a few questoisn

mikoal

Sinister Control
sigh i suck at forum search

i got a few question

dust tornado, when activate and targettgin book of moon, and opp chains to use it, can u still activate dust tornado's 2nd effect and set a spell or trap, i ask cuz dust reqiures a destruction of a card, and book of moon was used and not destroyed


return from different dimension, do you have to summon maximum amount out?


marauding captain, is it trigger effect? ignition???? becuase obviously ask the opp to use marauding's effffect or not right??
when are the timings of using marauding's effect and what effect is it? can player use their priority and use captain's ability, like t virus?
 
1. Yes. Cards are not sent to the graveyard until the entire chain has resolved, unless a card's effect destroys it in one of the link's resolution. So yes, you may set a card.

2. As many as possible. If 3 are RFG, special summon all 3. If more than 5, select 5.

Marauding Captain = Trigger effect. You may use priority if the summon is not negated. You may only use the special summon effect during your main phase when you normal summon the Captain.
 
In order to use the 2nd effect of Dust Tornado you have to destroy the Spell or Trap card. So in your example if your opponent chains Book Of Moon, you would be able to set a card from the second effect of Dust Tornado because even though Book of Moon activates it stays on the field and is destroyed by Dust Tornado. (Originally posted this incorrectly, see next post)

DUST TORNADO

You must destroy 1 Spell or Trap Card on your opponent's side of the field to be able to Set 1 Spell or Trap Card. If your opponent chains a card to destroy the target of "Dust Tornado", you cannot then Set a Spell or Trap Card because "Dust Tornado" did not destroy a Spell or Trap Card. If your opponent activates the card targeted by "Dust Tornado" it is not negated, but is still destroyed by "Dust Tornado" so you may Set 1 Spell or Trap Card.
 
YugiDad said:
In order to use the 2nd effect of Dust Tornado you have to destroy the Spell or Trap card. So in your example if your opponent chains Book Of Moon, you would not be able to set a card from the second effect of Dust Tornado

DUST TORNADO

You must destroy 1 Spell or Trap Card on your opponent's side of the field to be able to Set 1 Spell or Trap Card. If your opponent chains a card to destroy the target of "Dust Tornado", you cannot then Set a Spell or Trap Card because "Dust Tornado" did not destroy a Spell or Trap Card. If your opponent activates the card targeted by "Dust Tornado" it is not negated, but is still destroyed by "Dust Tornado" so you may Set 1 Spell or Trap Card.
actually he can becuase the card isnt removed from the chain untill the entire chain resolves.
 
Ah yes trying to read before coffee. Even though Book of Moon activates it will still be destroyed by Dust Tornado satisfying the requirement to set the card with the second effect. Drink coffee first, post second

Thanks for catching my mistake
 
magnumcyclonex said:
Marauding Captain = Trigger effect. You may use priority if the summon is not negated. You may only use the special summon effect during your main phase when you normal summon the Captain.
I'm going to have to disagree with you on this one magnum.

Yes, "Marauding Captain"s effect is a Triggered Effect, but its an Optional Trigger Effect, like "Mobius the Frost Monarch".

No, Priority is not involved in any way with using his effect. You simply have the option of using it or not when he is Normal Summoned, just like "Mobius the Frost Monarch".

Since it's a Trigger Effect, it will trigger anytime he is Normal Summoned, including during your opponent's turn ("Ultimate Offering"), just like "Mobius the Frost Monarch"...lol.

Hope this helps!
 
skey23 said:
Since it's a Trigger Effect, it will trigger anytime he is Normal Summoned, including during your opponent's turn ("Ultimate Offering"), just like "Mobius the Frost Monarch"...lol.

Hope this helps!

As an added bonus to skey's post =P... because of this explanation Marauding Captain can miss it's timing.
 
so for mobius, when summoned the player selects up to 2, then the opp can respond via activaiting bth or torrent etc......

now does that mean when marauding gets summoned the opp waits for the "trigger" effect???


like my question is comapring mobius and marauding, once u chosen to select 0 M/T to be destroyed the opp can still use bth, torrent etc..........
but i didnt think it was the case for marauding, becauser if this is the case, doesnt that mean that the opp just has to wait to see if he chooses to use his ability or not?

i mean i thought it was more of a guessing game, lets say ur at 1100 life points and you summon marauding, and the opp SHOULDNT know that u might or might not summon another, so hes scared and uses torrential, and then you still can technically summon another monster right?

but unlike mobius, mobius decides right away
 
Both Mobius and Marauding's effects are trigger. The only difference between Ignition Effects and Trigger Effects (that are triggered by their own summon) is that your not getting a choice to activate the effect using your priority with trigger. It's being activated for you by the timing of the situation ( the summon) and by game rules, your opponent can now chain to the effect or respond to the summon.

I don't know why we say this has nothing to do with priority all the time?=. Personally I think that just makes it more confusing and detracts from the mechanics behind it all. What happens is you priority is essentially used up when the effect triggers. You didn't get to choose what effects to activate, the summon triggered an effect and it was chosen for you.

i mean i thought it was more of a guessing game, lets say ur at 1100 life points and you summon marauding, and the opp SHOULDNT know that u might or might not summon another, so hes scared and uses torrential, and then you still can technically summon another monster right?
Marauding Captains ability to summon another monster is an effect, just Ike any other. Your either activating it or your not. You don'get to make your opponent guess if your going to destroy a monster with Mobius effect. The effect triggers and places it as the first effect on a chain that is response to the Normal Summon. If your going to use the effect you need to do say so now, otherwise your passing on using it. There are no guessing games in chains. Your either adding an effect to the chain or you aren't. If you choose to summon nothing when his effect triggers, then you've passed on using it. Just like if you do not choose any cards to target with Mobius, you've passed on using it. You must make the decision at activation, not resolution.
 
Back
Top