Emergency Provisions question

1nv4d3r

New Member
Emergency Provisions
Send Spell or Trap Cards on your side of the field to the Graveyard to increase your Life Points by 1000 points per card. This card is excluded.

Let me explain the scenario
My opponent summons Tribe-infecting virus to the field. I have 3 cards faced down(emergency provisions, scapegoat, and ring of destruction).
My opponent uses Heavy Storm. I chain Emergency provision, then I chain scapegoats, and then I chain ring of destruction. The result would be me losing 1600 lifepoints because of RoD, and then gaining 2000 because of EP.

Plz let me know if this is correct. I want to know if I can use Emergency Provisions that way.:)
 
thats incorrect. you would not gain anything because the cards would resolve in the reverse order.

ROD would resolve first (if your opponents doesn't chain anything) taking out TIV and both of you would lose 1600 and ROD would leave the field.

Then Scapegoat would resolve giving you 4 tokens and leave the field.

Then Emergency Provisions would resolve and have nothing to send to the graveyard so it would resolve without effect.

Then finally, Heavy Storm will resolve and not destroy any of your cards because they had already left the field.

hope this helps.
 
No, since the way you put it. The effect of sending spell/trap cards on your side of the field to the Graveyard on Emergency Provisions is the cost, so according to your chain, Emergency Provision was activated first, but, it can work this way.

Player A has a face-up Tribe-Infecting Virus then...

Player A: activates Heavy Storm
Player B: chains Ring of Destruction
Player A does not respond
Player B: chains Scapegoat
Player A does not respond
Player B: chains Emergency Provision
Player A does not respond
decide if anything else is wanted to be played, then you resolve steps backwards....
Step 4: Emergency Provision resolves sending 2 spell/trap to the Graveyard, and gains total of 2000 LP
Step 3: Scapegoat resolves, special summon 4 sheep token in defense mode
Step 2: RoD resolves and destroys T-Iv dealing 1600 damage to both players
Step 1: Heavy Storm resolves, and destroys nothing

It can work that way.

But I don't understand y your opponent would summon T-Iv 1st, then play Heavy Storm? I'd play Heavy Storm first...
 
well thanks for the replies

just got one doubt, i heard that during a chain, the cards remain until the chain is finished...so if this is true, rod resolves, scapegoats resolves, and finally emergency provision resolves, sending all cards to the grave and gaining 2000 lp (according to what i posted)

i just wanna clear this up
 
mayo211 said:
...ROD would leave the field.

Then Scapegoat would resolve giving you 4 tokens and leave the field.
During resolution of a spell/trap chain the cards remain on the field until the entire chain has resolved unless the resolution of another part of the chain destroys them, e.g. if Mystical Space Typhoon resolves.
However the reason that Emergency Provisions must be chained last is as StRiKe_NiNjA correctly puts it that the sending of spell/trap cards is a cost, but costs must be paid at activation:

From UDE's ADVANCED GAMEPLAY FAQ :
"Costs for cards come in three varieties.

The first kind is activation costs. These are paid when you activate (play) a card. Activation costs cannot be negated by cards that negate the effect of a card."


so the cards selected will leave the field as soon as you activate this card and select them, they don't hang around for Emergency Provisions' resolution and you can't activate cards which have already left the field so if you want their effect they must precede Emergency Provisions on the chain.
 
Back
Top