Bottomless Trap Hole

GMonkey

New Member
Another question from my son's friend (see my post Tribute to the Doomed): My son's friend seems to think Bottomless Trap Hole cannot be used when using a monster as tribute to bring out another, i.e. Newdoria for Summoned Skull. I said this is treated as a Normal Summons and BTH can be used.
 
lets say you play Cyberjar, and your opponent pulls out 5 1500+ monsters, you can play Bottomless Trap Hole and send all 5 out of play.

a normal summon, is a summon period, a monster that comes out in face up attack position. For a higher level to be normal summoned, you have to offer a tribute depending on its level. it is still the same normal, just with a bit more effort.
 
And keep in mind that earlier versions of the card (which is what most people have)make it seem like only one monster is destroyed by it's effect. The current errata reflects how it really works:

Bottomless Trap Hole
When your opponent Normal Summons, Flip Summons, or Special Summons a monster(s) with an ATK of 1500 or more, the monster(s) is destroyed and removed from play.

And the FAQ Ruling:

This card can remove from play multiple monsters at once, if they are Summoned simultaneously. Since this card can affect multiple monsters, it does not target.
 
My son's friend seems to be pulling rules out of the air. He's a good duelist, but now I am beginning to wonder if it's because of his interpretation of card text.
 
Back
Top