Chain Blast/Curse of Darkness question

Aniodia

New Member
This has started to come up a lot during my weekly tournaments, and I can't find anything in the ARRJ about it, so I figured I'd ask here.

Let's say my opponent has a face-down M/T, and I activate Heavy Storm. He chains with Curse of Darkness, and says I take 1000 damage. I say I don't, because in order for him to even chain to my Storm, it would have to be activated, thus Curse does squat.

I would also like to ask for a high level judge/netrep answer this, as I'm eventually going to have to point them in this direction anyway, so I would like to have official proof before rubbing it in their face. :evil:
 
Curse of Darkness

You take the 1000 damage from the effect of "Curse of Darkness" when the Spell Card is ACTIVATED, not when it resolves.



That would mean that Curse of Darkness must be face-up and active PRIOR to the Spell Card being activated. 

I'm just a LV1, so I guess you could always wait for Bishop, John, or Helpoemer to answer for the exclamation point
 
Of course it would have to be active prior to the activation of Heavy Storm, how can you chain it to the activation of Heavy Storm unless Heavy Storm is already considered activated?
The activation proceeds as the chain is created, it is only the resolution which occurs in reverse order.
 
daivahataka said:
Of course it would have to be active prior to the activation of Heavy Storm, how can you chain it to the activation of Heavy Storm unless Heavy Storm is already considered activated?
The activation proceeds as the chain is created, it is only the resolution which occurs in reverse order.
Alll I can say is, "?????"

Plain english please. Curse of Darkness must already be face-up and ACTIVE before the Spell Card it gets chained to is played. If it is chained after the activation of the Spell Card, it does not inflict damage.
 
My point was quite simply that for you to chain to Heavy Storm's activation, the activation must have already occured and so would occured before the activation of Curse of Darkness has resolved, and so before it's effect would hit the field.
 
Back
Top