A Wingbeat of Giant Dragon has a cost. ...But does it really?

Deathjester

New Member
A Wingbeat of Giant Dragon
Normal Spell

Return to the owner's hand 1 face-up Level 5 or higher Dragon-Type monster on your side of the field and destroy all Spell and Trap Cards on the field.

It's been ruled that returning a Dragon-Type monster is a cost, but I'm a little unconvinced by that; mainly because of the word "and" in the text. The card doesn't exactly follow the text format for showing a cost and then an effect. It doesn't say, "By doing A, B happens" or "Do A for B to happen." It's saying "Do A and do B", suggesting that both the returning a Dragon-Type and destroying all S/T cards on the field are part of the effect.
 
Deathjester said:
A Wingbeat of Giant Dragon
Normal Spell

Return to the owner's hand 1 face-up Level 5 or higher Dragon-Type monster on your side of the field and destroy all Spell and Trap Cards on the field.

It's been ruled that returning a Dragon-Type monster is a cost, but I'm a little unconvinced by that; mainly because of the word "and" in the text. The card doesn't exactly follow the text format for showing a cost and then an effect. It doesn't say, "By doing A, B happens" or "Do A for B to happen." It's saying "Do A and do B", suggesting that both the returning a Dragon-Type and destroying all S/T cards on the field are part of the effect.
Well, if you can't do A, then you really cant do B. But, if you used the effect of D-Hero Diamond Dude, you could activate the effect without removing a Dragon Type Monster.

So while it doesnt appear to be a Cost, it is a activation requirement, and therefore, "A Cost".
 
masterwoo0 said:
Well, if you can't do A, then you really cant do B. But, if you used the effect of D-Hero Diamond Dude, you could activate the effect without removing a Dragon Type Monster.

So while it doesnt appear to be a Cost, it is a activation requirement, and therefore, "A Cost".

Tributing a dragon-type monster is definitely the cost for the second effect of the card. This is one of the cards that was specifically mentioned in numerous articles for making a Destiny Dude deck. I like it especially with cards like Heavy Storm and Giant Trunade in the deck to prevent Traps and Spells from being on the field.
 
Deathjester said:
A Wingbeat of Giant Dragon
Normal Spell

Return to the owner's hand 1 face-up Level 5 or higher Dragon-Type monster on your side of the field and destroy all Spell and Trap Cards on the field.

It's been ruled that returning a Dragon-Type monster is a cost, but I'm a little unconvinced by that; mainly because of the word "and" in the text. The card doesn't exactly follow the text format for showing a cost and then an effect. It doesn't say, "By doing A, B happens" or "Do A for B to happen." It's saying "Do A and do B", suggesting that both the returning a Dragon-Type and destroying all S/T cards on the field are part of the effect.
Our templating for costs is not consistent, unfortunately. While 90% of the time, costs will be the first sentence and separate from the effect text, this is not always the case.
 
Back
Top