Destiny Hero - Diamond Dude + Bait Doll

snezzlebear

New Member
What happens when Bait Doll is sent to the Graveyard via Destiny Hero - Diamond Dude's effect?

Also does Bait Doll target?

I've read the rulings for both cards but I'm still a litlle confused on the how, what and why part.

kthnxbai
 
My assumption would be that the first effect of Bait Doll will trigger, ie. it will force the activation of a trap and destroy it if the timing is incorrect. However, it will not be shuffled back into the deck as it is already in the graveyard.

I'll assume Bait Doll also targets as it is instructing the player specifically to select 1 card.
 
This is where I get confused:

Destiny Hero - Diamond Dude's ruling's state:

"¢ If the Normal Spell Card is no longer in your Graveyard during your next turn, you cannot activate its effect.

"¢ If the effect of the Normal Spell Card targets, you cannot activate the effect unless there is an eligible target on the field.


The card text states:

Destiny Hero - Diamond Dude
Effect Monster (Warrior / DARK / 4 Stars / ATK 1400 / DEF 1600)

Once per turn, you can look at the top card of your Deck. If it is a Normal Spell Card, send it to the Graveyard and you can activate its effect during the Main Phase of your next turn. If the card is not a Normal Spell Card, place it on the bottom of your Deck.


on the other hand for Bait Doll the rulings state:


"¢ If the target of "Bait Doll" is no longer on the field (if it was sent to the Graveyard with "Emergency Provisions", or destroyed by "Mystical Space Typhoon", as a chain to the activation of "Bait Doll"), then "Bait Doll" is still shuffled back into the Deck. As long as the activation and effect of "Bait Doll" are not negated, the effect of "Bait Doll" that shuffles it back into the Deck still resolves.

and the card text says:

Bait Doll
Normal Spell

Force the activation of 1 face-down Trap Card. If the timing of the activation of the Trap Card is incorrect, negate the effect and destroy it. If it is not a Trap Card, it is returned to its original position. After this card is activated, it is placed into the Deck (not the Graveyard). Then shuffle the Deck.
That's why I'm like :?
 
Bait Doll targets.

If you chain MST to destroy Bait Doll it wouldnt return to the deck. So I think in this case it also wouldnt return to the deck.
 
The rulings with Destiny Hero - Diamond Dude only are saying that Bait Doll cannot use the effect if it cannot target anything on the field. In other words, Bait Doll cannot use the effect if there is nothing to target on the field.

My reasoning for Bait Doll remaining in graveyard is that the text of Bait Doll itself implies it must remain on the field for the secondary effect to trigger.

"After this card is activated, it is placed into the Deck (not the Graveyard). "

I'm sure someone else can probably give a better explanation than I can.
 
There are a few things here to remember...

1. Activating the effect of the Spell Card via "Diamond Dude's" effect is OPTIONAL. You are not required to use it's effect.

2. "Bait Doll" will not return to the Deck if it's in the Graveyard, Hand, or RFP area when it's effect resolves.

3. "Bait Doll" targets.
 
skey23 said:
There are a few things here to remember...

1. Activating the effect of the Spell Card via "Diamond Dude's" effect is OPTIONAL. You are not required to use it's effect.

2. "Bait Doll" will not return to the Deck if it's in the Graveyard, Hand, or RFP area when it's effect resolves.

3. "Bait Doll" targets.

yeah i know its optional and i was pretty sure it targeted just not 100% it was the 2nd point you mention i was geting confused with but thnx
 
skey23 said:
2. "Bait Doll" will not return to the Deck if it's in the Graveyard, Hand, or RFP area when it's effect resolves.
I disagree. If Bait Doll is removed by, say, MST, it won't return to the deck. Wouldn't this be the same?

Or what about the text?

Bait Doll
Normal Spell
Force the activation of 1 face-down Trap Card. If the timing of the activation of the Trap Card is incorrect, negate the effect and destroy it. If it is not a Trap Card, it is returned to its original position. After this card is activated, it is placed into the Deck (not the Graveyard). Then shuffle the Deck.

Looks like it needs to be "sent to" the Graveyard, or at the absolute least not be in the Graveyard.

And, taking it to the nth degree, it says, "After this card is activated...". You're not activating the card, just the effect!
 
snezzlebear said:
ueah but the ruling to diamoand dud says that if the card is not sin the grave its effect wont activate.
What does this have to do with anything?? What is your point?

Bait Doll isnt going back to the Deck if it is in the Graveyard when Diamond Dude's effect triggers.

Just like Entropy said, you aren't activating the card, only the effect. It would be just like sending Swords of Revealing Light to the Graveyard. The only thing you would get when the effect triggers is flipping face-down monsters face-up. Because you dont have the activated card on the field, your opponent is not prevented from attacking you for 3 turns.
 
I dont understand why Entropy says "I disagree." at the start of his post. Wouldnt that mean that he thinks Bait Doll returns to the deck even if it's in the grave? I also dont understand the "send to" part of his post. Can someone enlighten me?
 
Back
Top