1.) A player of mine has stated recently that during a Regionals earlier this year a Judge ruled that BLS-EotB (I am assuming this includes other chaos monsters like Chaos Sorcerer and CED) if it was properly summoned can only be revived once via recursion cards like Premature Burial, Call of the Haunted and Monster Reborn. After that, it needs to be properly summoned again.
This seems to be strange, as it goes against normal recursion rules and the fact that nothing of the sort is mentioned in BLS-EotB's effect text. I would think that BLS-EotB could be brought back from the grave ad infinitum ad nauseam IF it was properly summoned to begin with. Normally I would disregard tales like this but, being that more than one of my players has heard this and the source in question was a regional tournament, I thought it needed to be brought to the list for clarification.
2.) If Jetroid is in face down position and an attack is declared by the opponent, when does it's effect become active? Is it after it has been flipped face up during the damage step? If so, then the only trap cards that can be activated at this time are ones that can be activated during the damage step, correct?
Thanks
------------------------------------------------------------
Answer:
1.
That "ruling" is incorrect.
After you successfully Special Summon "Black Luster Soldier-Envoy of the Beginning" to the field and it is sent to your Graveyard, you are free to Special Summon it from the Graveyard with "Premature Burial."
It gets destroyed and again is sent to the Graveyard. This time you decide to use "Call of the Haunted." Perfectly fine, no issues.
It gets destroyed again. This time you use "Magician of Faith's" effect and reclaim your "Premature Burial," which you then activate and, once again, the BLS-Envoy is back. Perfectly fine.
So where do we run into trouble?
1. When the Soldier is returned to your Deck or your hand. In such a case you would need to successfully Special Summon the soldier again following its text.
2. The Special Summon, when you followed its text, is negated. In this case it would not be possible to Special Summon the Soldier from the Graveyard.
This also applies to monsters like "Dark Necrofear," "Soul of Purity and Light," "Chaos Sorcerer," etc.
2.
"Jetroid's" effect allows the controlling player to activate Trap Cards from their hand when their face-up "Jetroid" is declared the target of an attack. ("Jetroid's" effect does not use the chain)
This occurs during the time when a player may activate cards like "Mirror Force," "Magic Cylinder," "Sakuretsu Armor," etc.
So when my opponent declares that their monster attacks my face-up "Jetroid," I can activate "Sakuretsu Armor" from my hand.
"Jetroid's" effect is not activate during the Damage Step. It would be far too late.
---------------------------------------
Curtis Schultz
Official UDE Netrep
CurtisSchultz_Netrep@Hotmail.com
---
You are currently subscribed to judge-yu as: judge@netrep.net.
To unsubscribe, log into your account at www.ude.com/op (click on edit membership link).
You will see the option to manage your lists.
http://lists.upperdeck.com/read/?forum=judge-yu
This seems to be strange, as it goes against normal recursion rules and the fact that nothing of the sort is mentioned in BLS-EotB's effect text. I would think that BLS-EotB could be brought back from the grave ad infinitum ad nauseam IF it was properly summoned to begin with. Normally I would disregard tales like this but, being that more than one of my players has heard this and the source in question was a regional tournament, I thought it needed to be brought to the list for clarification.
2.) If Jetroid is in face down position and an attack is declared by the opponent, when does it's effect become active? Is it after it has been flipped face up during the damage step? If so, then the only trap cards that can be activated at this time are ones that can be activated during the damage step, correct?
Thanks
------------------------------------------------------------
Answer:
1.
That "ruling" is incorrect.
After you successfully Special Summon "Black Luster Soldier-Envoy of the Beginning" to the field and it is sent to your Graveyard, you are free to Special Summon it from the Graveyard with "Premature Burial."
It gets destroyed and again is sent to the Graveyard. This time you decide to use "Call of the Haunted." Perfectly fine, no issues.
It gets destroyed again. This time you use "Magician of Faith's" effect and reclaim your "Premature Burial," which you then activate and, once again, the BLS-Envoy is back. Perfectly fine.
So where do we run into trouble?
1. When the Soldier is returned to your Deck or your hand. In such a case you would need to successfully Special Summon the soldier again following its text.
2. The Special Summon, when you followed its text, is negated. In this case it would not be possible to Special Summon the Soldier from the Graveyard.
This also applies to monsters like "Dark Necrofear," "Soul of Purity and Light," "Chaos Sorcerer," etc.
2.
"Jetroid's" effect allows the controlling player to activate Trap Cards from their hand when their face-up "Jetroid" is declared the target of an attack. ("Jetroid's" effect does not use the chain)
This occurs during the time when a player may activate cards like "Mirror Force," "Magic Cylinder," "Sakuretsu Armor," etc.
So when my opponent declares that their monster attacks my face-up "Jetroid," I can activate "Sakuretsu Armor" from my hand.
"Jetroid's" effect is not activate during the Damage Step. It would be far too late.
---------------------------------------
Curtis Schultz
Official UDE Netrep
CurtisSchultz_Netrep@Hotmail.com
---
You are currently subscribed to judge-yu as: judge@netrep.net.
To unsubscribe, log into your account at www.ude.com/op (click on edit membership link).
You will see the option to manage your lists.
http://lists.upperdeck.com/read/?forum=judge-yu