[Player Management] Asking for a ruling? - Judges stance

UDEbot

More Machine Than Man
Asking for a ruling? - Judges stance
from UDE's Player Management Forums

Hi again people :)

Just wanted to ask something small as it came up during the Irish National Championships a few days ago.

When a player asks for a ruling, what's the judges stance on it?

Here's two examples:
==============
Player A has "Destiny Hero - Plasma" face-up on his side of the field.
Player B has "Exiled Force" in his hand.

During Player B's turn, he calls for a Judge and asks if Exiled's effect works while Plasma is on the field. (we all know it works by the way, but this is just an example)
The judge in question told the player that he couldn't answer until Player B actually plays the card.
In the end Player B, unable to make the optimal play becasue he couldn't know the correct ruling, sets the Exiled in defence and Player A attacks over it and wins the game a few turns later.
================
Player A has "Card Trooper" in his hand and calls over a Judge.
He then asks the judge what the precise ruling on the card is. ("When I announce that I'm using Card Trooper's effect, do I 'mill' one-by-one or do i have to declare the number before milling?)
The judge then gives him the ruling.
==================
The above scenarios happenned in two of the games over the weekend and I felt that I had to ask if the judge should have said something earlier.

So basically I'm wondering: Does the play have to be made and the Judge says 'no, you can't do that' or is it okay to get an answer before you make the play?

Thanks in advance for your replies.
-PJ


http://entertainment.upperdeck.com/COMMUNITY/forums/thread/1180959.aspx
 
Back
Top