lady) states "When this card battles a monster...", which triggers prior to damage, while D.D. Assailant uses "is destroyed by battle", which triggers after damage..

Since D.D. Assailant says destroyed, the card would be in the graveyard, not on the field. (see http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Damage_Step, "At the end of the Damage Step, the Monster Card(s) destroyed as a result of battle are sent to the Graveyard, unless a card effect specifies that they go elsewhere, such as when "Macro Cosmos" is active."

Without a ruling to the contrary, the card text stands. The three erratas of the card can be found @ http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Card_Errata:D.D._Assailant

Last edited:
Are OCG rulings in Japanese good enough? This ruling says that with the effect of "D.D. Assailant" or "D.D. Warrior Lady" or "D.D. Warrior", the monsters are removed from play without going to the Graveyard, so "Grave Protector" will have no effect.

Now, the monster does not go to the Graveyard, so therefore either,

1) The effect activates and resolves on the field, in Sub-Step 6. Thus, it will be negated by "Skill Drain".

2) The effect is a Continuous Effect, and is applied as the monster is being sent to the Graveyard. However,

2a) This would be similar to the effect of "Crystal Beast" monsters, and "Skill Drain" negates the "crystalisation" effect, so "Skill Drain" will negate the effect of "D.D. Assailant".

2b) This would be similar to the effect of "Banisher of the Light", and the above OCG ruling goes on to say that "Grave Protector" overrides the effect of "Banisher of the Light". Thus, this is not possible.

In total, the effect activates and resolves on the field in Sub-Step 6. "Skill Drain" will negate it.
An OCG ruling is fine for me. Thanks.

ccgdb.com - A card destroyed by battle does not necessarily go to the graveyard before activating it's effect(s) - flip effect monsters activate their flip effects after being destroyed by battle, but while they are still on the field. The same goes for D.D. Warrior and D.D. Warrior Lady (they do not trigger prior to damage calculation).
Armed Sea Hunter does negate effects like Treeborn Frog and Sangan, even though they activate in the Graveyard.
As for D.D. Warror Lady and D.D. Warrior, I am not 100% sure, but I think it forms a chain. If you are attacking, Armed Sea Hunter activates first being Chain Link 1 and D.D. Warrior/Warrior Lady forms Chain Link 2. If you are being attacked, then it would be reversed.
As for D.D. Assailant, Armed Sea Hunter will negate it's effect, because D.D. Assailant has to be destroyed by battle for it's effect to activate.
Hope this helps.