An equip spell card without an equipped monster...

Madma

New Member
What happens when an equip spell card loses its target, because it is turned face-down or its destroyed? Is it destroyed or simply "sent" to the graveyard? ...and does this make any difference? :p

When a monster equipped with Premature Burial is tirned face-down, what happens to Premature Burial? And to the monster? It doesn't matter if Premature Burial is destroyed or simply "sent" to the graveyard, the monster is now unaffected by this card, right?
 
It does indeed make a big difference, because some cards require it to be destroyed, while others require it to be sent.

The rule is, if an equip spell card loses its target due to it being face down or the monster being destroyed, the equip card itself is destroyed due to a game mechanic. The only reason I stress that last part is because some equp cards need to be destroyed by a card effect in order to get their effect, and this does not qualify.

The difference does matter. Just as you said, with Premature Burial, if it is "sent" to the graveyard through the effect of Emergency Provisions, the monster equipped to it will not be destroyed because Premie wasn't destroyed, it was merely sent.

Hope this hleps.
 
Madma said:
What happens when an equip spell card loses its target, because it is turned face-down or its destroyed? Is it destroyed or simply "sent" to the graveyard? ...and does this make any difference? :p

The monster is considered destroyed by a game-based mechanic.

Madma said:
When a monster equipped with Premature Burial is turned face-down, what happens to Premature Burial?

Since Premature Burial lost its target, it would destroy itself via the game-based mechanic.

Madma said:
And to the monster?

The monster would remain face-down.

Madma said:
It doesn't matter if Premature Burial is destroyed or simply "sent" to the graveyard, the monster is now unaffected by this card, right?

Remember, if Premature Burial is destroyed while equipped to the monster, the monster would be destroyed, but if Premature Burial was sent to the Graveyard while equipped to the monster, the monster would not be destroyed.
 
Back
Top