various card/deck reveals?

SoilentG

CoG iTrader
I have some questions about various cards and whether or not the card/deck is revealed when their effects are resolved:

The Shallow Grave : does each player show the card he pulled from the GY or is it hidden and the opponent has to figure it out himself since the GY is public.

Crystal Seer : pick-up and show both, either, neither?

Nobleman of Extermination : both players reveal their entire decks if Trap?

Nobleman of Crossout : both players reveal their entire decks if FLIP?
 
The Shallow Grave: The Graveyard is Public Knowledge, so it is almost a moot point. However, since The Shallow Grave Tagets 1 Monster in the Graveyard, you do have to reveal the target to your opponent (in the event (s)he might wish to chain something).

Crystal Seer: No, there is nothing there to intimate that you have to show. A card is put (one in hand, other to bottom of deck), it does not specify that it is any type or specifc card. Do not show (I got this a lot at Regionals).

Nobleman (both): Yes, they may look through your entire Deck, even if the card is limited to One (Morphing Jar).
 
The rule of thumb is, if the effect requires you to do something to a very specific kind of card, then you would always have to verify that you affected the correct card. Like pulling a monster with Sangan or another Searcher. This is to prevent you from getting anything else but the card the effect asks for.

But when your just affecting any card, then there would be no reason to verify your not cheating, because there's nothing to cheat. An example would be Different Dimension Capsule, where the opponent doesn't need to see the card, because you can get any card you want from the deck. There's nothing for him to verify.

Basically, when there's room for deception, you always clarify your not being deceptive. This is why you have to reveal all your face downs if you activate Fake Trap. You opponent can't just take your word that they were all traps, because you could easily say otherwise and it not be true.
 
Back
Top