D.D. Survivor and Macrocosmos

kansashoops

New Member
Here's the scenario. I'm playing a Macrocosmos deck. I have D.D. Survivor in face up attack, Macrocosmos is face up in my S/T zone, and I have one face down S/T (Sakuretsu Armor). On my opponent's turn, he plays Snatch Steal to take control of my D.D. Survivor and declares an attack. I respond with Sakuretsu Armor. The question is, does D.D. Survivor come back to my side of the field in the end phase, or does it remain out of play?

If this face-up card on your side of the field is removed from play, this card is Special Summoned to the owner's side of the field during the End Phase.

I take this to mean that if my D.D. Survivor is removed from play while on my opponent's side of the field, it won't return, just as a Snatch'ed Vampire Lord wouldn't return if I played Smashing Ground on it while it was on my opponent's side of the field.
 
as far as im aware if d.d. survivor is sent out of play in anyway it would come back on the origianal owners side of the feild so you would get it back as far as i know anyway
 
I would go with your first impression. If your Survivor is on the opponent's side of the field when it is removed, its effect will not trigger nor summon it back to your side of the field.

Its that highlighted part of the text you provided that gives it away.
 
When D.D. Survivor is destroyed, it is sent to the owner's Graveyard (normally); However, as it heads for the owner's graveyard, it never arrives, due to Macro's effect, which sends it to RFP....therefore, as it was headed to the owner's graveyard, it is removed to the owner's RFP, just lie any other card. Therefore, when it returns, it returns to the owner's side. Just to clarify, D.D.Survivor doesn't care whose side of the field it was removed from, whoever controls it is the "your side".
 
In that case, what is the point of "on your side of the field"? Why include that phrase if it is going to come back to the owner's side of the field regardless of which side it was on when it was removed from play? That makes no sense.
 
Not necessarily. "you control"/"your side" usually is significant for a field effect. But each player maintains their own removed from play pile, just as much as each player controls their own Graveyard.

Since a monster can only be sent to the rfp pile of its owner, it stands to reason that it will look to see if it was on the owner's side of the field when it was removed from play initially.
 
I have a question for you duelists: Is there a separate removed from play zone for both players? or are all cards just removed from play.

Now obviously with "Return from a Different Dimension" we are playing with each player having their own "Removed from Play" zone.

So if P2 gains control of P1's "Strike Ninja" say via "Creature Swap" and P2 uses the effect of "Strike Ninja" owned by P1, which "Removed from Play" zone does he go to? Does he go to the owner's removed zone, or the current controller's removed zone? To whose Field, does "Strike Ninja" return during the End Phase?




I'm not going to keep you in suspense, "Strike Ninja" will return to the current controller's Field at End Phase. This is confirmed by ruling posted on the Judge site. The question is, when "Strike Ninja" is removed from play by effect, whose "removed zone" does he go to? Does he go to the current controller's "removed zone" or the owner's "removed zone"?

Again, as far as I know, "Strike Ninja" will go to the owner's "removed zone", similar to all monsters going to their owner's Graveyard. Why do I say this? Read the rulings on "D.D.M. - Different Dimension Master".

Why is this important? What if the owner of "Strike Ninja" used DDM or RftDD to special summon him back to the Field during the same turn SN's effect was used to remove him from play? When RftDD returns the monster(s) to the removed zone at End Phase, will "Strike Ninja" return to the last controller's side of the Field at End Phase or not? This a good judge question, because you'll have to know who the turn player is to decide if "Strike Ninja" will return at End Phase or not. Or was "Strike Ninja's" effect reset when he was special summoned to the Field?

Now take this scenario and apply it to "D.D. Survivor". P1 owns DDS, but P2 controls it and has it removed from play. To whose removed zone does DDS go to? Yes, as far as I know, it goes to the owner's removed zone. The card specifically states it will be special summoned to the owner's side of the Field during End Phase. The current ruling is that it does not matter who controlled DDS when it is removed from the Field; it will be special summoned to the owner's Field. By the wording of the card, it would not surprise me that this ruling is either changed regarding removal by non-owner or the text of the card changed.

doc
 
That's interesting. I just went through every card I could find that "removes" cards from play. Only the last ruling on Different Dimension Master, that doc mentioned, indicates that the rfp zone is distinct.

Everything else only refers to an owner's cards, and could actually be interpreted as a communal zone where everything goes.

I always assumed that cards removed from play were in distinct and separate zones (mechanically), but really it is only necessary to count which cards are yours or your opponents from one big pile, when determining #s for certain effects like Golden Homunculus or DD Dynamite (ect, ect)

It would appear that this assumption is also what the game designers intended from the highlighte "removed zone" of DDM's last ruling.

There aren't any other effects that I could find which would count the total of both players, so even though it could have once been interpreted as a communal pile, it seems like a moot point.

kind of interesting though. I wonder if the parenthesed "removed zone" of that ruling indicates that future effects could count all cards from both sides and there is only 1 gigantic shared rfp zone, with sub areas for each player to stack their own cards.

(again, seems moot at this point, to even speculate)
 
I don't know... it seems that Konami has neglected to even specify the RFP all this time because there wasn't much of reason to address it as much before. But as time progressed the RFP zone has become an essential part of the game as many more cards which have been released use the RFP zone for their effects.

It's time to Konami to step up and address this issues.
 
Im just wondering when they are going to create another level again. I mean, removed from play used to mean just that. Now we need an effect that says:

Put this card back in your deck box, close it and do not touch it again until the next duel.

*gack*
 
Back
Top