Armor Exe vs Skill Drain

kingpinopie

Himoura Shinta
Ok... I am using a Skill Drain Deck.... I have been informed that if I use Armor Exe, he still must maintain his spell counter cost.... but doesnt Skill Drain negate that???
 
No, Skill Drain can not negate a maintinance cost. Armor Exe would be able to attack the same turn it is summoned, but would still require that a spell counter be offered as a cost to keep it on the field.

Unfriendly Amazon would also need it's maintinance cost paid (tribute 1 monster on your side durring your standby) with Skill Drain active.

Dark Elf can attack without you paying life points to attack. The difference? The payment for the attack is not a "maintinance" cost.

Examples of "maintinance" costs would include:

Mirror Wall
Imperial Order
Messenger of Peace
Armor Exe
Unfriendly Amazon

I know there are more, but you get the idea. An effect can be negated, but never a maintinance cost. It's just the way it's ruled.
 
Is Lava Golem a maintenance cost?

I beleave it is an effect that inflicts 1000 damage to the controller and not as a maintenance cost because the player controlling Lava Golem has no control on whether paying the 1000 LP or not.
 
Xeno said:
Same with the Archfiends.

Hopefully you mean the effect of rolling dice or attack increase, as an example.

Those effects would be negated, but the cost per turn is not optional and cannot be negated unless Pandemonium is active. Otherwise, you must pay cost.
 
masterwoo0 said:
Hopefully you mean the effect of rolling dice or attack increase, as an example.

Those effects would be negated, but the cost per turn is not optional and cannot be negated unless Pandemonium is active. Otherwise, you must pay cost.

The exact ruling from the online FAQ on the off-chance he tries to say, "But it's an effect, not a maintenance cost."


While "Skill Drain" is active, "maintenance costs" are not negated (see the Advanced Gameplay FAQ) so you still have to pay for "The Unfriendly Amazon", "Armor Exe", Archfiends, etc. However, all other costs are negated, so you do not have to pay to attack with "Dark Elf" or "Jirai Gumo".
 
Back
Top