Search results

  1. J

    Questions on some oldies, but goodies...

    Hmm... That's a little vague. Do they mean "this effect" to be 1. the effect of the increasing during each of your standby phases (thus the boost remains), or 2. the effect of the increase during the standby phase (and therefore excluding the 200 increase during the flip effect), or 3...
  2. J

    A question my friend asked me I had NO clue as to the answer

    The question is: Does FAO imply that battle positions can't be changed manually, or that they can't be changed by anything including the effects of another card? Ruling #3: While "Final Attack Orders" is active, you can change the Battle Positions of monsters with "Curse of Fiend" or...
  3. J

    Swarm of Scarabs and the like

    CraniumX, I think what you're trying to assert is that a monster is allowed only one manual change per turn, but if the change was done through an effect, that a manual change is still allowed unless the monster attacks. Of course, I'm fairly bad at understanding people, so maybe I'm not...
  4. J

    stone of the aztez vs cross counter

    Closest matching one I could think of would be Last Turn, but it doesn't really force the optional battle phase, it creates it own. Staunch Defender forces your opponent to attack a specific monster with every one of their monsters, but it must be activated during battle phase.
  5. J

    Priority at Draw Phase

    Can you activate quick play spells/traps during the opponents end phase if there is no effects occuring during end phase that you could chain to? (thanks, by the way :) )
  6. J

    Questions on some oldies, but goodies...

    Well, no on two counts. Yes on the correct answer, nobleman's effect will fizzle, but the above is not the reason. Nobleman does not say that the card must be facedown for it to be activated. It says to destroy one facedown card. That means it must be facedown on resolution. Chaining to the...
  7. J

    Priority at Draw Phase

    If the turn player has an MST or other quick play spell / trap face down as he/she enters the draw phase, can MST/other be activated before the actual drawing of the card (assuming there is a valid target)? Or is it mandatory to do the draw first?
  8. J

    Various Questions

    You'd think they would have finished the thought and said "but then returns to the owner's side" in the ruling if that's what they meant.
  9. J

    Various Questions

    Nevermind, Dimension Fusion ruling #6 If you take control of your opponent's monster with "Dimensionhole", and it is removed from play while on your side of the field, the monster is Special Summoned with "Dimension Fusion" to the player's field who controlled the monster when it was removed...
  10. J

    Element Dragon effect triggering question

    So if the continuous effect of being able to attack a second time is interrupted at any time after the trigger point (destroying another monster) and before the end of damage of the second attack, it immediately prevents the second attack from going through even though the continuous effect may...
  11. J

    Various Questions

    So would it be more accurate to say: IMT resets the state of the monster in that Change of Heart/Snatch Steal no longer has control. But when the monster comes back, it knows who is the owner of the card and thus returns to that side of the field. It was not banished and summoned, it just...
  12. J

    Element Dragon effect triggering question

    Hmmm... So if Element Dragon destroys another monster on the field, and there is still a wind monster on the field and that owner activates IMT at the beginning of the battle step and removes the only Wind creature, does Element Dragon's second attack cease immediately or is his ability to...
  13. J

    Various Questions

    Yep, an AAU'd monster that is Dimensionholed (a lot like IMT) returns to the owner, that's what the ruling says. That pretty much blows away the logical explanation I had come up with. Does the same thing happen with Monster Reborn of a monster out of the opponent's graveyard? That's a new one...
  14. J

    Various Questions

    I wonder if the mechanics of that are: IMT resets the state of the monster in that change of heart/snatch steal no longer has control. But when the monster comes back, it knows who originally summoned it and thus returns to that side of the field. It was not banished and summoned, it just...
  15. J

    Special Summoning re-flippable monsters

    You've already set the position manually, either in defense or attack, when you special summoned. That was your once per turn. You can then use their effect to override the game mechanics, enabling you to flip them over into face down defense position, but you can't then manually change it...
  16. J

    Element Dragon effect triggering question

    This also raises another interesting question. If you have a monster/equipment ability that can attack twice in the same battle phase (such as due to twin swords) do you have to do it right after each other, or could you space them apart and attack with a different monster inbetween? Not sure...
  17. J

    Element Dragon effect triggering question

    He's got a good point. The ruling is: If there is only 1 WIND monster on the field, and you attack and destroy it with "Element Dragon", you cannot attack again because there is no longer a WIND monster on the field so "Element Dragon" no longer has that ability. That suggests that the...
  18. J

    Deck Devastation Virus VS Tokens

    Oh I see, you mean since it's end phase right now having done the effect. I wouldn't suspect any difference. IMT takes him out, the chain resolves, and then the lingering effect of IMT brings him back.
  19. J

    Deck Devastation Virus VS Tokens

    What do you mean by "then returns immediately"? IMT takes him out until the end phase of the turn. Bottomless Trap Hole would resolve and take nothing because there's no monster that has been special summoned for it to take out (at least, not one it can see -- it can't see the one that's out...
  20. J

    Spear Cretin

    I see a combo mentioning Spear Cretin, one in the graveyard and one on the field, which enables you to continuously bring back one to somewhat prevent damage to your life points (at the expense of loading your opponents field full of monsters) But I got thinking -- if Spear Cretin is sent to...
Back
Top