Continuous Trap Chained to Raigeki Break

The Advocate

The Prosecutor
If this question is too simple I apologize; however I must ask it since it happened to me;

Can a player chain a continous trap to a Raigeki Break activated after his draw, or any other time? I think the answer is no based on the speed. I thought this was similar to someone trying to chain an equip magic card.

Also, is there a ruling that limits when you can activate Raigeki Break during your opponent's turn?

I do know that a normal trap card such as Waboku can be chained to a raigeki break (or can it?)

Thanks
 
Assuming a) The trap had been set for a turn already and b) We're not in the Damage Step (only since the rules get more complex here) then:

Raigeki Break is a Speed 2 Effect (Normal Trap).
Continuous Traps are Speed 2 Effects.

Therefore you can chain them together.

An Equip Spell is a Speed 1 Effect. That can start a chain but it cannot be chained to another card (like Raigeki Break).

When Chaining:

Speed 1 Effects can start a chain.
Speed 2 Effects can start a chain and be chained to a Speed 1 or Speed 2 Effect.
Speed 3 Effects can start a chain and be chained to a Speed 1, 2, or 3 Effect.

Without reprinting the rulebook, I would suggest read that to see what exactly is each effect. (Either that or someone else will "reprint the rulebook").
 
A lot also depends on the type of Continuous Trap cards. For instance, your opponent activates Raigeki Break and you Chain Royal Decree: Royal Decree Resolves first, then Raigeki Break tries to Resolve, but cannot due to Decree.
However, Some continous Trap effects (ignition-type, mainly) cannot activate unless the Trap card is already face-up on the field.
 
mortals said:
An example of those would be "Royal Oppression", "Skull Lair" and "Ultimate Offering"

If my opponent attacks my monster on the field, barring any S/T activations prior, can I activate Ultimate Offering and use it's effect to summon a monster with a higher ATK?
 
Yes, but not in the same chain. You could activate (flip face-up) "Ultimate Offering", then, after it resolves, you can begin a new chain by activating it's effect.
 
skey23 said:
Yes, but not in the same chain. You could activate (flip face-up) "Ultimate Offering", then, after it resolves, you can begin a new chain by activating it's effect.

I think you meant Ultimate Offering there didn't you my friend?
 
Your incorrigible Simon. :rolleyes

The Advocate said:
If this question is too simple I apologize; however I must ask it since it happened to me;

Can a player chain a continous trap to a Raigeki Break activated after his draw, or any other time? I think the answer is no based on the speed. I thought this was similar to someone trying to chain an equip magic card.
I wouldn't say it's too simple, just a basic question. Spell Speed had everything to do with the scenario in that all traps are Spell Speed 2 when activated. Equip Spell Cards are Spell Speed 1, which is what limits their position on the chain and in what Phase they can be activated in (Main Phases Only).

As pointed out, though, depending on the type of effect the Continuous Card has, it will determine what affect it will have on the chain. (Not all Continuous Cards have a Continuous Effect)

Also, is there a ruling that limits when you can activate Raigeki Break during your opponent's turn?

I do know that a normal trap card such as Waboku can be chained to a raigeki break (or can it?)
Raigeki Break can be activated at any phase of the game provided its been set for a turn and its not the Damage Step.

As for your last question, just refer back to the rule book, as DX suggests, particularly to the section on Spell Speeds, since they define what can and can't chain to what. But yes, Waboku can chain to Raigeki Break and vice versa.
 
Thank you all; I think I am a victim of overanalyzing my own question when the answer was in the basic rulebook as D/X suggested; it seems everytime I pose a question of this nature the answer is always right of the basic rulebook once the scenarios and stripped away. But I think you hit a key point when you said that not continous trap cards have a continous effect. Excellent!

Please forgive an old Special Forces soldier for missing some of these rulings, but we're working on them.
 
Back
Top