can graverobber/ fiend comedian stop a magician of faith?

A

azn2goo

Guest
fiend comedian:"Toss a coin and call it. If you call it right, all your opponent's cards in the Graveyard are removed from play immediately. If you call it wrong, send a number of cards equal to the cards in your opponent's Graveyard from your Deck to your Graveyard. "


here the stuation:

player A flip magician of faith to get snatch steal
player B try stoping the faith be activating fiend comedian (i call rite)
-a judge nearby said that i not allow to chain to faith's effect

because i remembered reading that gravberobber stops mof's effect before on the old rulings. i think the situation is the same.

any idea let me know
thanks
 
Last time I checked, anyone can chain to an activated flip effect. I don't see why you can't chain Fiend Comedian to MofF. I think the judge's ruling in this one is incorrect. (Hey, it happens) :D
 
It depends on how Magician of Faith was flipped. If it was flipped due to attack, then you could not activate Fiend Comedian as you are in the Damage Step. Otherwise, it would be legal.
 
azn2goo said:
fiend comedian:"Toss a coin and call it. If you call it right, all your opponent's cards in the Graveyard are removed from play immediately. If you call it wrong, send a number of cards equal to the cards in your opponent's Graveyard from your Deck to your Graveyard. "


here the stuation:

player A flip magician of faith to get snatch steal
player B try stoping the faith be activating fiend comedian (i call rite)
-a judge nearby said that i not allow to chain to faith's effect

because i remembered reading that gravberobber stops mof's effect before on the old rulings. i think the situation is the same.

any idea let me know
thanks
Here's the kicker and where the ruling was based on IMO. It's always been said you cannot chain to a summon, and if I'm right in understanding this... MOF was flip-"summoned". Then again you wouldn't be able on that note to evacuate the target of MEB/Zaborg or anything in that situation. I agree that the judge's ruling on that one was incorrect, just possibly due to misinterpretation of the "cannot chain to summon" aspect. (Can't use Mask of Restrict to stop Jinzo from coming to the field/other tribute mons)
 
OKShadow said:
azn2goo said:
fiend comedian:"Toss a coin and call it. If you call it right, all your opponent's cards in the Graveyard are removed from play immediately. If you call it wrong, send a number of cards equal to the cards in your opponent's Graveyard from your Deck to your Graveyard. "


here the stuation:

player A flip magician of faith to get snatch steal
player B try stoping the faith be activating fiend comedian (i call rite)
-a judge nearby said that i not allow to chain to faith's effect

because i remembered reading that gravberobber stops mof's effect before on the old rulings. i think the situation is the same.

any idea let me know
thanks
Here's the kicker and where the ruling was based on IMO. It's always been said you cannot chain to a summon, and if I'm right in understanding this... MOF was flip-"summoned". Then again you wouldn't be able on that note to evacuate the target of MEB/Zaborg or anything in that situation. I agree that the judge's ruling on that one was incorrect, just possibly due to misinterpretation of the "cannot chain to summon" aspect. (Can't use Mask of Restrict to stop Jinzo from coming to the field/other tribute mons)

Well you wouldn't be chaining to the flip summon, you'd be chaining to the activation of "Magician of Faith"'s effect. Since the card is selected at activation, the opponent could chain "Graverobber" to "steal" the card thus making MoF's effect disappear. Same would be in the case of "Fiend Comedian" if it does resolve correctly since the card would no longer be there.

- Andrew
 
Back
Top